Page 3 of 4

Re: Why Toyota Trinidad selling new hilux with old model engines?

Posted: August 7th, 2017, 7:21 pm
by RocketmanTT01
IDK123 wrote:Hi guys
Just a quick update while it's a bit embarrassing It happened.
I began to hear a snapping noise whenever I would accelerate while in low speed traffic and immediately release the pedal. Offcourse paranoia kicked in, so a called the firm to schedule a visit. They were very accommodating and got the Saturday bocked on short notice hats off to the M. Rampersad support staff.

Anyways after crying the sky was falling the senior mechanic took a test drive with me and in 10 minutes came back and told me the jack was lose and would rock back and forth. As he said that it made sense as I took out the jack to use the screw driver in the office and replaced it in a hurry as rain was falling.

Total worthless on my end. As that should have been the first thing to check from past experience, but assumed the worst.

Hey I'm considering this new 2.8L unit. How is yours performing thus far?

Posted: August 8th, 2017, 10:54 pm
by IDK123
RocketmanTT01 wrote:
I began to hear a snapping noise whenever I would accelerate while in low speed traffic and immediately release the pedal. Offcourse paranoia kicked in, so a called the firm to schedule a visit. They were very accommodating and got the Saturday bocked on short notice hats off to the M. Rampersad support staff.

Anyways after crying the sky was falling the senior mechanic took a test drive with me and in 10 minutes came back and told me the jack was lose and would rock back and forth. As he said that it made sense as I took out the jack to use the screw driver in the office and replaced it in a hurry as rain was falling.

Total worthless on my end. As that should have been the first thing to check from past experience, but assumed the worst.

So far I am enjoying it. First comment I get from anyone sitting in it for the first time is "I cud feel the power". Power mode really makes a difference.

Light off road driving nothing to really put it to the test just yet.

Posted: October 2nd, 2017, 11:25 pm
by rharripersad
IDK123 wrote:
RocketmanTT01 wrote:

So far I am enjoying it. First comment I get from anyone sitting in it for the first time is "I cud feel the power". Power mode really makes a difference.

Light off road driving nothing to really put it to the test just yet.

By end of the year or early next year for me!.... real people fighting me down to get it from toyota tho :/

Posted: November 21st, 2017, 12:01 pm
by brendon500
Totoya selling the GD now with projector lights

Posted: November 21st, 2017, 2:58 pm
by ADONI
^^Oh gawd! The price must be gone up now by a 30K....

Posted: December 2nd, 2017, 10:51 am
by IDK123
brendon500 wrote:Totoya selling the GD now with projector lights

I wah see what it is loaded with. like if it has the hill assist and down hill assist. feel I going to maco.

Posted: December 10th, 2017, 8:04 am
by IDK123
Guys I checked it out they had one of the basic one in trincity mall a red with black decals painted on nice design.
The price remains the same as before with the fully loaded being 345k and I was told they have all the features traction control, hill assist and down hill assist alone with the 2.8 GD

Posted: April 29th, 2018, 11:06 am
by supernedd
all that talk bout the diesel.. true . but watch d big price increase with d new body n old engine.. trinidad business too stink yes.. southern sales did the same thing with old mazda bt50 ..the first batch had the wl engine from the mazda b2500 model

Posted: July 8th, 2018, 6:45 am
by baby hulk
All off a sudden the 2.8 can handle the sheit diesel lmao

Posted: July 8th, 2018, 6:58 am
by baby hulk
Doing a 80000km on my 2.8 revo no problems

Posted: July 8th, 2018, 7:25 am
by PariaMan
Not surprised I know it was just talk to sell their old model engines

Posted: September 26th, 2018, 4:04 pm
by supernedd
hmm robbery without a gun

Posted: September 26th, 2018, 5:25 pm
by kamakazi
It would appear so

Posted: October 22nd, 2018, 10:23 am
by EFFECTIC DESIGNS
If you think about it, Toyota has a reputation for making durable vehicles that stand up to 3rd world conditions better than other brands, so basically one should have assumed from day one that it was a lie to sell their old engines.

My brother uses 50/50 diesel and pitch oil in his 2007 Hilux and he has never had to fix anything even after 11 years just oil and tires. Toyotas are very durable

Posted: October 22nd, 2018, 10:27 am
by PariaMan
The plus side of foreign diesel is low sulphur diesel

I wonder if the oil will turn black as quickly?

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 10:29 am
by baby hulk
PariaMan wrote:The plus side of foreign diesel is low sulphur diesel

Should

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 10:30 am
by baby hulk
baby hulk wrote:

Should
Should not, but by when we should get the ULSD at the pumps?

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 10:47 am
by PariaMan
baby hulk wrote:

Should
Should not, but by when we should get the ULSD at the pumps?
You said both should and should not lol

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 11:29 am
by baby hulk
Corrected should not turn black as quickly

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 11:29 am
by baby hulk
But my revo doing over a 100000km and no issues with the 2.8 thus far

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 1:03 pm
by PariaMan
baby hulk wrote:But my revo doing over a 100000km and no issues with the 2.8 thus far
I doing 300000 and no issues Lol.

Was thinking in terms of extended oil change intervals with cleaner diesel

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 1:12 pm
by baby hulk
Well i think you should be safer with extended oil change using ULSD, i does change oil at 10000km and even with this diesel it works good

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 1:13 pm
by baby hulk
Sulphur wash does fowl engine oil

Posted: October 25th, 2018, 1:40 pm
by PariaMan
baby hulk wrote:Sulphur wash does fowl engine oil
Which from Team Loco was fouling the turbo in the 3.0

Posted: November 13th, 2018, 11:07 pm
by supernedd
I seeing plenty new hilux for sale .. low mileage.. i wonder why

Posted: November 14th, 2018, 12:14 am
by kamakazi
Please remember ulsd normally has lower lubrication

Posted: November 14th, 2018, 8:06 am
by PariaMan
kamakazi wrote:Please remember ulsd normally has lower lubrication
Red line go cure that

Posted: November 15th, 2018, 11:15 am
by IDK123
supernedd wrote:I seeing plenty new hilux for sale .. low mileage.. i wonder why

I could speak for myself. My family recently expanded and needed to get a house.

Either I continue paying a loan that kept me from getting mortgage or sell the van at my displeasure and get my ducks in a row.

Revo will always be the most reliable and fun go anywhere i want vehicle I have ever owned. Hope I can get another sometime in the future

Posted: November 16th, 2018, 6:13 pm
by supernedd
IDK123 wrote:
supernedd wrote:I seeing plenty new hilux for sale .. low mileage.. i wonder why

I could speak for myself. My family recently expanded and needed to get a house.

Either I continue paying a loan that kept me from getting mortgage or sell the van at my displeasure and get my ducks in a row.

Revo will always be the most reliable and fun go anywhere i want vehicle I have ever owned. Hope I can get another sometime in the future
Well i could understand that . But boi . I prefer used n i heard hilux the best .. but i does be worried..when u seeing some ridiculously low mileage on sale .. well glad to know nothing wrong .. hopefully will get something next year

Posted: November 24th, 2018, 4:14 pm
by supernedd
PariaMan wrote:Does it make sense to buy a new model with old engine?

What about the improvements such as economy , noise level and improved technology?
Bet the price is more . Smh