can i supercharge a diesel engine?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

can i supercharge a diesel engine?

Postby Team Loco » October 2nd, 2005, 10:42 pm

just toying with the idea. My 2.8 Diesel hilux begs for power on the highway, over revs, max speed 130kms and burns alot of diesel. It is still under warranty and is strictly serviced at toyota, so i know it runs as efficeint as it was designed to. Can i take the same engine, install a supercharger or a small turbo? i am not looking for max boost, or a hybrid type speed machine, just loking to get the engine to be more efficient on the highway. Has anyone ever done this? is it possible? would i have to change pistons etc??

toyoman

Postby toyoman » October 3rd, 2005, 8:46 am

max speed 130kms

that's strange, my 4x2 top speed is 140Kms on a decline it goes a couple extra...

Postby Team Loco » October 3rd, 2005, 9:07 am

that's strange, my 4x2 top speed is 140Kms on a decline it goes a couple extra...

yeah i complained to toyota about it from the start. thing is i know these pick ups ain't fast. But everyone else i know with similar models get 140+ on the highway.

BTW, nice avatar, i have one of the 4x2 fully loaded, 2 weeks old. excellent vehicle.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 3rd, 2005, 9:33 am

Raziel

Postby Raziel » October 3rd, 2005, 12:15 pm

Answer is yes ....

TRD has several superchargers for their diesel/pickup engines ...
(not sure if they have for your particular model, but look for it)

http://www.gadgetonline.com/super.htm#T ... rger%20kit:
(here's one)

Postby X2 » October 3rd, 2005, 1:34 pm

Supercharger might be expensive as hell... a moderately sized turbo would do the job too and prolly cheaper since you can fab up a junkyard setup quick and easy.

toyoman

Postby toyoman » October 3rd, 2005, 2:14 pm

BTW, nice avatar, i have one of the 4x2 fully loaded, 2 weeks old. excellent vehicle

yea i see it all the time....

hot blue

Postby hot blue » October 5th, 2005, 12:01 am

lets see some pics of the hilux nah !!
i fine the new ones sweet too badd

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » October 5th, 2005, 9:31 pm

Well you are Team Loco sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo why not get one of those bulldog propane injection kits and give that a try and see how far you go?.

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » October 7th, 2005, 7:45 am

^^ :lol: :lol: :lol: Yeah as Raz was saying TRD is the place to check... and it will not change your warranty. I dear to say check with Toyota they just might bring in one for u... yuh never know unless you ask

Postby Team Loco » October 7th, 2005, 7:52 am

^^ Yeah as Raz was saying TRD is the place to check... and it will not change your warranty. I dear to say check with Toyota they just might bring in one for u... yuh never know unless you ask

TRD= $35,000TT= no way!!
Importing a kit (hopefully) from Australia......here's the link

http://motorcare.com.au/2428.htm

let you all know how it goes when it is installed...

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » October 7th, 2005, 10:12 am

dis is d 3L engine rite ??

how much d kit costin yuh wid shipping but widout tax ?

Postby Team Loco » October 7th, 2005, 10:23 am

approx $15,000

X2Board

Re: can i supercharge a diesel engine?

Postby X2Board » October 8th, 2005, 12:45 am

Team Loco wrote:just toying with the idea. My 2.8 Diesel hilux begs for power on the highway, over revs, max speed 130kms and burns alot of diesel. would i have to change pistons etc??

Loco,
the boosted diesel engines operate on a different principle to their gas boosted counterparts, so you wouldnt need to change pistons to lower compression as you'd need to do in a gas.

all you need to do is pressurize the intake manifold so when the intake cycle comes around, you'll take less time to fill the cylinder ..thereby making the engine faster.
No need to think about mixture at this point because the deisel engine meters fuel to regulate speed , while petrol engines regulate air.
A few turns of your mixture screw on the pump will solve all lean burn conditions.

As you say the engine overrevs on the highway, i would think making the engine faster will just make it more uncomfortable to drive as you'd reach your top gear faster & max out your final drive quicker as well... maybe some larger diameter tyres might alleviate the overrevving,.. just a thought..

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”