need help raising a frontier!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ravist

need help raising a frontier!!

Postby ravist » May 5th, 2006, 7:34 am

its an ax2.5 and i want to raise the back about one or one and a half inch....secondly, will their any consequences like instability??

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 7th, 2006, 7:57 am

isnt a frontier kinda high already? why would you need to raise it?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 7th, 2006, 9:49 am

affect the law of gravity and you would affect the law of vehicle performance and stability

Postby equipped2ripp » May 7th, 2006, 11:31 am

why on earth would you want to raise a frontier?
at fast speeds on the highway would make the vehicle unstable and may cause the vehicle to flip.

BOTTOM LINE, DON'T DO IT

aidan

Postby aidan » May 7th, 2006, 7:48 pm

frontiers kina unstable arredy @ high speeds,i cud tell u from experience,if u gonna do that put sum massive tires on it.

Postby equipped2ripp » May 7th, 2006, 9:12 pm

unstable with stock tires that is

ravist

Postby ravist » May 9th, 2006, 1:26 pm

thanks fellas.....looking at the vehicle horizontally, the front is higher than the rear so automatically i thought about raising it and it is unstable as is at high speeds.....what about lowering the front, how difficult is that??? i already have some huge tyres on which adds to stability.....
Last edited by ravist on May 12th, 2006, 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby equipped2ripp » May 9th, 2006, 7:29 pm

the front can be lowered because the front has a torsion bar. mileage mack would be able to lower it for you.

657-1704

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 9th, 2006, 7:44 pm

How come the front higher than the rear?

That sounds really weird...

Postby equipped2ripp » May 9th, 2006, 8:01 pm

yuh know!

maybe someone interfered with the levelling on the torsion bar in front maybe

ravist

Postby ravist » May 11th, 2006, 9:56 am

maybe this pic can clarify what i'm talking about....thanks again fellas!!!

http://img131.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... 0111an.jpg

ravist

Postby ravist » May 11th, 2006, 2:45 pm

i'm looking at the space between the top of the tyre and the curve of the fender.....

http://img311.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... 0157nx.jpg

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 11th, 2006, 6:49 pm

Looking normal to me too...

But I am also :crazyeyes:

Postby equipped2ripp » May 11th, 2006, 8:35 pm

aye ravist, check mileage mack nah

aidan

Postby aidan » May 12th, 2006, 12:32 am

it lookin normal in d pic.take equipped2ripp,advice n check milage mack!!

ravist

Postby ravist » May 12th, 2006, 8:32 am

thats the problem, it looks levelled but it is not....when measured, from the ground to the fender, the front has 34" and the rear has 32.5" so clearly the front is higher but again it doesn't look that way....i'll definitely take it to mileage mack this weekend and have it levelled off....help appreciated!!! 8-)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 12th, 2006, 8:43 am

Yuh ever put ah level on the tray to check the angle? That might help too

bladett

Postby bladett » May 15th, 2006, 12:59 am

That looks about good. Remember a pickup is designed to take heavy loads in the tray. So the tray is set a bit higher for carrying stuff. All pickups are like that i belive.

Postby equipped2ripp » May 15th, 2006, 1:16 am

^^ not too sure about that.

but what i do know is that the AX 2.5Di minimum ground clearance is 240mm

ravist

Postby ravist » May 15th, 2006, 8:34 am

took it this weekend and levelled it......i have to admint the ride feels stiffer but more stable.... ^ the clearance for this model is in fact between 240 to 250mm..... gracias mucho fellas....i was wondering, what mileage do you all get for a tank of diesel???

Postby equipped2ripp » May 15th, 2006, 9:15 pm

driving hard and running out all the gears - around 480kms
driving normal and shifting @ 3500 or so - around 550kms

this is on a 3.0 frontier.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 15th, 2006, 10:29 pm

weeeeee none wrong wit the car jed
u jus over reacting...
its how the car shaped thats why
look at b14s
the front does look higher than the back..
but its not.
its how the fender shaped

ravist

Postby ravist » May 16th, 2006, 9:52 am

wow...that is kinda low.....for a tank of diesel i usually get when driving hard around 700kms and normal driving aroud 780-800kms a/c always....i know that nothing was wrong with the vehicle, but when compared to other frontiers the front was higher or maybe it looked higher.....

ZD30DDTi

Re: need help raising a frontier!!

Postby ZD30DDTi » November 8th, 2012, 12:22 am

There was a topic a few months ago about the steps in raising one of these trucks. I'm searching for it but it doesn't seem to be on anymore.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 8th, 2012, 8:17 am

hey, wanna share how much you paid for that at mileage mack?

Postby sliderz1 » November 9th, 2012, 12:21 am

ZD30DDTi wrote:There was a topic a few months ago about the steps in raising one of these trucks. I'm searching for it but it doesn't seem to be on anymore.

really old thread you bumping here buddy.

there are quite a few ways to lift the Frontier
Front - tighten the torsion bolts
re index the torsion bar
full kit - new cradles + shocks+ torsion bars

Rear - Lift Blocks
Extended Shackles
full kit - New Leafs [increased curvature] + shocks

do a search...

here's one viewtopic.php?f=41&t=401009&hilit=lift+frontier

ZD30DDTi

Postby ZD30DDTi » November 10th, 2012, 1:42 am

sliderz1 wrote:
ZD30DDTi wrote:There was a topic a few months ago about the steps in raising one of these trucks. I'm searching for it but it doesn't seem to be on anymore.

really old thread you bumping here buddy.

there are quite a few ways to lift the Frontier
Front - tighten the torsion bolts
re index the torsion bar
full kit - new cradles + shocks+ torsion bars

Rear - Lift Blocks
Extended Shackles
full kit - New Leafs [increased curvature] + shocks

do a search...

here's one viewtopic.php?f=41&t=401009&hilit=lift+frontier

Thats the one I was searching for.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”