4x2 Pickups and Trinidad Diesel

Posted: January 7th, 2016, 8:32 pm
by cajunspirit
So a colleague of mine advised against purchasing a 4X2 vehicle given their experiences with a 4X2 Ranger.

Granted I know the quality of Diesel in Trinidad is nasty, the vehicle I had in mind was a Hilux 2016 not the Ranger which I have heard also has transmission problems.

Can anyone advise on the nature of 4X2 being less compliant with our local diesel at the pump?

Re: 4x2 Pickups and Trinidad Diesel

Posted: January 7th, 2016, 8:38 pm
by clintus
Dont know bout ranger but i have 4x2 navara no complaints......i use a treatment every other fullup plus d40 came with fuel filter and a water trap filter that works well. And i change all filters during routine 5000k maintainence

Posted: January 7th, 2016, 9:41 pm
by skulls
Boss once u service your ride properly. no matter wah u buy u good 2 go

Posted: January 7th, 2016, 9:41 pm
by skulls
N treatment iz ah must

Posted: January 7th, 2016, 9:59 pm
by kriticalkase
I agree with the poor quality of our diesel.

I have a 4x2 ranger doing 54000kms with scheduled service and 0 issues. Van works lie day one. Note that this van is just over 1 year old yet I do lots of driving.

The key to the Rangers from ANSA is servicing at the dealer as regular software updates (engine/tranny) are done.

I don't think there is much difference between the 4x2 and 4x4 ranger performance except fuel economy. As mentioned earlier, regular service is the key to a trouble free pick up.

Posted: January 19th, 2016, 10:57 am
by cajunspirit
Hmmm, perhaps there is some luck involved as well.

Thank you all for your contributions.