Page 1 of 2
Ford ranger vs toyota hilux
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 9:41 pm
by nick69
Hey guys, I'm thinking of buying one of these next month. Either the ford from m. Rampersad or the hilux from the firm. Both 3 liter. Any experiences, opinions or general comments on either vehicle will be appreciated. Thanks
Re: Ford ranger vs toyota hilux
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 9:55 pm
by brams112
Toyota talk done.Heard people complaining about the ranger.
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 10:04 pm
by pugboy
Toyota might be bringing with vnturbo soon
they have not been doing so for some reason or another(cost?)
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 10:47 pm
by Reez100
have a look at the bt50 3.2l
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 10:58 pm
by Cantmis
All that to say .... Never mind!
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 11:32 pm
by skulls
Wait for the 2015-2016 models in both then choose
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 11:41 pm
by 1UZFE
skulls wrote:Wait for the 2015-2016 models in both then choose
This....
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 11:55 pm
by skulls
1UZFE wrote:skulls wrote:Wait for the 2015-2016 models in both then choose
This....
I was in d same boat
End up getting d ranger
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 1:14 am
by gurmuk
Hilux is nice. The bt50 also
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 2:21 am
by kamakazi
pugboy wrote:Toyota might be bringing with vnturbo soon
they have not been doing so for some reason or another(cost?)
Don't all Toyota 3 litres have the vn turbo. ...I think so
Anyhow .... If you can wait. ... Please do so
The new 2016 hilux has been launched and should be here before the end of the year. Ford also is scheduled to facelift their current offering.
I like the lux but it's a little long in the tooth by now. Haven't heard about any problems van wise. .... but the dealership and some of the employees within. ...Boy, I have some stories to tell
I really haven't heard anything but problems from owners of the new Ranger but people with problems voice their opinion more strongly than others.
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 5:56 am
by pugboy
Hilux drives nice and plenty interior room, I bought one the other day.
Running cost might be more than a car when you consider the cost of tires.
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 6:45 am
by Team Loco
Toyota has been bringing the hilux 3.0 with vnt turbo from day one. Ive heard talk about some without. This is not som i repair hilux vnt turbos every week. I know them inside out.
The hilux is a superior vehicle but the vnt turbo is a troublesome design. With spirited drivi g habits your vnt turbo may give you trouble at around 150,000kms. The nozzles wear and with a thinner metal structure it starts to bend and eventually touches the rotating turbo. Long and shot it causes the turbo to go bad. The key to owning a hilux is proper maintenance and oil changes.
The ranger turbos are much inferior to the hilux turbo. They are garrets made in india. They are vnt also but are already troublesome. Op if i were you i woukd stick to the 2.5 non vnt hilux.
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 8:52 am
by 10-01
i have a 2014 hilux , problem thus far van stalled for a clogged fuel filter which i was told was due to bad diesel entire tank had to come down to clean ( took 2 days in the company $3500 from my pocket ) , rotors warp at about 15xxx kms ( took a day ) , park light fuse was blown when i asked how the park light fuse blow couldn't get a answer ...
Maintenance cost is a bit high and down time for maintenance is a bit to long at toyota
Compared to a navara i had b4 , i will say the navara was a better van never had any problems with the navara only did oil and filter up to 100k
never owned the new ranger heard alot of stories bout the tranny going bad and the turbo idk if its tru , after this hilux i going back to the new navara
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 11:13 am
by Team Loco
We bought from the first batch of new model luxes. Had the rotor issue and after the first week the van stalled. This is when the van wasnt tuned for our diesel. But now half a million kms later she runs like new and works even harder. Once she crossed the 100,000kms mark, she just keeps going with minimal issues
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 2:23 pm
by nick69
Thanks for the feedback guys. Anybody who had personal experiences with the new ranger is welcomed to comment.
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 8:40 pm
by Toyopet
I worked for a company that bought one of the 2013 2.2L manual 4x4 Rangers. As it was new it was kept in the hands of the more responsible drivers. First there was a noise from the gearbox that had to be fixed. Then some sensor kept stalling the van. Fixed that. Then the turbo went. Fixed that. Then the fuel pump went bad. Didn't bother fixing that. Just stopped paying and let them keep it.
The Hilux is a far more reliable vehicle but ypu have to chamge fuel filter often to keep it from clogging because of the quality of diesel. I prefer the L200s though. Very rugged and extremely reliable.
Posted: May 25th, 2015, 7:30 am
by pugboy
when you look at the older pickups on the road,
there are many l200's from TBE series still running good as ever
followed by the hilux from that generation also
after that hilux and Nissan take over sales
Posted: May 25th, 2015, 8:27 pm
by Team Loco
True. I had my sr5 "type" hilux from new. Had a lame 3L diesel. Instead of selling ten yrs later i just upgraded the engine. Best to keep these older models. Troublefree
Posted: May 28th, 2015, 7:02 am
by tourniquet
Why not the new navara OP? i'm not in the market, nor am i an early adopter, but the new navara/frontier looks tempting. interested to see how the first batch holds out.
Posted: May 28th, 2015, 9:15 pm
by castortroy
I have the 2013 with no problems to date, change oil filter and fuel filter religiously every 5k - not really a believer in "yeah dat oil filter good fuh 10,000 kms"
Posted: May 28th, 2015, 9:15 pm
by castortroy
*hilux
Posted: May 28th, 2015, 9:53 pm
by Toyopet
Do you change the oil when you change the filter as well?
Posted: May 29th, 2015, 6:25 am
by castortroy
Yup!, also when i go for service i always ask to see the accumulation in the trap and its really bad most of the time, i know the filter cant save me from high water content so like every 3 fill-ups i drain the trap.
Posted: May 29th, 2015, 6:50 am
by Toyopet
castortroy wrote:Yup!, also when i go for service i always ask to see the accumulation in the trap and its really bad most of the time, i know the filter cant save me from high water content so like every 3 fill-ups i drain the trap.
I disagree with changing oil every 5000km though. Oil is a dwindling commodity so we must conserve it. Technology has given us oils capable of going to 7500, 10000 and even 15000 kms so changing soo early seems wasteful to me. What I used to do in the car was change the filter and just top up whatever oil was lost from the filter, usually les then a quart
Posted: May 29th, 2015, 7:32 am
by castortroy
Toyopet wrote:castortroy wrote:Yup!, also when i go for service i always ask to see the accumulation in the trap and its really bad most of the time, i know the filter cant save me from high water content so like every 3 fill-ups i drain the trap.
I disagree with changing oil every 5000km though. Oil is a dwindling commodity so we must conserve it. Technology has given us oils capable of going to 7500, 10000 and even 15000 kms so changing soo early seems wasteful to me. What I used to do in the car was change the filter and just top up whatever oil was lost from the filter, usually les then a quart
U ever had any issues doing this?
Posted: May 29th, 2015, 8:13 am
by Toyopet
castortroy wrote:Toyopet wrote:castortroy wrote:Yup!, also when i go for service i always ask to see the accumulation in the trap and its really bad most of the time, i know the filter cant save me from high water content so like every 3 fill-ups i drain the trap.
U ever had any issues doing this?
Never. Sold the Corolla with 160,000 and it ran like new. Used to get a chirp of the tyres when I floored it around 30-40 kmh

Doing on on both Sporteros though, I leave both the oil and filter str8 to 10,000km. One doing 93,000 and the other doing 133,000 with no issue
Posted: June 1st, 2015, 9:39 am
by V2NR 3.0
At the end of the day it all boils down to personal preference. I test drove the Hilux 3.0 and also the Ford 3.2. There are both features that I liked and disliked about the two trucks. Eventually went with the Ford and have not had a single issue thus far.
Posted: June 3rd, 2015, 8:26 pm
by pugboy
they all made in Thailand in factories a few blocks apart anyways
Posted: June 3rd, 2015, 9:21 pm
by kriticalkase
The ranger we get from ANSA Mc AL comes from south africa. Maska and M Rampersad get their rangers from thailand.
Posted: June 3rd, 2015, 9:54 pm
by randolphinshan
True, I believe the ones from Thailand have better quality control also, hence no problems like the ones form Ansa