THank you Tuner- Mech Mines- WL- professor!.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

THank you Tuner- Mech Mines- WL- professor!.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 4th, 2013, 2:03 am

Nothing was wrong with my truck after all...i created my own problem......
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on March 27th, 2013, 1:10 pm, edited 3 times in total.

lighthammer

Re: BT-50 parked up for 2 months now not starting

Postby lighthammer » March 4th, 2013, 9:30 am

musbe air lock dey bai....

prime the diesel pump a lil bit till diesel comes out
then take off the intake hose from the turbo
spray some carb cleaner in there (not too much!)

start up and let it tumble till that beeyotch roars to life...
replace intake hose
drive away happy.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 4th, 2013, 10:03 am

diesel starts with 3 main factors, heat, compression and fuel....

easiest one since it was last a driving vehicle is fuel.....

pull out the hose from the primer to the inj pump and pump the primer until the fuel flows solid and consistent on every stroke....reconnect line....

crack the injector lines, and pump primer again, until diesel can be seen leaking from them....

once they leaking a bit, tumble her over a few times.....re-tighten lines....

try heat and start.......should start with a bit of rough idle and white smoke that should clear up momentarily.....

still not starting???

well you know fuel is in order, you can see if the glow plugs are good,
first check to see if the line is getting current, connect a 12V tester to the heater lead and turn on the ignition, you should see current present for the same time as the glow lamp on the inst panel, then....to ensure the GP themselves are good or bad......

disconnect the heater lead, and heater wire to all the glow plugs....

using a 12V current, arc each GP, if its functional a small arc will be present, if u get no arc that GP is faulty......replace faulty GP and try to start again....

glow plugs can sometime "blow" just so, i changed 6 GPs before carnival, and yestermorning i get a lil hard start, mid morning it eh wah start at all, wen i actually check the gps, all 6 faulty...

dont buy JKT brand at all, is sheit......

any how if yuh do those things and still not starting it may be a more serious electronic problem or compression.......

you can try some starting fluid and see if it helps, or if you have aniother strong vehicle, can give the van a good long pull start, that should help get it back in order.........

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 4th, 2013, 9:01 pm

Thank you guys!....i ended up using a lil bit of carb spray n a lil gas in the intake.... one tumble n it started......

My question is this engne losing compression or something??

neckto

Postby neckto » March 6th, 2013, 10:03 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Thank you guys!....i ended up using a lil bit of carb spray n a lil gas in the intake.... one tumble n it started......

My question is this engne losing compression or something??

well now that u used gas, i wouldnt rule it out smh

nex time jus use a lil bop nah

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 7th, 2013, 7:13 pm

yeh got shitted out bout htat already...

not idling smoothly.....think i got other probs ...tomr will try n sort it out.....

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 11th, 2013, 2:26 pm

steups..parked up ths van running realy good.....now t starting easy back....but it smoking with a slight miss when idling,,,,all filters changed...but smoking down the place.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 11th, 2013, 2:32 pm

when hot or cold, or all the time?
probably a broken rings, get a compression test done.....

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 11th, 2013, 9:48 pm

when cold

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 14th, 2013, 4:00 pm

ok ...as i said started, it now starts easy on morning start ups 1/2 tumble....BUTTT on idle its rough and smoking up a storm--- but driving it drives great reaches 120-140 easily and still wants to go.. no over heating no smoking whilst drving.....is it the head? shoudl i pull down the head and change it??? i already changed diesel filter air filter cleaned the lil metal filter on the pump....what to do now??

Re: BT-50 got it started, now smoking at idle-

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 14th, 2013, 4:08 pm

will clogged injectors do this or should i jsut pull and change the head.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 14th, 2013, 10:53 pm

check glow plugs one or more glow plug might be bad

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 15th, 2013, 10:02 am

Not saying is the same problem but was smoking heavily on mornings with lots of blue smoke.Also rough idling.
Dropped it by toyota and they said bad diesel had caused one of the Injectors to be clogged.
It was cleaned and no more smoke and smooth idling.

I know people who had injector problems after having parked up for some time as well.

Just my 2 cents!

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 15th, 2013, 3:27 pm

i hoping is that yeh...i have no time for a rebuild ...i myt sprang it.!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 16th, 2013, 12:27 am

Sprang it this way!

venum

Postby venum » March 17th, 2013, 5:39 pm

wait, when it starts cold it smokes :?: - injector dribble :?:

when it has been running for a while >1 hr and it goes to idle does it smoke :?:

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 17th, 2013, 6:51 pm

it smokes but not as much as cold but still smoke nonetheless.....
i think its injector trouble......

can i take down and clean these njectors myself???

venum

Postby venum » March 18th, 2013, 10:14 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:it smokes but not as much as cold but still smoke nonetheless.....
i think its injector trouble......

can i take down and clean these njectors myself???

yes, but if you never have, I would take it to Sookhai's

or even if u have a good mech that knows about the WL5's

might be just 1 injector

buy OEM

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 18th, 2013, 1:40 pm

they sell injectors new????! where would i get a set and how much

bt50

Postby bt50 » March 19th, 2013, 4:55 pm

before you go into injectors, check to ensure that the stainer in the pump does not require cleaning. Also fastest way to clean out the injectors is to empty a bottle of redline 85plus into the tank when you fill up and run it.

If its the head then you will be losing water in radiator and also will be getting alot of white smoke and 3-5 second rough idle almost everytime you start up

If its the glow plugs- you will only get rough idle and some blue smoke only on cold start.

Try the above before you take down injectors.

Re: How many injector cleaners can i use for extremely dirt

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 22nd, 2013, 11:59 pm

i threw in 2 treatments thus far...

and i am thinking to throw in another...... hope to not have to remove systemm..how much driving myt this take to work?????

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 23rd, 2013, 3:48 pm

Notting cleans like transmission fluid. Not saying you should do that, but it works.

I usually run an entire bottle of amsoil in two fill ups.
If it really bad I would removed the fuel filter and fill it up with the treatment and let the van idle it out.

Some use a 5 dollars of kerosene to a full tank of diesel, that works also. Some fill the diesel in the filter and idle the van.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 24th, 2013, 5:02 pm

how exactly do u use tranny fluid..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 24th, 2013, 7:28 pm

There is a thread in here about it. People put in about half a quart into a full tank of diesel. I have never tried it, but heard some owners got good results from doing it. They had heavy black smoking problems.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 24th, 2013, 7:31 pm

my smoke is bluish white....
no over heating no coolant loss....

Re: THank you Tuner- Mech Mines- WL- professor!.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 27th, 2013, 1:13 pm

i must commend mech mines this guy is a true good person , he could have witheld info, as he is a professional all other diesel mech wanted to keep my truck this guy solved my problem in 5 mins over hte phone!........

i never forget when someone helps me out buddy!...

droppa

Postby droppa » March 27th, 2013, 2:25 pm

well what was the problem???

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 27th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Share the solution it might help someone!

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 27th, 2013, 2:48 pm

i am ashamed to say......but i messed around with a unit i wasnt suppose to....temp control unit and fuse.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » March 27th, 2013, 9:08 pm

i did work by mech mines as well. good fella and knows his stuff with the mazdas

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”