Introducing Gumball, my pick up.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Introducing Gumball, my pick up.

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2013, 1:09 pm

Not my choice of name but say what:

I got fed up looking for a 4 * 4, people calling some real high prices for some old vehicles with rolled back mileage and all kinda madness done to it.
Got a good deal on a base model 4 * 2 so I took it. The base model was preferred because there is too much to go wrong with all the electronic gadgets fully loaded models have.

I dont even wind down my glasses so winders aint no big deal for me and people always banging up mirrors so manual mirrors ftw. Some fool not watching where he going hit my car mirror and drive off. It giving problems now, $500.00 for a new one. :?
Van sips fuel and I preferred the non turbo version as I am afraid of what the previous owner did and the turbos themselves are not too cheap.

As with any used vehicle you have to do your own checking to see what needs fixing / changing etc so thats what I will be doing with this one. Van in fairly good condition except for some light rusting in the tray and here and there under the van. Tray will be taken off, prepped and painted.
neckto was kind enough to relay the info on how he prepped and protected suzie from rusting again so I will do the same. Someone mentioned a kind of tar lining I can line the underside of the van with to further protect it, anyone knows what that is, where sells it or what other options I have?

Under the van was washed, 4 wheels removed at home and washed again. I am also looking around for some frontier rims and if possible tyres too so if you guys know anyone who maybe swapped theirs with big arse heavy crims and rubberband tyres and not using theirs I am willing to take it off their hands. :)

This is my personal vehicle and maybe if I have time on some weekends I may come along on some light trails with you diesel guys.

venum

Re: Introducing Gumball, my pick up.

Postby venum » March 30th, 2013, 1:36 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Got a good deal on a base model 4 * 2 so I took it.

Someone mentioned a kind of tar lining I can line the underside of the van with to further protect it, anyone knows what that is, where sells it or what other options I have?

we all start somewhere

welcome

TD27 N/A makes good power with high reliability

apply generously

caveat - does not stand up to extreme high pressure washing, it will flake out

Postby sliderz1 » March 30th, 2013, 1:48 pm

body seems fine but have that cargo box sorted out asap
gonna put the music from the 'mera in the Frontier now? :roll:

congrats on your buy

Postby black start » March 30th, 2013, 1:50 pm

van looking real nice man.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 30th, 2013, 2:47 pm

I have a spray gun and compressor, you could buy some bottles of Gravitek (about $90 each in la Romain) and you could come spray it on yourself. We did the under coating and tray on RottedV's Surflux by me.. The Gravitek gives a real nice consistent finish and about 2 bottles should do the entire tray.

Non turbo N/A is the way to go.. Will last you a lifetime and make for a better daily driver. I can't stand turbo lag, drives me nuts..

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2013, 4:49 pm

Graviteck is the same as that Bodyguard venum posted there? Which is more durable?

Can I spray it in the tray too? :D

That tray needs attention, went to check a painter today but he drunk in some corner. :roll:
Can I just pass my rust stripper, remove paint, rust and all whatever else is there, prime and apply that Graviteck or Bodyguard?

Will have to scoop up either one of those (if not both) this week.

And naw, music stays in mera. :lol: Might put a small sub behind the backseat, small amp, some door speakers and a good deck in time but not now. Thats not a priority.

venum

Postby venum » March 30th, 2013, 5:10 pm

3stagevtec wrote:I have a spray gun and compressor, you could buy some bottles of Gravitek (about $90 each in la Romain) and you could come spray it on yourself. We did the under coating and tray on RottedV's Surflux by me.. The Gravitek gives a real nice consistent finish and about 2 bottles should do the entire tray.

^^^^ Use that

it is better for underbody, cuz the stuff i posted is thick and cannot be sprayed - paint brush for that

3stagevtec wrote:Non turbo N/A is the way to go.. Will last you a lifetime and make for a better daily driver. I can't stand turbo lag, drives me nuts..

says the N/A gas powered man

boost or walk . . . N/A diesel does top out at about walking pace anyways :fist:

Postby black start » March 30th, 2013, 5:30 pm

venum wrote:boost or walk . . . N/A diesel does top out at about walking pace anyways :fist:

I drove a "recently full serviced" td27 powered 4x2, exactly like the opie (not my van) doing about 150k on the odo. Van just don't want to pass 120km/hr. Family member personal van, not no company van that govern down or anything. I mean it is adequate speed but that day I was in a lil tight spot and well the van let meh down :cry:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 30th, 2013, 5:36 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Graviteck is the same as that Bodyguard venum posted there? Which is more durable?

Can I spray it in the tray too? :D

That tray needs attention, went to check a painter today but he drunk in some corner. :roll:
Can I just pass my rust stripper, remove paint, rust and all whatever else is there, prime and apply that Graviteck or Bodyguard?

Will have to scoop up either one of those (if not both) this week.

And naw, music stays in mera. :lol: Might put a small sub behind the backseat, small amp, some door speakers and a good deck in time but not now. Thats not a priority.

I just lending you the tools, you will do the spraying! lol. Rust stripper + gravitek will be enough.

and it always starts out as a small sub , small amp etc :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 30th, 2013, 5:38 pm

venum wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:Non turbo N/A is the way to go.. Will last you a lifetime and make for a better daily driver. I can't stand turbo lag, drives me nuts..

says the N/A gas powered man

boost or walk . . . N/A diesel does top out at about walking pace anyways :fist:

Postby nervewrecker » March 30th, 2013, 5:43 pm

Well looks like I found new shoes:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=493270

Depending on where the guy located and if the back abm have $$$ I might go get them tomorrow. Tyres is something needed right about now, I can roll with the donut rims for now. Rims dont bother me.

Well, looks like the painter will have to stay drunk then. I'll holler when I get the stuff during the week and set up a date. Where in la romaine exactly sells the stuff?

120km/h is pretty good for me, I dont pass that at all. If I need boost i'll get it according to how things run. So far its been 3 days and the needle on the fuel gauge aint move 0.o....I wonder if it works?

Old age kick in long time, my bass level in the car is at -4 and i'm pretty comfortable with it. :lol:

neckto

Postby neckto » March 30th, 2013, 9:36 pm

congrats on purchase..........

gumball?? really...........

change out ur filters, oils and belts one time............have fun with (him or her)

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » March 30th, 2013, 9:58 pm

hey like you finally found one ...nice...I getting most of the parts for these engine kits pistons , clutch and pressure plates if you ever need only bring filters on request..

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2013, 11:02 am

Boy neckto, wasnt me who named her :lol: , Gumball is a cartoon character though:

Yea filterproz, I know I have you for parts :D
I start buying oil by the case though so I get filter and fuel treatment (wholesale price ftw). I dont know if it was a promotion but I have to buy a case for the van now.
You have access to a turbo and the works (in case I decide to turbo it)?

venum

Postby venum » March 31st, 2013, 12:01 pm

nervewrecker wrote:You have access to a turbo and the works (in case I decide to turbo it)?

do some searching on these forums and u will see why that is phenomenally bad idea

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2013, 12:03 pm

Better get that thought out my head then yes. I seen and heard enough nightmares with turbos.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 31st, 2013, 8:12 pm

nice. hope you have fun brah.

Postby nervewrecker » April 1st, 2013, 6:39 pm

Thanks man.

Btw, where in la romaine sells the Gravitek?

I think I will use automotive primer instead of zinc oxide yes. Any particular brand to too into and where sells that?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 2nd, 2013, 7:15 am

nervewrecker wrote:Thanks man.

Btw, where in la romaine sells the Gravitek?

I think I will use automotive primer instead of zinc oxide yes. Any particular brand to too into and where sells that?

Paint store right opposite from the old cinema.. Can't remember the name of the street, on evenings a double man does sell right in front of the cinema.

Postby nervewrecker » April 2nd, 2013, 4:25 pm

I know exactly which part now, thanks.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 6th, 2013, 12:20 am

Has anyone ever converted one of these to automatic? I'm considering purchasing one but the wife doesn't drive manual and i need a pickup for pulling moderately heavy loads in the near future. I was told the tranny from the E24 maxi is a direct boltup but its electronic. Is it worth the trouble to do this conversion?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 6th, 2013, 8:50 am

teach her to drive gears, the clutches on these soft like melted butter on a cloud.

Postby nervewrecker » April 6th, 2013, 8:53 am

Its about $15k for the transmission.

Postby sliderz1 » April 6th, 2013, 11:34 am

hindian wrote:Has anyone ever converted one of these to automatic? I'm considering purchasing one but the wife doesn't drive manual and i need a pickup for pulling moderately heavy loads in the near future. I was told the tranny from the E24 maxi is a direct boltup but its electronic. Is it worth the trouble to do this conversion?

yup, that and the old pathfinder are same. go for it

hindian

Postby hindian » April 6th, 2013, 12:19 pm

Hmm one for and one against, i guess ill try the cheaper way and get her some driving classes first and see how that works out...

Postby black start » April 6th, 2013, 5:16 pm

^to be honest, those real easy to drive. I'm sure with a little practice she'll be able to drive it.....but then if she drives it, who's going to be in the kitchen?

Postby Rooki3 » April 6th, 2013, 5:25 pm

looks great, it used to wrk on a plant or sumn? i see d spark arrester thingy nah

Postby nervewrecker » April 6th, 2013, 10:23 pm

Yes it was a company vehicle, employee discount is what also contributed to the great price.

Anyways:

Took a rust stripper to the tray and some sand paper today. Straighteners is real pressure yes, one set of run around to get it primed. :roll:

Edit:

After rust stripper, wire brush, sandpaper and a rinse down with some a 1:10 simple green to water mixture, soft paint brush to loosen the dirt and then wash down I proceeded to the straightener. He finally pull through today.

Got it primed today with some K2 epoxy primer. :D

droppa

Postby droppa » April 8th, 2013, 8:21 am

looking good man.....keep up the good work...

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » April 21st, 2013, 9:51 pm

Ahh yes. Nice van. IMO these are one of the best, low maintenance, daily driver, diesel pickups right now. Just remember that these D22 models are bouncy and to keep your speed in check - you can switch to gas shocks later on for a slightly stiffer, less bouncy ride.

My cousin has a 4x2 D21 and as a daily driver and work horse, it still running like smooth. Same for the D22.
Polish your headlights often, install some tint, the 4x4 model rims, some nice seat covers, floor mats, a set of narrow door visors and yuh good to go :D.

Keep an eye on the coolant bottle though. Inspect it often for cracks and don't rough it up cuz they are fragile.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”