Hilux 2.5, 2008 model Power steering leak.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
OracleTnT

Hilux 2.5, 2008 model Power steering leak.

Postby OracleTnT » December 11th, 2022, 2:32 pm

I noticed when I turned the steering I heard a humming sound.
I checked the power steering oil reservoir and it was empty.
Checked underneath the van and the inner end boot rubber was wet (the driver side).
There was droplets of oil on the ground where the vehicle is normally parked.
Will check the mechanic later in the week.
Any idea where this leak might be?
Thanks.

Re: Hilux 2.5, 2008 model Power steering leak.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 11th, 2022, 2:52 pm

Sounds like the top seal, where the input shaft goes in.

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » December 11th, 2022, 5:26 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Sounds like the top seal, where the input shaft goes in.

Is that an easy fix.
Parts, etc.
since 2008 I have this Hilux and never had any problems.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 12th, 2022, 7:10 am

OracleTnT wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Sounds like the top seal, where the input shaft goes in.

Is that an easy fix.
Parts, etc.
since 2008 I have this Hilux and never had any problems.
Not usually

So hear me: i was assuming the leak point based on where u say the oil is pooling.

But here what to do

1) wash that spot out, use some degreaser and clean it out properly
2) top up your fluid
3) make some time to lie down under the van with a light and check for where the fluid is coming from
4) any repairs to a steering rack will involve removing it entirely, and re-aligning the vehicle after

Postby *KRONIK* » December 12th, 2022, 7:16 am

Also, its its coming from the side seals
(ie. The shafts that push it left to right), it may mean there is either a leak on the seals ot damage to the shaft.
You wont know until you take it off to inspect
But toyota sells the seal kit for this repair.
If the shaft is damaged, its plenty more work as they may need rechroming.

Alternatively, if its coming from the top seal, then that seal is not sold as part of the kit and may need to sourced from a universal kit or made locally.

Lastly, it can be one of the brass gaskets where the fluid line attaches.
So take a look at that also, gasket is sold in the power steering rebuild kit.

If yuh get frustrated
Fastrax and Hazarie distributors have new aftermarket racks for around 4500

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2022, 6:15 pm

who does do rechroming locally ?
how do they get it back to orig thickness ?

*KRONIK* wrote:Also, its its coming from the side seals
(ie. The shafts that push it left to right), it may mean there is either a leak on the seals ot damage to the shaft.

Alternatively, if its coming from the top seal, then that seal is not sold as part of the kit and may need to sourced from a universal kit or made locally.

If yuh get frustrated

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2022, 6:52 pm

pugboy wrote:who does do rechroming locally ?
how do they get it back to orig thickness ?

*KRONIK* wrote:Also, its its coming from the side seals

If yuh get frustrated
Most hydraulic repair shops do it or have someone to do it.
But IMO, if you reach the stage where its pitted and chrome needs replacing
Better off changing the part.

Not sure how they determine final OD of the part

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”