is the 2013 Isuzu dmax a good buy...please let me know..
Re: 2013 isuzu dmax 3.0 turbo 4x4 automatic
Posted: August 18th, 2013, 3:07 pm
by telfer
The dmax looks nice it drives nice but it dead like a door knob had one for a week until I got my bt50 didn't enjoy it
Posted: August 18th, 2013, 8:14 pm
by ruffrider27
Dmax built for power not speed ,can tow 3x it's weight.
Posted: August 19th, 2013, 4:27 am
by Mazdout
New Dmax (2nd generation) does what any 4x4 does it's more of a preferential choice with advance tech https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HmKG6raANdg when we saw its rivals being the Ford Ranger and the VW Amarok it had to have some value. With comfort for all passengers on long journeys and traffic, super suspension for our pot-holes, we enjoy the ride. It also returned impressively low fuel consumption, with official combined figures of just 8.1 litres per 100km for the auto and 8.3L/100km for manual models. Been driving it for 3 months now - no issues.
Posted: August 19th, 2013, 6:53 am
by stef
Unsure of ride quality but the cabin is super comfy and with a lot of features for the price. Plus it looks great
Posted: August 20th, 2013, 5:45 pm
by brown4599
thanks guys for filling me in on the info....I heard that the 2.5l is kinda lazy on the pickup but the 3.0 is much faster...
Posted: August 23rd, 2013, 8:58 am
by bigb
so what u guys are saying overall d new Isuzu isn't ah bad buy ?
Posted: August 23rd, 2013, 9:16 am
by Ted_v2
Seems so. pretty much its the cheapest on the market
Posted: August 23rd, 2013, 5:17 pm
by star scream
only in Trinidad is the isuzu brand underrated, the d max is a known workhorse.
Posted: August 24th, 2013, 7:44 am
by brown4599
paid 280,000 for the 2013 Isuzu dmax 4x4 3.0 L turbo ...it's not that cheap..
Posted: August 24th, 2013, 10:10 pm
by bigb
my question how is the accelaration on the 2013 model the one with the projector lights? manual
Posted: August 27th, 2013, 10:14 pm
by Toyopet
bigb wrote:my question how is the accelaration on the 2013 model the one with the projector lights? manual
I would assume better, as they now come with an intercooler. I've seen a few around, they accelerate well enough. The 3.0 is very fast though
Posted: August 28th, 2013, 12:35 pm
by white_lion
This is my DMax, it's the 4x4 2.5 turbo diesel manual LS model which was just under $216,000. licensed and on the road. Got it as a company vehicle a couple weeks ago and I've done almost 4,000 km's with absolutely no complaints thus far. I admit it is a bit lazy off the line but once you get accustomed to it, it really isn't that bad, after all it is a truck that was made to be worked and is supposedly the only pick-up rated to safely tow 3 1/2 tonnes.
It's not as light on it's feet as my 2008 base model Ranger but what it lacks in speed, it makes up for with a very spacious cabin, nice features, excellent fuel economy and a very comfortable, smooth, "SUV-like" ride. I do have a heavy foot and tend to accelerate to cruising speed very quickly and on average I've been getting 575 km's from 3/4 tank of diesel which is more than I ever got from the Ranger. Also took it for a little off road test last week and it handled extremely well for having Dueler H/T tires. All in all it's a very well put together vehicle and I am very happy with my decision to get this over it's competitors.
Posted: August 28th, 2013, 12:39 pm
by *KRONIK*
^^^ I find these d-max rel nice... I wont mind owning one
Posted: August 28th, 2013, 3:06 pm
by Ted_v2
I like this model and the older one. Anyone can comment on how robust the drive train is made?
Posted: August 29th, 2013, 8:02 am
by brown4599
bought the same colour black but the 3.0 l automatic 4x4...should be getting it any time soon
Posted: August 29th, 2013, 8:32 am
by Naz
What about price fr parts? I spoke to toyota and the prices are really close to these.... Same 290 for a fully loaded 4x4 3l and between 245k and 268k for d 2.5... What makes this a better buy bedside the looks?
Posted: September 1st, 2013, 9:44 pm
by turbo_monkey
nice looking truck white_lion...somehow prefer it without the roof rails
Posted: September 12th, 2013, 6:44 am
by Mazdout
Nice ride white_lion, got the same model LS the (Bluish color-I think the call it Mineral Grey Met) heading for 6k km's - no problems so far, runs great and fantastic on the diesel. Yes the ratio in the lower gears are a bit close but once you're going you're good. First service came up to around $800. filters/engine oil and a 30pt check. Service wasn't bad overall. Installed a FLEX-COVER.COM for securing stuff in the tray.
Posted: September 13th, 2013, 8:06 pm
by sweeks
It might be a good idea to check the availability of body and maintenance parts.
Posted: September 17th, 2013, 10:03 am
by brown4599
wouldn't parts be available at southern sales, why buy a new vehicle and use after market parts. parts are just around the same price as toyota
Posted: October 16th, 2013, 10:22 pm
by *$kїđž!™
D-Max $117,000.00 2.5 TD 4x2 s/c $134,043.00 2.5 TD 4x2 c/c $150,000.00 2.5 TD 4x2 c/c LS $187,015.00 2.5 TD 4x4 c/c MT LS $217,000.00 3.0 TD 4x4 c/c AT LS
Are these prices up to date?..... read white lion bought his manual transmission for 216?.....the price above states thae the automatic is 217......wondering whats the actual price for the automatic model.....
Posted: November 2nd, 2013, 9:17 am
by Ted_v2
call the firm, prices change regular
Posted: November 27th, 2013, 2:58 pm
by pete
Single cab is more like 165 or 169 now.
Been looking for a single cab 4x4 to tow some heavy stuff and doubt the 4x2 would do it so may go with a Navara. Anyone ever used a Navara for towing?
Posted: November 27th, 2013, 4:50 pm
by Ted_v2
i used a 4x4 to pull a vehicle with a rope, does that count?
Navara gets my vote tho.
Posted: April 16th, 2014, 1:49 pm
by bigb
hello to all the dmax owners how is allyuh vehicle going so far?
Posted: May 13th, 2014, 8:00 pm
by kriticalkase
guys, is the engine in the present 2014 3.0 dmax the same as the older model (the one which sounded like a tractor)
Posted: May 17th, 2014, 5:41 am
by sweeks
kriticalkase wrote:guys, is the engine in the present 2014 3.0 dmax the same as the older model (the one which sounded like a tractor)
The 3.0 carries the same engine 4jj1 with minor upgrades from the previous model which is a power plant .
Posted: May 21st, 2014, 7:44 pm
by kriticalkase
Guys, I did a test drive on the 3.0 auto 4x2 today. I took her from the savannah to over the lady young. The first thing I noticed was reduction in power from a stand still take off as compared to a nav or a 3.2 sportero. I know these dmax are work horses but I just expected a lil more pep in the engine. Once I reach 60-80kms the drive was excellent. Over the hills the dmax pulled great. I just had to press on the accelerator a bit more. the ride was excellent. I went over some bumpy areas and this van handled it well. Engine noise in the vehicle was a lot less than I expected. I know the last model dmax was loud but this engine seem a bit more refined.
The features and overall layout is greta with the exception of the usb port which is not user friendly. The van looks great, comes in a 5 speed auto, loaded with features.
Overall apart fro the power output this is a solid vehicle. its a pity that Isuzu is such an underated brand in Trinidad. I am seriously considering getting this, my only other option is the 2.2 ranger.
Posted: May 21st, 2014, 8:06 pm
by ek4ever
The new D-MAX has received lots of praise and awards in Australia where they really use these utes to the max.
Just some other facts: - The engine in the D-MAX is a smaller version of that used in Isuzu N-Series Commercial Trucks and are designed for long life. I read somewhere they have a rating of B-10 which is 500,000 kms (minimum life for 90% of these engines). Engine uses a patented technology to fuse the cylinder liners to the block plus has special oil channels in the piston to increase cooling and reduce blow by - D-MAX platform is shared with the HUMMER H2 and built for strength - The D-MAX has the highest approach and departure angles - New D-MAX is equipped with bash plates to protect underbody - The D-MAX can carry 1 ton in the tray and simultaneously tow 3 tons ... only pickup in its class that can do that - D-MAX has under chassis grease points
The new D-MAX combines its workhorse ability with greater ride and comfort making it an extremely capably pickup. Oh yeah it also has the most fuel efficient engine 8L/100km. Owners in Australia are getting over 900kms per tank with some crossing 1000kms on a fill up.