TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

B-2500 Burning oil

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
redguy
Riding on 13's

B-2500 Burning oil

Postby redguy » November 13th, 2019, 2:00 am

Recently bought a 2004 Mazda B-2500, 4x2, 2.5 turbo (WL). I'm new to this whole van/diesel scene i more or less bought the van to try and save on fuel, i drive from Chaguaramus to Princes Town everyday or almost everyday, avg. 75km one way. I know a thing or two about cars but i'm by no means a mechanic.

The issue i'm having with the van is that its burning oil something like a 1-1.5 quarts every week or so, to put things to perspective every 800 or so km the dipstick would come up dry (i won't get any oil light though). I know by design diesel engines burn oil especially older engines, but i don't think this much. I don't think this is normal or is it? IDK.

Things to note:
- I use NP SAE-50 diesel oil (the previous owner said that's what he use, so i continued)
- I installed a catch can recently (it collects some oil nothing major)
- recently cleaned the intercooler and piping, (intercooler had some oil pooled in it)
- intake is gummed up (not excessively)
- don't think there is a thermostat (tried to check but its a pain to get to)
- turbo has no shaft play but it has oil in it, the oil comes from the air box side where the PCV connects
- there is no external leaking of oil (turbo or otherwise)
- van doesn't smoke other than normal acceleration (blackish)
- if i take off the oil cap after a drive i'd notice some smoke/steam