Page 1 of 2

NEED HELP !!! hard starting

Posted: August 7th, 2013, 7:38 am
by dborde
hey guys i have a 2008 Mazda BT-50 doing jus about 108xxx km, i bought it second hand from my uncle and i started having hard starts. i changed the battery, glow plugs, fuel filter and oil filter thinking they had problems. can anyone suggest something. could it be the engine seals or something around there ?

everything is a help. thanks

Re: NEED HELP !!! hard starting

Posted: August 7th, 2013, 7:47 am
by dborde
p.s. it also burning white smoke after hard start... smells like oil. hope nothing is too bad

Posted: August 7th, 2013, 7:49 pm
by Ramirez
is your coolant level dropping also ? if it is Get the cylinder head checked,

Posted: August 8th, 2013, 10:02 am
by roti102
Check that little mesh filter on the fuel intake under the 16mm bolt. Check glow plugs. Does it start eventually and run okay?

Posted: August 8th, 2013, 11:24 am
by dborde
roti102 wrote:Check that little mesh filter on the fuel intake under the 16mm bolt. Check glow plugs. Does it start eventually and run okay?

yeah it starts up after a while and runs great. but i not seeing any mesh filter

Posted: August 8th, 2013, 2:06 pm
by roti102
16mm bolt that is very close to the fuel line going to the intake manifold. There is a fine mesh filter in there that is the last line of defense for the fuel injectors. Remove the bolt and ise a pencil rubber to remove the filter mesh.

Posted: August 9th, 2013, 10:51 am
by Paullct
domo check your oil level and that mesh strainer mentioned above, could be the fuel pump. why you doh just go by justin boy?

Posted: August 9th, 2013, 12:00 pm
by streetbeastINC.
i ran an indicator light to my glow plugs so i know how long they stay on...there is a unit under the intake anifold that controls the lenght of tie the plugs are glowing.....the indi light on the dash is jsut a safe to start indicator that shuts off after a few secodns....at times this goes bad....mech mines from the forum thougth me alot over the phone this guy is a realy good mech......try tripple heating with the ignition key to see if this eases up depress the pedal a few times before start up...

Posted: August 12th, 2013, 8:23 am
by dborde
thanks guys il check the mesh filter later and il try the tripple heating method aswell.

Posted: August 13th, 2013, 6:01 pm
by DooMRR
Here are a few signs of a cracked engine head. These are the symptoms I experienced when my engine head cracked. I replaced the entire engine head myself and now it runs normal.
•Coolant level dropping in your reservoir bottle over a week time.
•Coughing out a black sooth from the exhaust onto your floor. (This was the coolant that got into your cylinder(s) through the crack and is now being pushing through the exhaust. The sooth is from the coolant mixing with the stuff in your exhaust and coming out the end).
•Lots of white smoke being thrown out your exhaust when the engine is cold started. Note: don't rely completely on this white smoke as blown glow plugs, bad fuel injectors, dirty fuel filter(s) and dirty air filter can also cause this.
•Van stuttering on cold start.
•When there is a really big crack, it can sometimes cause the engine to stall and will take a good 5+ seconds of tumbling to start. (Stalled on me twice while it was idling even though the engine was running at normal operating temperature).

Paullct wrote:domo check your oil level and that mesh strainer mentioned above, could be the fuel pump. why you doh just go by justin boy?

Who is Justin? A diesel mechanic? I too would like to know a good diesel mechanic.

Posted: August 13th, 2013, 8:21 pm
by Paullct
^^ Mech Mines on the forum is a very knowledgeable diesel mechanic IMHO and I would highly recommend him to anyone, ESPECIALLY the mazda and ford owners.

Posted: August 13th, 2013, 11:47 pm
by streetbeastINC.
Yep mech mines a diesel god

Posted: August 13th, 2013, 11:55 pm
by streetbeastINC.
Yep mech mines a diesel god

Posted: August 14th, 2013, 7:03 am
by dborde
i put a brand new glow plugs, brand new fuel filter and cleaned out the k&n filter also brand new oil and oil filter, also when i put in gas i put a diesel treatment, so now its down to the fuel injectors.i will go get them checked because the only signs i get are....
1. white smoke on hard start
2. sometimes get a stuttering

il go by justin and see what he says.

Posted: August 14th, 2013, 7:33 am
by Paullct
i getting that same thing boy. will pass by him later. hoping its not a cracked head /:

Posted: August 16th, 2013, 8:16 pm
by streetbeastINC.
Any updates

Posted: August 16th, 2013, 11:39 pm
by roti102
See that K&N? Put eet in a bag and toss eeet! Scientifically proven to let dirt into your engine.

Posted: August 20th, 2013, 10:41 am
by dborde
doh firetruck meh up .... i would rel coas....... right now i am booked to clean my injectors out moro. if that doesnt work . im gona cry cus thats alot of money to waste :(

Posted: August 20th, 2013, 12:16 pm
by PariaMan
roti102 wrote:See that K&N? Put eet in a bag and toss eeet! Scientifically proven to let dirt into your engine.

Doh need no science.

More air flow =More Dust

Has to be not me and that sheet!

Posted: August 20th, 2013, 5:36 pm
by Paullct
K&N is not meant to be used in dusty conditions. clogged injectors can very well be due to the K&N over time

Posted: August 22nd, 2013, 8:43 pm
by streetbeastINC.
Any updTES

Posted: August 23rd, 2013, 11:48 am
by dborde
didnt get time to go clean out injectors, would have to wait to till nex week. will keep yall posted

Posted: September 3rd, 2013, 7:20 am
by dborde
UPDATE !!!! cleaned out injectors and we still hard starting some mornings, but when it does start up, she balancing off nice and running perfect.

Posted: September 3rd, 2013, 7:30 am
by ton713
Check ya plugs and see if they wet

Posted: September 3rd, 2013, 5:15 pm
by streetbeastINC.
Put back a normal air filter i had put a kn on a hilux and ended up with a world of issues ....

Posted: September 4th, 2013, 11:07 am
by dborde
il go get a mazda original later and see if that cleans it up a bit

Posted: September 11th, 2013, 7:50 am
by dborde
NEWEST UPDATE !!! soo bought a brand new filter, clean injectors, changed oil and oil filter, change fuel pump, changed spark plugs stil hard starting. but yesterday after i was changing the air filter, i notice the tubing was very slack and i was able to pull it apart with my hands . this is where the line meets the filter box. could that be causing a problem?

Posted: October 29th, 2013, 9:29 pm
by Rock Thor
Cracked Head ...

Posted: October 30th, 2013, 7:03 pm
by streetbeastINC.
Did you check too see how long the gplugs are staying activated, if it cuts out to quickly, you will get the hard starting

Posted: October 30th, 2013, 7:03 pm
by streetbeastINC.
Did you check too see how long the gplugs are staying activated, if it cuts out to quickly, you will get the hard starting