Page 1 of 2
drifting in solodex
Posted: May 26th, 2009, 12:46 pm
by ShIvAm
y allyuh doh go an drift in the solodex events?
Posted: May 27th, 2009, 1:05 pm
by Skyline_babe
What Is Solodex?
Solodex is a timed automotive event held on a paved, flat surface through a course defined by traffic pylons. The event emphasizes car handling skills and stringent safety measures are upheld to safeguard car, driver and spectator alike. Drivers vie for class and overall prizes by negotiating the course one car at a time in a class of similar cars. The goals are to improve car handling skills and to develop a heightened respect for automotive safety and responsibility in T&T, while having loads of fun.
A Solodex event consists of a single course run a number of times. Drivers see the course just prior to the event's start when they will be allowed to walk the course to become familiar with the course layout and defining convention. Drivers also use this time to develop what they consider the optimal driving lines for the fastest passage through the course.
Courses are made up of turns, gates and slaloms demonstrated by standard traffic pylons, which are heavy enough to prevent movements other than those caused by contact with a vehicle. Their locations are marked with a chalk box around the entire base of the pylon to assure accurate replacement and assessment of penalties. A penalty is given if a course cone is knocked over and if the cone remains standing but is outside of the box. No penalty is given if the cone remains standing and is partially in its chalk box or touching the box.
The course normally ends with the driver coming to a complete stop in a Finishing Box at least 50 feet after the Finish Line. Each run is timed separately and drivers have a minimum of three runs of the course. For each cone penalty, 2 seconds is added to the run time, which is done to al least one hundredths of a second.
http://www.trinituner.com/cars/solodex.html
although there were some minor drifting incidents in dex 3...i would really like if the track was always like that (it looked interesting)..or similar to it...i think it added a little jist to the event

Posted: June 2nd, 2009, 12:03 pm
by ShIvAm
if i had a drift car i woulda go an drift in the solodex if it dont have a venue for drifting......

Posted: June 2nd, 2009, 2:00 pm
by AbuBakr
ShIvAm wrote:if i had a drift car i woulda go an drift in the solodex if it dont have a venue for drifting......

and that is why you do not have a drift car or do drifting and solodex.
Shivam just to enlighten you for a 2nd time
1.Solodex is a timed automotive event.
2.Very tight corners,much needed traction and braking.
3.CARS does not allow drifting in solodex.
skyline babe copy and paste the whole literature for you

Posted: June 2nd, 2009, 3:46 pm
by honda hoe
^

Posted: June 2nd, 2009, 7:22 pm
by ShIvAm

lol well i doh have a drift car yet, after all am only 18..... wen i get a job u'll see the back a my box lancer

and fyi i entered solodex already eh

Posted: June 3rd, 2009, 9:35 am
by AbuBakr
ShIvAm wrote::lol: lol well i doh have a drift car yet, after all am only 18..... wen i get a job u'll see the back a my box lancer

and fyi i entered solodex already eh

jolly good, so now all you have to do from now on is
1.stick to the solodex forum
2.and drift in solodex the next time you enter
3.use common sense more often, start thinking like an adult now
Posted: June 3rd, 2009, 6:22 pm
by ShIvAm
lol so wah u runnin me? welll u cant... neway i was jus askin a simple question, but like allyuh a bit touchy bout da venue situation...... all i was saying was da u cud drift lil bit in solodex even tho dats not wat solodex iz bout
Posted: June 3rd, 2009, 8:00 pm
by Rooki3
Posted: June 3rd, 2009, 9:38 pm
by ShIvAm
wa? no! whoz da? y u ask........
Posted: June 4th, 2009, 12:46 am
by Maserati
AbuBakr wrote:ShIvAm wrote:if i had a drift car i woulda go an drift in the solodex if it dont have a venue for drifting......

hahha
win
doh tell me a box lancer with an sr20det eh
Posted: June 4th, 2009, 6:02 am
by wagonrunner
Maserati wrote:doh tell me a box lancer with an sr20det eh
but what d ass!!!
them thing come so from factory eh.
is only weirdos like
zodiaque and accomplices does want to cross-breed d damn thing with some mitsubishi engine that they hear supposed to work.
Posted: June 4th, 2009, 11:32 am
by AbuBakr
ShIvAm wrote:lol so wah u runnin me? welll u cant... neway i was jus askin a simple question, but like allyuh a bit touchy bout da venue situation...... all i was saying was da u cud drift lil bit in solodex even tho dats not wat SOLODEX IZ BOUT
in other words you were saying: "drifting in solodex" OR "solodex in drifting" and Vice Versa..... Wrong.
i didn't mean to come of as an arrogant person towards you but you just weren't understanding.
Posted: June 5th, 2009, 4:41 pm
by DownesDigital
Posted: November 9th, 2009, 11:09 pm
by ShIvAm
Posted: November 17th, 2009, 7:34 pm
by ShIvAm
huh so how allyuh quiet soo???

Posted: November 19th, 2009, 11:23 am
by Skyline_babe
ddnt go in a while....i like the course layout recently though.
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 12:48 pm
by sr20det
nice,looks like the drift club made an appearance.
skyline babe what model skyline do you own?
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 7:15 pm
by MG Man
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 7:25 pm
by MadCrix
oh snap
Re: drifting in solodex
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 7:26 pm
by MG Man
ShIvAm wrote:y allyuh doh go an drift in the solodex events?
when CARS runs an event, there are marshalls on course to replace knocked over cones and to spot DNFs
drifting would put marshalls at risk, and give them more work replacing cones (marshalls are volunteers)
every time cones are dragged, there is the chance of them not being put back in the right spot either. This has implications for drivers' times
A drift course would have to be set up differently to cater for runoff area etc. Drifting at a dex event would make things difficult and potentially risky
AFAIK CARS allows drifters to indulge at BYCC events, if there is an early request, but again it depends on the format of the event. The upcoming BYCC would definitely NOT be a drift event, with two cars on course at the same time, in a staggered case......
so long and short, drifting at dex is not practical or safe in most instances, and I doubt a rogue drifter would be allowed to keep running
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 7:31 pm
by MadCrix
a rouge difter would be immediately asked to cease and desist. if driver ignores, driver woudl be escorted to gate and kicked out.
CARS have strict safety rules and does not stand dohtisness which endangers, cars memebers, competitors, marshalls or spectators
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 8:40 pm
by ShIvAm
^^^^ohhh

, i jus
observed ppl on this forum state sumtin about not having a venue to drift and suggested my idea, cause i witness a lil jiffin in dex. "i was jus tryin to help"
I never say go an enter every competition... jus one or two lil fun run, rather than sliding round in pricemart and in d mall an ting (but i guess is more fun to do it illegaly

)ent? lol
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 9:20 pm
by MG Man
even fun runs can be a liability
there are only a handful of properly skilled drifters. The guys who trying something and the gladmen are a liability. Especially with limited marshalls and proximity to spectators
has DWO ever asked the ARC's lease holder for permission to hold an event?
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 9:40 pm
by Tsuchiya
ShIvAm wrote:^^^^ohhh

i was jus hearin dem complain of not having a venue to drift and suggested sumtin, cause i witness a lil jiffin in dex. "i was jus tryin to help"
I never say go an enter every competition... jus one or two lil fun run, rather than sliding round in pricemart and in d mall an ting (but i guess is more fun to do it illegaly

)ent? lol
who's "dem"??
Moreover you're wise beyond your years by suggesting something no drifter probably never thought about. Obviously you're missing alot of details.
and if u want to do drift illegally...that's your business.
Posted: November 19th, 2009, 11:21 pm
by ShIvAm
^^^lol see wa sayin, a bit touchy bout the venue situation

<<<da was jus a joke.....
i guess complain wasnt the correct word 2 use der lemme edit
but any how yuh take it drifting in dex, or dex in drifting, has been done before regardless of all the implications which i wasnt aware of. This is why i simply SUGGESTED sumting
Posted: November 20th, 2009, 9:47 am
by sr20det
Posted: November 20th, 2009, 10:41 am
by fire_wire
Much Thanks to Shivam
"On The Way to Having a Home for Drift Motor sport in T&T"

Posted: November 23rd, 2009, 11:36 am
by ShIvAm
^^^awww it nice to be appreciated

lolz
hummm
sr20det, i hadda be more careful of the ppl ah addin on facebook geezze

Posted: November 23rd, 2009, 8:25 pm
by MG Man
sr20det wrote:nice,looks like the drift club made an appearance.
skyline babe what model skyline do you own?