Page 1 of 3
hilux 3L turbo install. project COMPLETED!
Posted: April 26th, 2005, 12:36 pm
by Team Loco
Fellas, i have a fairly new 2.8 D Hilux. How easy is it to turbo this engine? would i have to change pistons etc?
Posted: April 26th, 2005, 2:45 pm
by gizmo
no u don't jus to Toyota or sumtin or in d bamboo
Posted: April 26th, 2005, 3:23 pm
by DIESELTRINI
gizmo wrote:no u don't jus to Toyota or sumtin or in d bamboo
Junki? IS that you?
Diesel engines run very high compression so yes, you would at least need to lower compression before going to any FI. THe injection pump will also have to be changed or at least modified to accomodate additional fueling under boost.
If those engines came turbo, then you can chase down parts and swap, if not, it going to be tough, and will cost a lot of money and will probably not be reliable.
I would not attempt it if there is not a turbo equivalent to get parts from. Too much risk of breaking sheit.
Posted: April 27th, 2005, 10:09 am
by blu-rolla
gizmo wrote:
Junki? IS that you?
nah, yuh could actually understand what junki writing these days. this must be an early clone.
Posted: April 27th, 2005, 11:03 am
by RASC
blu-rolla wrote:gizmo wrote:
Junki? IS that you?
nah, yuh could actually understand what junki writing these days. this must be an early clone.
was about to ask the same thing oui
Posted: May 1st, 2005, 11:21 am
by toyoman
3.0 turbo diesel swap from sr5 or prado
Posted: August 2nd, 2007, 11:36 pm
by Team Loco
bought the turbo unit, gonna install
Posted: August 3rd, 2007, 8:58 am
by bleedingfreak
Go strong brodda

Posted: August 3rd, 2007, 9:19 am
by wagon r
ent....
Posted: August 3rd, 2007, 10:03 am
by Team Loco
Nah fellas, trying to organise an old block first, already got a head.
Posted: August 3rd, 2007, 10:06 am
by wagon r
...well atleast we pong some sense into yuh .....

Posted: August 3rd, 2007, 10:45 am
by Team Loco
Yuh feel so, if I doh get one, I turboing this one!
Posted: August 3rd, 2007, 11:10 am
by VK-Sportsman
Posted: August 3rd, 2007, 11:18 am
by Team Loco
Yup, turbo kits are available from denco diesel, safari, toms, and many more. All are excess of US$4000
Posted: October 22nd, 2007, 12:55 pm
by faskarz
Team Loco,call me re:Bush bars & sidesteps for Hilux SR5 Roger @ 680-1453
Thanx
Posted: January 10th, 2008, 10:35 pm
by Team Loco
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 9:36 am
by Stuckindmud
Boss link ther TL ,
so does that mean the project is on again?
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 10:13 am
by Team Loco
Its on like donkey kong!
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 10:31 am
by Stuckindmud
^^ kix.. lol
post up some pics of the project nah man!!
btw , whats your remommendation for the kleenoil setup?
Posted: January 14th, 2008, 10:38 am
by Team Loco
the kleenoil system has proven itself. at 20,000kms and going, oil is still clean and grey. however, the filter cartridge needs changing now, but meh supplier missing in action right now.....
pics soon of install
Posted: January 15th, 2008, 5:45 pm
by Team Loco
Day 1: start of project.
hurdles to overcome:
manifold studs seized- soek with wd40
really dumb position of A/c compressor bolts
pre-installation- the victim
the original3L diesel pump:
the donor pump off the 2LT. this pump will be scrapped for the diesel aneroid. Toyota was smart in their design. the top of the pump can come straight off and bolt on to the stock pump without a single modification. if you look carefully at the two pumps, you can see the four bolts to be remove for the swap. what is an aneroid? this is what advances the pump to supply more fuel when the turbo is in use. it is a simple vacuum system. many person simply advance the fuel screw, but this causes black smoking at low revs, and burns more fuel.
after installation engine bay pic: (will post more pics soon of the actual install)
turbo, manifold and one set of piping in.
odds and ends, after one hr of installation
All parts for this project were sourced from a 2LT 2.4 toyota diesel engine. the 3L was designed to be turboed. don't let anyone fool you. some dead give aways that toyota meant to turbo this engine are the fact that turbo manifold bolt holes are pre drilled on the head already, vacuum hose hard lines leading straight to where the turbo unit is are already there, straight swap of diesel pump aneroid onto the 3L pump. same hold true for the 2L naturally aspirated engine.
now as you can see, i didnt connect the turbo to the intake, since i am missing these parts. any help me out here will be appreciated.
tomorrow:
hook up blood (oil) to the turbo. the existing line on the turbo fell exactly on an oil vein on the block. direct bolt up.
hook up pyrometer and boost guage
source turbo timer
temporilly adjust diesel screw, pending installation on aneroid by YAV autoserv
laters
Posted: January 15th, 2008, 5:54 pm
by Stuckindmud
LUV it !!!!!
keep it commin ..
hmm i thought i saw youat the GB lights this mornin!!!
Allyuh does work fass boi!
Posted: January 15th, 2008, 5:56 pm
by Team Loco
yup, that was i.....went to llok for that missing intake hose and elbow. very elusive. aftermarket elbows are too long. the oem is specially curved for the a/c compressor back end
Posted: January 16th, 2008, 7:04 am
by wagon r
Posted: January 16th, 2008, 7:11 am
by Team Loco
Lol! Nah, will still be an sr4
Posted: January 16th, 2008, 9:31 am
by Cooper
Very, very cool. Waiting to see more pics of the install.
(I'm pretty sure you're giving wagon some ideas there)

Posted: January 16th, 2008, 9:52 am
by wagon r
....not at all, i going after a real SR5......if i cyar get one, there's a red look-a-like i want to buy....
Posted: January 16th, 2008, 10:05 am
by Team Loco
i need a pyrometer, where can i get one?
Posted: January 16th, 2008, 11:11 am
by Greypatch
nice project man yuh have some ballz to do it...
Posted: January 18th, 2008, 4:42 pm
by Team Loco
PROJECT COMPLETED! THE UTE RUNS LIKE A FRIGGING CAR. didnt turn up all the boost though, just running a humble 6.5ibs until the engine gets use to it. i felt a 50% gain in performance even with that little boost. but what really amazed me is how silent the engine is now. all i hear inside is the sound of the turbo spooling. going to install the aneroid on monday. pics later