which 4x4 do you prefere?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

which 4x4 do you prefere?

Postby sMASH » May 31st, 2005, 4:41 pm

Between the new Mazda B2500/2600 4x4 and the Mitsubishi L200's ( modle before the last i.e. the two colour turbo) what are the good points and the bad. Trying to choose between.......

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » May 31st, 2005, 5:52 pm

Mazda all the way

gizmo

Postby gizmo » May 31st, 2005, 7:03 pm

i would say the Mitsubishi cuz they turbo charged, intercooled and hav alot power across the entire rpm range....... the only thing is that they hard to modify....... you hav to do alot of cutting and expensive repairs to get them lifted

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » June 1st, 2005, 7:56 pm

gizmo mazda turbo'd & intercooled too IMO better dan d mitsu. the mazda B2500 turbo is a great van plenty of power,comfort & style. Between the 2 i'd go with the mazda. Oh and the mazdas more stable on the road than the mitsu, the mitsus tend to swing out at the back on corners etc. Just my $00.02

gizmo

Postby gizmo » June 1st, 2005, 8:56 pm

but the mitsus hav more power than the mazdas....... approximately 15ft lbs torque more..... and of course the truck will swing out at he back on corners...... remember it hav a long tray jus as the mazda

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 1st, 2005, 10:24 pm

gizmo, sorry they pallie but you have been highly misinformed. the latest L200 has a 2.5 Turbo Diesel producing 240Nm of torque at 2000rpm and the Mazda produces 280Nm of torque at the same 2000rpm (not bad for a small 2.5). The Ford Ranger is also similar to the Mazda as they are the same pickup truck both built by Mazda. The most executive and sleekest of them all is the Mazda and the Ford and they both happen to have the best build quality and ride comfort too. The L200 is old, not very stable, least powerfull out of all and has a cheap interior finish compared to the others. The Frontier and Hilux is also better than that Mitsu. The Mazda B2500 Turbo with 4W-ABS package is a winner. Around $180k brand new....not bad at all!!!

smash, the previous L200 turbo has 201Nm at 2000rpm, even more shitty than everything else. At least mitsu improved the power by 39Nm. :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 1st, 2005, 10:31 pm

I have heard that the mazda has a smoother ride........

venum

Mitsubishi L200

Postby venum » June 1st, 2005, 11:56 pm

Mitsubishi L200.

The L200 range has evolved significantly over time. Evolution (no pun intended) is good in a vehicle such as this.

The L200 has accomplished much more that any other SUV in the most extreme of conditions on an international stage.

Proof - Dakar rally, Mitsubishi technology has been prooven in this competition event in both the L200 and the Pajero-Evolution models.

The L200 has the prooven off-road technology of its undisputed sister vehicle the Pajero. #1 choice of a Japanese vehicle for field work.

How many Mazdas have you seen in these true test of 4x4 capability?

a better option to choose between would be the Frontier and the L200

IMO - The Frontier is a wuss. The manual transmission is a big show of utter crap. You need no skill to drive it. Nissan removed the art of riding clutch in the 4x2 fully loaded model.

Your choice should depend on what you are going to use the vehicle for:

If it is for style and liming - then just buy the cheaper one.

If it is for true SUV uses - Mitsubishi L200

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 2nd, 2005, 1:08 am

^ i beg to differ, all 4 of these pickup trucks have roughly the same size of tray and off road capabilities due to part-time four wheel drive etc. In this case now, we try to decipher why to buy one over the other seeing that prices are already up there! So what do we look for? Buy a Mitsubishi L200 because they Rallied it up, gave it attention and built an EVO too? So this will be the hardcore offroader with speed? Wrong! Next....buy the Nissan Frontier because their reputation for building passenger cars and trucks are much more credible than that of Mitsubishi and they're good in making fast 2-dr twin turbo sports cars with 4WD? Wrong! Buy a Mazda B2500 because they re-invented the rotary engine so much as its receiving more awards than Mitsubishi can ever muster up in its entire life-time or they make the smoothest, sexiest cars around with the best handling and braking any cheap passenger car can give? Wrong! Oh wait, buy a Toyota Hilux because Toyota also makes Lexuses therefore the Hilux would be the most luxurious while having demonic speeds of a Supra and having the build quality of a RX330 luxury suv or should have the offroading capability because the Land Cruiser is probably the most respected suv in the world? Wrong! We buy it because given its known qualities, we also look at reliability, economy, ride quality, build quality, features and amenities, looks etc...and here as the local sales numbers would prove that the Frontier and the B2500 are the winners hands down, followed by the Hilux, then the L200.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » June 2nd, 2005, 2:08 am

which one prettier :roll:

jes a girlie perspective

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » June 2nd, 2005, 6:38 am

dragzster wrote:^ i beg to differ, all 4 of these pickup trucks have roughly the same size of tray and off road capabilities due to part-time four wheel drive etc. In this case now, we try to decipher why to buy one over the other seeing that prices are already up there! So what do we look for? Buy a Mitsubishi L200 because they Rallied it up, gave it attention and built an EVO too? So this will be the hardcore offroader with speed? Wrong! Next....buy the Nissan Frontier because their reputation for building passenger cars and trucks are much more credible than that of Mitsubishi and they're good in making fast 2-dr twin turbo sports cars with 4WD? Wrong! Buy a Mazda B2500 because they re-invented the rotary engine so much as its receiving more awards than Mitsubishi can ever muster up in its entire life-time or they make the smoothest, sexiest cars around with the best handling and braking any cheap passenger car can give? Wrong! Oh wait, buy a Toyota Hilux because Toyota also makes Lexuses therefore the Hilux would be the most luxurious while having demonic speeds of a Supra and having the build quality of a RX330 luxury suv or should have the offroading capability because the Land Cruiser is probably the most respected suv in the world? Wrong! We buy it because given its known qualities, we also look at reliability, economy, ride quality, build quality, features and amenities, looks etc...and here as the local sales numbers would prove that the Frontier and the B2500 are the winners hands down, followed by the Hilux, then the L200.

Thumbs up Dragster! Mazda all the wayy! :twisted:

toyoman

Postby toyoman » June 2nd, 2005, 7:38 am

toyota and mazda makes the best pickups......(toyota also makes the best cars)

hang on a little while, toyota coming out with a new sport pickup, looks like a beast
the price might also be steep though.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 7:58 am

Go with the Mazda - We use B2500s at work plus at home. We take those Madzas all over Trinidad... offroad is handles really good with the proper tyres and on the road it's FAST! When the turbo kicks in it just shoots you off!

The low range is exceptional - you can jump the vehicle if you in a tight situation and need that traction.

In work we got a couple of the 4W-ABS models with the BIG a$$ Michelins :D :D :D
That thing sweet... Interior comfortable, clean, nicely styled... Great cabin space and real executive inside. 4 speakers but no CD player standard... switches and buttons everywhere too :) Plus alot of auxillary spaces for things like tow lights, winches, etc.

4 channel ABS, dual front Airbags, variable speed power steering. Top speed about 165-170 km... with a pickup? and it's real steady coming up the highway from south with all that crosswind! No real instability...

Our B2500 is 5 years old, and in that time the only servicing has been fluids and filters. We DID have one problem with the fuel guage which was corrected, plus the clutch is a bit loose now - probably needs to service. (That's from all the tyre ripping in 1st, 2nd and 3rd when it was new nah! :) ) Other than that, it's working fine. A real workhorse... Easy on the fuel mileage until you run it hard... :D

So far everyone else seems to be saying the Mazda and I'm vouching from personal experience... THERE! :D

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 8:01 am

Sumana.00 wrote:which one prettier :roll:

jes a girlie perspective

The Madza prettier :) Nicer colours - I real love the sandstone colour! :)

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » June 2nd, 2005, 11:41 am

dragzster wrote:gizmo, sorry they pallie but you have been highly misinformed. the latest L200 has a 2.5 Turbo Diesel producing 240Nm of torque at 2000rpm and the Mazda produces 280Nm of torque at the same 2000rpm (not bad for a small 2.5). The Ford Ranger is also similar to the Mazda as they are the same pickup truck both built by Mazda. The most executive and sleekest of them all is the Mazda and the Ford and they both happen to have the best build quality and ride comfort too. The L200 is old, not very stable, least powerfull out of all and has a cheap interior finish compared to the others. The Frontier and Hilux is also better than that Mitsu. The Mazda B2500 Turbo with 4W-ABS package is a winner. Around $180k brand new....not bad at all!!!

smash, the previous L200 turbo has 201Nm at 2000rpm, even more shitty than everything else. At least mitsu improved the power by 39Nm. :lol:

What he said

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 2nd, 2005, 12:36 pm

200+ lb-ft of torque... you could feel that biatch accelerating right up to about 140 km/h :D

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 2nd, 2005, 4:12 pm

bleedingfreak, we actually had a TBE non-turbo model for a short duration and it was exceptional back in those days. It had power-everything including power mirors too. It really performed and with just over 200,000kms the thing still goes and goes. No major problems but it doesn't make it too special because I know ppl with TBH Frontiers that have been basically trouble free so far. In the end my ranks are as follows:

1st Mazda B2500 turbo 4W-ABS/Ford Ranger turbo
2nd Nissan Frontier AX3.0Di
3rd Toyota Hilux SR5
4th Mitsubishi L200

What is also good is that for around $195k, you can get the Hilux with the Prado engine and you can get the loaded Frontier and they have similar power but with a larger displacement of 3.0 litres.

If you don't want a wagon and you want something close to a car as possible with pickup qualities then get the Mazda B2600 4W-ABS package in 4x2 double cab body style and get the Carry boy tray package with the rook-rack and rear spoiler with integrated LED stop light. At least you have 4-channel ABS, dual airbags, 2.6 FI engine (petrol), 4-speed auto, all the usual power features, fog lights and ofcourse you can put in your own kick @ss stereo and security systems. Saw quite a few on the road already.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » June 2nd, 2005, 5:54 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:which one prettier :roll:

jes a girlie perspective

The Madza prettier :) Nicer colours - I real love the sandstone colour! :)

Mazda it is ;)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 3rd, 2005, 3:14 am

dragzster wrote:bleedingfreak, we actually had a TBE non-turbo model for a short duration and it was exceptional back in those days.

Man we still have ole betsy in work - though she's only on light duty now: a TBB... Pressure up the hills, but still running :) On e of my problems with the older model ws the very VERY close 4th-5th gear ratios...

If you don't want a wagon and you want something close to a car as possible with pickup qualities then get the Mazda B2600 4W-ABS package in 4x2 double cab body style and get the Carry boy tray package with the rook-rack and rear spoiler with integrated LED stop light. At least you have 4-channel ABS, dual airbags, 2.6 FI engine (petrol), 4-speed auto, all the usual power features, fog lights and ofcourse you can put in your own kick @ss stereo and security systems. Saw quite a few on the road already.

Those look mad! Only thing though a 2.6 gasoline engine? The gas bills will be ENORMOUS! :D

Remember although it's a 2.6, it not no Mazda6 engine! I think is a 12valve SOHC... Plus is a 4 banger so... the fuel efficency aint there... *sigh* :?

bleedingfreak

Re: Mitsubishi L200

Postby bleedingfreak » June 3rd, 2005, 3:22 am

venum wrote:Mitsubishi L200.

Your choice should depend on what you are going to use the vehicle for:

If it is for style and liming - then just buy the cheaper one.

If it is for true SUV uses - Mitsubishi L200

Man... The L200 ain't no esse you vee... it's a Pickup!

Same as the B2500...
These are workhorses...
Not go-round-town-trying-to-find-a-parking-spot-on-a-narrow-streeters :D

And none of these are really superb offroad... All those offroad guys have either
a) Short wheelbase Land Cruisers :D
b) Short wheelbase Land Rovers :D
c) Souped up Jimnys :shock:

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 3rd, 2005, 3:25 am

Remember although it's a 2.6, it not no Mazda6 engine!

true the M6 engine is the MZR series with DOHC, 16 valves and sequential valve timing (SV-T). The 2.6 pickup version is adequately powerful for lighter duties than the turbo model. Sure has more useful power than a brand new 1.6L wagon though.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 3rd, 2005, 3:42 am

^^ I agree with you: Automatic and gasoline? maybe just to drop off light packages around town.

But I just cyar see the logic of a gas engine in a pickup... Very American eh ? :D
That's for people who still have misconceptions about diesel, coupled with an inability to negotiate with a manual transmission :D :D

advocate

ppl

Postby advocate » June 6th, 2005, 11:44 am

how stable are each of these vans on the road at high speed?

gizmo

Postby gizmo » June 6th, 2005, 5:28 pm

^^^ not very stable dude...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”