need help raising a frontier!!

Posted: May 5th, 2006, 7:34 am
by ravist
its an ax2.5 and i want to raise the back about one or one and a half inch....secondly, will their any consequences like instability??

Posted: May 7th, 2006, 7:57 am
by Strugglerzinc
isnt a frontier kinda high already? why would you need to raise it?

Posted: May 7th, 2006, 9:49 am
by Pointman-IA
affect the law of gravity and you would affect the law of vehicle performance and stability

Posted: May 7th, 2006, 11:31 am
by equipped2ripp
why on earth would you want to raise a frontier?
at fast speeds on the highway would make the vehicle unstable and may cause the vehicle to flip.

BOTTOM LINE, DON'T DO IT

Posted: May 7th, 2006, 7:48 pm
by aidan
frontiers kina unstable arredy @ high speeds,i cud tell u from experience,if u gonna do that put sum massive tires on it.

Posted: May 7th, 2006, 9:12 pm
by equipped2ripp
unstable with stock tires that is

Posted: May 9th, 2006, 1:26 pm
by ravist
thanks fellas.....looking at the vehicle horizontally, the front is higher than the rear so automatically i thought about raising it and it is unstable as is at high speeds.....what about lowering the front, how difficult is that??? i already have some huge tyres on which adds to stability.....

Posted: May 9th, 2006, 7:29 pm
by equipped2ripp
the front can be lowered because the front has a torsion bar. mileage mack would be able to lower it for you.

657-1704

Posted: May 9th, 2006, 7:44 pm
by bleedingfreak
How come the front higher than the rear?

That sounds really weird...

Posted: May 9th, 2006, 8:01 pm
by equipped2ripp
yuh know!

maybe someone interfered with the levelling on the torsion bar in front maybe

Posted: May 11th, 2006, 9:56 am
by ravist
maybe this pic can clarify what i'm talking about....thanks again fellas!!!

http://img131.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... 0111an.jpg

Posted: May 11th, 2006, 2:45 pm
by ravist
i'm looking at the space between the top of the tyre and the curve of the fender.....

http://img311.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... 0157nx.jpg

Posted: May 11th, 2006, 6:49 pm
by bleedingfreak
Looking normal to me too...

But I am also :crazyeyes:

Posted: May 11th, 2006, 8:35 pm
by equipped2ripp
aye ravist, check mileage mack nah

Posted: May 12th, 2006, 12:32 am
by aidan
it lookin normal in d pic.take equipped2ripp,advice n check milage mack!!

Posted: May 12th, 2006, 8:32 am
by ravist
thats the problem, it looks levelled but it is not....when measured, from the ground to the fender, the front has 34" and the rear has 32.5" so clearly the front is higher but again it doesn't look that way....i'll definitely take it to mileage mack this weekend and have it levelled off....help appreciated!!! 8-)

Posted: May 12th, 2006, 8:43 am
by bleedingfreak
Yuh ever put ah level on the tray to check the angle? That might help too

Posted: May 15th, 2006, 12:59 am
by bladett
That looks about good. Remember a pickup is designed to take heavy loads in the tray. So the tray is set a bit higher for carrying stuff. All pickups are like that i belive.

Posted: May 15th, 2006, 1:16 am
by equipped2ripp
^^ not too sure about that.

but what i do know is that the AX 2.5Di minimum ground clearance is 240mm

Posted: May 15th, 2006, 8:34 am
by ravist
took it this weekend and levelled it......i have to admint the ride feels stiffer but more stable.... ^ the clearance for this model is in fact between 240 to 250mm..... gracias mucho fellas....i was wondering, what mileage do you all get for a tank of diesel???

Posted: May 15th, 2006, 9:15 pm
by equipped2ripp
driving hard and running out all the gears - around 480kms
driving normal and shifting @ 3500 or so - around 550kms

this is on a 3.0 frontier.

Posted: May 15th, 2006, 10:29 pm
by belalegosi
weeeeee none wrong wit the car jed
u jus over reacting...
its how the car shaped thats why
look at b14s
the front does look higher than the back..
but its not.
its how the fender shaped

Posted: May 16th, 2006, 9:52 am
by ravist
wow...that is kinda low.....for a tank of diesel i usually get when driving hard around 700kms and normal driving aroud 780-800kms a/c always....i know that nothing was wrong with the vehicle, but when compared to other frontiers the front was higher or maybe it looked higher.....

Re: need help raising a frontier!!

Posted: November 8th, 2012, 12:22 am
by ZD30DDTi
There was a topic a few months ago about the steps in raising one of these trucks. I'm searching for it but it doesn't seem to be on anymore.

Posted: November 8th, 2012, 8:17 am
by neckto
hey, wanna share how much you paid for that at mileage mack?

Posted: November 9th, 2012, 12:21 am
by sliderz1
ZD30DDTi wrote:There was a topic a few months ago about the steps in raising one of these trucks. I'm searching for it but it doesn't seem to be on anymore.

really old thread you bumping here buddy.

there are quite a few ways to lift the Frontier
Front - tighten the torsion bolts
re index the torsion bar
full kit - new cradles + shocks+ torsion bars

Rear - Lift Blocks
Extended Shackles
full kit - New Leafs [increased curvature] + shocks

do a search...

here's one viewtopic.php?f=41&t=401009&hilit=lift+frontier

Posted: November 10th, 2012, 1:42 am
by ZD30DDTi
sliderz1 wrote:
ZD30DDTi wrote:There was a topic a few months ago about the steps in raising one of these trucks. I'm searching for it but it doesn't seem to be on anymore.

really old thread you bumping here buddy.

there are quite a few ways to lift the Frontier
Front - tighten the torsion bolts
re index the torsion bar
full kit - new cradles + shocks+ torsion bars

Rear - Lift Blocks
Extended Shackles
full kit - New Leafs [increased curvature] + shocks

do a search...

here's one viewtopic.php?f=41&t=401009&hilit=lift+frontier

Thats the one I was searching for.