Winching up the Krakken. Side-B style

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
stingray316

Winching up the Krakken. Side-B style

Postby stingray316 » November 9th, 2013, 9:16 pm

Got myself a Smitty 10,000lb waterproof winch and a few accessories.
So the install process begins.

Found myself in a bind, needed to get a piece of 1/4" plate at minimal cost.
So I went out scavenging a few places i know and hit the jackpot at the very first stop.
For the super low price of "One Blue Note" 47" x 18" x 1/4"...

So after removing the bull bar that houses my Hi-Lift jack
(I should have removed the jack first though)
And doh laugh at my tie strapped indicators,
dat went 'bago and survived a few roadblocks without incident.

Offering up the plate and measuring out the cut required.
A view from the underside, the polcadot gloves to save the fresh paint.
Well about this time I realized cutting 1/4" eats these cutting disks.
That was my last one, time to borrow.

So eager to see the winch on the van I just had to do it.
With bumper.
Without bumper.
Brackets need some cleaning up, gussets for the extra weight and paint.

Bracing up.
Bumper gusset and a little paint afterwards.

The last of the welding rods, have to make each one count.

Hydraulic lines need rerouting, my take on a fire blanket (wet rag).

Plate trimmed and welded onto the bracket.

Next problem I faced is a half dead black n decker drill and no oxygen
to use the torch to get the holes to mount the winch.
So I went ahead and used up a few more of my fast dwindling rods to burn the holes.

Adding two struts to make a center support.

A lil coat of paint.
Throw on back the bumper.

With the winch bolted down, there was no more place on the plate to install the fairlead.
So the next best place is the bumper, which presented its own problems.
So what you see is the best i could do.

After installing the rollers, i tried to release a little bit of cable to send the loop through the roller.
And that was a disaster, all the cable hit the floor.

After making up the electrical connection and trying to spool in back the mess on the floor.
I realized the the rubber protector for the remote jack was hanging in the spool.
So I removed it and changed the orientation to the top.
Wiring covered up.

End of day one, install complete. Tomorrow to reinstall the bull bar and indicators.
After i make a trip to the hardware to get welding rods and cutting disk.

Day two.
Had to lose the fog lights, which were a mere decoration.
And trim off the lower brackets, original mounting no longer possible with the plate.

Welding directly to the bumper.

Now to solve the tie-strapped indicator.
Taking pieces of sheeting from an old shock that I had cut-up.
I made some brackets, welding that thin sheet was hell. Needed a mig for that.

Wiring cleaned up and the finished product looks like this.
Image.

droppa

Re: Winching up the Krakken. Side-B style

Postby droppa » November 9th, 2013, 9:31 pm

Good job there stevo, now to test it, what are the advantages or extra features of the X2O series over the XRC???

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » November 9th, 2013, 9:36 pm

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 9th, 2013, 10:02 pm

wow what a fantastic and pro-level job!

Nice welding there Steve, very clean and strong.
(i hadda come learn to weld by you... I'll bring the cooler full of drinks!)

Now it's time to test that bad boy.... release.. the.... K R A K K E N!!!!!

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » November 9th, 2013, 10:59 pm

Anytime Leo, I never had any formal training tho. Learn by experiencing it, just alot of wild ideas just floating around, just wanting to get out...

rx80

Postby rx80 » November 10th, 2013, 5:40 am

Nice welding...

Postby Ted_v2 » November 10th, 2013, 4:46 pm

good work for a DIY

Fazeer

Postby Fazeer » November 12th, 2013, 7:10 am

Man hitting allyuh scorpion back welding bhai!!good job on the DIY..

venum

Postby venum » November 14th, 2013, 10:38 pm

great DIY

droppa

Postby droppa » November 15th, 2013, 7:24 am

if im not mistaken another side b DIY mod to a bought bumper to accomodate a monster should be taking place today.....

Postby black start » November 16th, 2013, 6:28 pm

nice work man...

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » August 22nd, 2015, 9:15 am

Follow more on my FB page The Krakken.
https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1581673468773221