WTK: Turbo Diesel and Trinidad Weather

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Mezeker

WTK: Turbo Diesel and Trinidad Weather

Postby Mezeker » April 19th, 2013, 10:32 am

I'm looking for a Diesel Truck, under 100KMs. However, a lot of them seem to be Turbo Diesel.

Now the pops has a thing against Turbo vans because he believes that "The Turbo's take the exhaust fumes to spin the turbo and because of that it Causes the engine to heat up more. Causing the OIL to 'boil' and reduce the life of the oil" He thinks to keep the engine running well i'll have to be changing oil every month.

Is there any truth to this? What's realistic etc?

ZD30DDTi

Re: WTK: Turbo Diesel and Trinidad Weather

Postby ZD30DDTi » April 20th, 2013, 3:31 pm

Before any product leaves a factory its put through some very harsh quality assurance tests. A manufacturer would never sell an engine that boils oil. You would just change the oil every 5,000kms or whatever the manufacturer recommends.

Postby black start » April 22nd, 2013, 12:36 am

Mezeker wrote:Now the pops has a thing against Turbo vans because he believes that "The Turbo's take the exhaust fumes to spin the turbo and because of that it Causes the engine to heat up more. Causing the OIL to 'boil' and reduce the life of the oil" He thinks to keep the engine running well i'll have to be changing oil every month.

Is there any truth to this? What's realistic etc?

me'em know what to say nuh.....

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » April 22nd, 2013, 7:04 am

thanks for the input black start.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » April 22nd, 2013, 8:59 am

wat black start is tryna say is u shud do som research before asking questions like this in d first place Mazeker

anyways, there is som truth to wat ur dad is tlking bout... turbocharged engines do operate at higher temps than NA engines but since ur main concern is the oil "boiling" and thereby breaking down then u hv to understand hw the oil works
modern-day engine oil is very complex and there are more choices out there than evr, placed into 3 main categories- minerals, semi-syn blends and fully synthetics
do ur research and see which best suits ur pocket and lifestyle requirements

one thing u need to understand is oil specifications ie the specs to which the oil was tested an certified
once a vehicle manufacturer specifies a certain spec oil to be used in their engine then u shud only use tht spec or higher

then there's the oil's weight and this is where alot of debates arise... use the specified weight (eg 15w40 for most diesels) unless there seems to be a problem tht wud require a thicker viscosity such as oil leaks

changing ur oil on time is the key to keeping ur engine happy, 5,000km is pretty much standard on mineral oils wit the change interval increasing as u move towards the fully synthetic stuff
one concern with extended drain intervals is filtration- most filters are designed to be run for 5,000kms so if u cant change ur filter without disturbing the oil then i'd suggest u just stick to a mineral oil and 5,000km oil/filter change interval

oil treatments- i've used them in previous vehicles but i do not recommend them, ur oil has been engineered to work in a particular way, oil treatments change the way ur oil functions with unpredictable effects, both long and short term

so jus let the oil do its job and you won't hv anyting to worry about THE END!!

Postby black start » April 22nd, 2013, 9:48 am

Mezeker wrote:thanks for the input black start.

sorry about that. It was uncalled for on my behalf and I do apologise.

I, like you, was once a noob. Everybody was once a noob when it came to this "car scene". I only recently actually got into this thing (about 5 years) and while I'm no mechanic, I have educated myself on many topics relating to automobiles. You won't believe the things that I have learn just subscribing to online magazines, searching through tuner and by using the holy "GOOGLE". The best advice I can give you is to start to do a little reading and education yourself. It will benefit you in the long run and nobody will be able to mislead you that easily. You dad may have heard some of that from some "mango tree" mechanic and took it as truth, but I must say it is not so.

All right to address the topic at hand. There are two types of engines, Spark Ignition (SI) and Compression Ignition (CI). The SI engines are the gasoline engines as they use a spark (from spark plug) to ignite the air/fuel mixture. The CI engines doesn't use spark but rather compression in the cylinder to ignite the air/fuel mixture. These are the diesel engines. Naturally, diesel engines would therefore have a higher compression ratio so that it may ignite the air/fuel mixture.
A relatively higher compression ratio would lead to a higher operation temperature. This is one of the the reasons that diesel engines run at a higher operating temperature than a gasoline.

Now your dad is technically right about the turbo. Look at the schematic below

The turbo is attached to the exhaust manifold. In a nutshell, the exhaust gases pass through the turbine housing (on the right) and spins the turbine wheel. The turbine wheel is attached to the shaft of the turbo with is also attached to the compressor wheel inside the compressor housing. When the exhaust gasses cause the turbine wheel to spin, the compressor wheel spins as well. This causes a suction of air into the compressor housing and this pressurised air exits at the compressor outlet. From here, in a diesel, the compressed air may or may not pass through an intercooler (depending on how the system was designed) before directly going to the engine. The intercooler basically is a heat exchanger (kind of like a radiator for air) that cools the compressed air from the turbo. High intake air temperatures can lead to detonation occurring and hence the need for an intercooler in some systems. Now the intake air temperature in a turbo'd vehicle will still be a bit higher (due to heat transfer and being compressed) and as such it is expected that the operation temperature would be a bit higher than normal as well. This is another reason a diesel turbo engine would be "hotter".

The oil may have a high temperature but it doesn't really boil. There are oils that were designed specifically to operate in these conditions. These would be the oils specified by the manufacturer in the manual or one at a higher rating as said by Havoc.

Once you buy the van, just use the recommended rating oil, or equivalent or better and follow the maintenance manual all the way and you will not have a problem.

Again, i do apologise for my previous comment,
Black Start

Postby black start » April 22nd, 2013, 9:49 am

Opie, what kind of van is it BTW?

Postby Team Loco » April 22nd, 2013, 12:08 pm

sounds plausible. i have solved this problem with my van by running a water cooled system to the turbo, installed an air to water intercooler and an oil coooler. running a chinese ct20 turbo 3 yrs now and no problems

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”