Went with Nankang A/T instead........pretty decent....
Posted: March 31st, 2014, 7:44 pm
by NMN_57
So in my search for cheaper MT tyres, I ended up coming across the Nankang 4x4 All Terrain's a 17th time.
I took that as a sign.
Went with them in 275/70r16, writing on the outside.....Looks damn good, softer ride....
can't wait to try them out!
Got em' at Maraj and sons btw, so thanks to 3stage for that!

Re: Looking for wheels for my Nav within the next month...
Posted: April 1st, 2014, 8:13 am
by droppa
hardly likely u would get a decent set of used 16" rims with the D40 bolt pattern, most fellas swap out stock and go bigger, yuh have to real search....
my advice would be to get a set of a spacer/adaptors to go from 6x115 to 6X139 that way u kill two birds with one stone, wil have a wider stance with narrower rim and will have a wider variety of rims to look at,
and a 16x9 rim u looking for? good luck......
Posted: April 1st, 2014, 8:04 pm
by NMN_57
Yeah, I've been looking around for a set.....I came across guys with a couple but no one was willing to sell just yet....
I was considering the spacers but some of the guys with wheel shops and so forth recommend otherwise, knowing some of them personally, they suggested to look for a wheel with decent offset before resorting to spacers.
as for the D40 stud pattern to 6x139, Wesbourne didn't have, Dean doesn't stock apparently when I called them.....and I'd much rather spend the money on the wheels instead of bringing down a set
Honestly, width doesn't matter once it's greater that 8.5"....
Life hard.
Posted: April 11th, 2014, 7:07 pm
by GHOSTRYDER
Swopped out the standard SE wheels on mine and got a set of the 4X4 Set with some practically new shoes. The ride is a bit more cushioned as compared to the biscuit tyre . I don't see the sense in putting those bigger wheels on a van like a Nav.
Posted: April 11th, 2014, 7:11 pm
by nervewrecker
Stock navara rims? Will they fit on a d22 frontier?
Posted: April 11th, 2014, 11:51 pm
by NMN_57
Naw bro, the bolt pattern's different.
D40 Nav is 6 x 114 spacing whilst the D22 frontier is 6 x 139.7 if I recall properly.
Had a d22 before, have a Nav now so I'd know...
Much more rims available for the D22 though, because of that spacing.....
As for the wheels, I bought my van on 20" and the guy I bought it from passed the stockies to his buddy which wasn't an issue then....
I got a set of SE wheels with rubber for $800 to use daily....
Finally decided to get that slightly aggressive off-road look with a hint of performance so I bought the 4x4 rims which I paid $1300 for and painted em' black.
Now I just need some 31"/32" tyres to house some 16" rims......
Re: anyone knows where has cheap 'no name' M/T tyres?
Posted: April 14th, 2014, 3:09 pm
by 3stagevtec
Maharaj (or was it Maraj?) in Gasparillo has new MTs for around $850each
Posted: April 14th, 2014, 6:05 pm
by NMN_57
Thanks 3stage!
Is the place easy to find?
I'm from up North, so I don't venture much beyond Couva without purpose \: Hence, I'll have no idea where I'm headed
Posted: April 14th, 2014, 10:41 pm
by 3stagevtec
NMN_57 wrote:Thanks 3stage!
Is the place easy to find?
I'm from up North, so I don't venture much beyond Couva without purpose \: Hence, I'll have no idea where I'm headed
Very easy to find..
From south bound take Gasparillo Flyover, turn right at KFC (i.e. Gasparillo Jn), drive approx 200m, tyre shop on left.
Wait a sec... take a read here...
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=552718

Posted: April 14th, 2014, 11:40 pm
by NMN_57
Oh sheit. LOL.
I'm going for a drive tomorrow or wednesday I guess!
Posted: April 15th, 2014, 12:00 am
by 3stagevtec
NMN_57 wrote:Oh sheit. LOL.
I'm going for a drive tomorrow or wednesday I guess!
Word of advice, Gasparillo jn is a no right turn between 6-9am and 2:30 to 6pm (IIRC).. so make sure you pass between 9am to 2:30pm.. outside of those hours, you will need to take the Gasparillo bypass road instead to get there.
Posted: April 15th, 2014, 1:24 pm
by NMN_57
Thanks again, kinda late, now leaving home LOL
I'll have to figure out that bypass road thing......
Re: Went with Nankang A/T instead........pretty decent....
Posted: April 16th, 2014, 10:32 am
by droppa
good stuff man, hope u didnt pay more than 1000 ea, they work great, but some say they wear fast.....
Posted: April 16th, 2014, 3:34 pm
by 3stagevtec
Maraj didn't have any MTs to fit your size? Did you paint those rims black? Looks good!
Tyres rubbing by chance??
Posted: April 16th, 2014, 10:38 pm
by NMN_57
naw Droppa, paid around $900 each, well....with my style of driving, I won't be surprised if they do wear fast.....
Nope 3stage \: Unfortunately not, but I don't regret going with these tyres...took a drive up Lopinot today, I have no complaints on the AT.
Yep! Matte, cleared and matte again just for the sake of it!

Nope no tyre rubbing btw!
Just good looks and a greater looking flex!
Posted: April 16th, 2014, 11:18 pm
by NMN_57
As I said.......my style of driving..............

Had to break em' in!

- edited9 - Copy.jpg (89.94 KiB) Viewed 6826 times
Posted: April 17th, 2014, 5:59 am
by GHOSTRYDER
what did it cost you do paint your wheels MNM?
Posted: April 17th, 2014, 9:37 am
by NMN_57
I did them myself actually....with sandpaper, plastic primer, matte black spray paint and clear. I'm not hoping for a durable, lasting paintjob but hey, it looks good and cheap if I hadda do it over.
So far, it's holding out pretty well......
It cost about $200 and 4 hours in total

Posted: April 17th, 2014, 9:50 am
by NMN_57

- 1617577_10200696456292981_7505024870270787263_o - Copy.jpg (162.36 KiB) Viewed 6780 times
Posted: April 25th, 2014, 8:31 am
by NMN_57
Here's another pic to enjoy!

- 905833_10200696483093651_2352439172338244348_o.jpg (91.72 KiB) Viewed 6684 times
Posted: April 26th, 2014, 2:39 am
by 3stagevtec
Lemme know when you ready to try something a lil harder.. lol
Is that glare i'm seeing or are your headlights tinted / reflector painted black? Truck looking good in that pic..
Posted: April 26th, 2014, 10:54 am
by NMN_57
Not until June man! but I'm prepping till' then....
Tinted headlights!

Posted: April 28th, 2014, 11:52 am
by lighthammer
NMN_57 ... come with me, if you wanna live.....
Posted: April 28th, 2014, 1:37 pm
by NMN_57
I have exams....but....
I'll be back.....