Page 1 of 4
2006 D4D 3.0 4x4 Hilux - New Injectors - HKS F-Con D??
Posted: November 5th, 2012, 6:38 pm
by Bezman
Hey fellas,
I am looking to toughen up my Hilux a bit.. Here is that I am thinking
I am looking for someone/somewhere to get a 3" exhaust made.. I'm thinking of upping the boost and chipping my 3.0 D4D, and putting a bigger exhaust seems like a good idea.... who or where can i get this made??
Re: Where to get Custom 3" Exhaust made for my Hilux
Posted: November 5th, 2012, 7:02 pm
by Rory Phoulorie
Have you tried Lifewear Muffler Centre? They (the branch in Tacarigua) advertise that they are able to mandrel bend exhaust piping. So you, in theory, should get a better quality exhaust system.
Posted: November 5th, 2012, 7:54 pm
by sweeks
Talk to mr. Loco ....aka Hilux hoe...
Posted: November 5th, 2012, 8:16 pm
by Bezman
sweeks wrote:Talk to mr. Loco ....aka Hilux whore.

cool
Posted: November 6th, 2012, 7:57 am
by Team Loco
hilux hoe, not whore;)
i did mines at Imraj brothers on cipero road in san fernando. 2 yrs ago, no issues.
Posted: November 6th, 2012, 10:25 am
by droppa
check lifewear in champs fleurs, they did some good work on the surf for me....
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=400570&hilit=lifewear+muffler
Posted: November 6th, 2012, 11:53 am
by Bezman
thanks fellas!
Anyone did a 3" on a D4D 1K 3.0 yet?
Posted: November 6th, 2012, 12:56 pm
by killersuzuki
Lifewear did mine when I had my Ranger....no issues, and the exhaust sounded sweet! Turbo spooled faster too.
Posted: November 6th, 2012, 6:07 pm
by jpec
really interested in doing this for my hilux as well... anyone mind posting up costs?
Posted: November 7th, 2012, 7:48 am
by gundelero
did this help with the performance of the vehicle?
Posted: November 7th, 2012, 12:16 pm
by jpec
^^ it would
Posted: November 7th, 2012, 1:57 pm
by Paullct
doing this by lifewear soon as well
Re: 2006 D4D 3.0 4x4 Hilux - Ideas for 3" Exhaust
Posted: November 7th, 2012, 4:02 pm
by Bezman
well I'm changing this into my project post... so far my immediate wish list is this:
Liftcraft 3" Suspension Lift Kit

XROX Tubular front Bumper

16x8 Wheels

Toyo Open Country AT2's

hoping to look something like this when done:

Posted: November 7th, 2012, 8:32 pm
by droppa
image not showing boss.....
buh i can picture it, will u bring it on a run den???
it had a nex tuner man build ah hilux and it never touch mud yunnq.....
Posted: November 7th, 2012, 9:14 pm
by jpec
man, do some research about the spacer lifts...if you have any plans on off roading it hard then at least space the bump stops the amount as the lift cuz on full droop the shocks extend way more than designed and can end up in a busted/bent shock...wayy too many horror stories on the internet about spacer lifts on IFS. also if you find wheels like that that would fit without spacers please let me know!
Posted: November 7th, 2012, 9:19 pm
by Bezman
jpec wrote:man, do some research about the spacer lifts...if you have any plans on off roading it hard then at least space the bump stops the amount as the lift cuz on full droop the shocks extend way more than designed and can end up in a busted/bent shock...wayy too many horror stories on the internet about spacer lifts on IFS. also if you find wheels like that that would fit without spacers please let me know!
yeah i am a member of newhilux.net since i got the van and have read allot about them, plan on doing the bump stop upgrade along with the ball joint spacers etc I'm not going to do any serios offroading before then.. the kit also comes with the swaybar lowering spacers and front diff lowering spacers, which also help allot.
Posted: November 7th, 2012, 9:24 pm
by Bezman
droppa wrote:image not showing boss.....
buh i can picture it, will u bring it on a run den???
it had a nex tuner man build ah hilux and it never touch mud yunnq.....
nah
not all the time as it's my daily, but i'll be sure to attend a couple
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 12:26 am
by Smeed
like the idea dude.... tires a lil bit on the weenie side. if u wanna go AT then then is only one choice - bfg at ko. absolutely best AT .... wonderful self cleaning, wonderful handling on the road. been thru a lot of muck and mud wid mine always amazes me! got stuck a few times in serious mud with side b (mostly when one of the surfs was blocking my way wid dey big bamsee and i lost momentum)... but other than that dey bess!
However, i think MT's are what u need..... looks alone warrant it. have quite a few guys running KM2's, Mthompson's and Kumho MT's on their daily's with little complaints. Off course the road noise will be a bit more.... buh who cares when u can just spontaenously run thru a pit of slush and muck without issue?
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 6:59 am
by droppa
^^well its wasnt the one with the driveway tires, cus yuh kno yuh cant catch dat one......
off road that is...........
@bezman we kno u building this to crawl into ur lil surfing holes, MTs will be a great choice, but the downsides are the road noise and decreased life span when used on tarmac for long.....
those Toyo Open Country are great tires, seen dem put down some work and was not bad at all, no matter what tire u have, you may still get stuck!!!!!!!!!!
btw i had a spacer lift kit in my surf for almost 1.5yrs and offroaded a good bit and had no problems, never broke cv, diff, axle, or suspension part, only thing i found it broke was booth rubbers, but you shudnt have that problem since yours are alot newer....
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 9:16 am
by badart
whts the price for the lift craft?
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 9:33 am
by Bezman
right now tires are my biggest delima
Who ever answers the phone at QuickServ should be fired, i actually told her that, I had to ask her if I was a manager calling to check on her customer service skills what would she do...

anyway
She says they dont have BF Goodrich KM2's in 265/16's or 275/16's and don't have AT KO's in those sizes either, anywhere in the country

... I find this incredibly hard to believe... I will try to pass there today and see for myself.
I want MT tires, If i was to find the ones I want I will get.. I am also thinking I should fit the lift Kit before fitting tires.. I am ordering the lift kit today, so hopefully here by next week sometime.
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 9:59 am
by Smeed
Bez, go into the Pt Lisas branch of Quikservice... best support u can get from any of their branches. When i got my AT (275-65-17) all the other branches said there was none in the country ..... just happened to pass in the next day and lo and behold they had 2 sets in pt lisas!!
they also had a slightly used set of KM2's that were used on a promo vehicle and looked brand new for sale....price was also good. that was a while back, but i think they might be your best bet for bess tires.
or u cud "raptor them in".... he doing tires tooooooo sure u get exactly what u really wanted. was looking at the terra grapplers in 20" when i was contemplating lifting and going all out....... doh compromise on yuh tires horse..... get what u really want!! (and forget dem tire parlours eh...selling ah set ah ole tires for premium prices!)
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 6:26 pm
by Paullct
Correct^
I've had the other popular brands of MT before and really really wanted the KM2's and although the other branches said "none in the country now" i went to point lisas and purchased my 33" KM2s on the spot.
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 8:54 pm
by droppa
but bez mite need a tour guide, he does say after the lighthouse is south.....
Posted: November 8th, 2012, 9:07 pm
by Paullct
just realised those exact tyres are in my avatar
Posted: November 9th, 2012, 9:33 am
by Bezman
droppa wrote:but bez mite need a tour guide, he does say after the lighthouse is south.....
honestly i would, i have no idea where QuickService is in Pt Lisas

a little google map would real help for when I am looking to go on sat morning
- Bez
Posted: November 9th, 2012, 10:33 am
by droppa
click the link
http://s2.tntyp.com/Trinidad/Quickservice/profilethen on 403 pacific ave and u there.....
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 7:40 pm
by Ted_v2
wont a front mount intercooler also help your situation seeing your planning on raising the boost and going with a bigger exhaust? or thats a no no with offroading?
Posted: November 12th, 2012, 7:45 pm
by AllTrac
keep us updated, want to know how ti goes as im thinking to do the same
Posted: November 20th, 2012, 7:54 pm
by Zed Sqd
As far as I know, there are no local muffler shops that do mandrel bending (open to correction...it's been a while I stopped searching). They only fabricate with mandrel bent fittings. If you are not planning to carry heavy loads, when your lift kit is installed, estimate the vertical travel of your rear diff for what you wanna do and run the pipe as "straight" as you can over the diff to the tip for better freeflow.
Btw, why go with 3" as opposed to other sizes like 2.5" or 3.5"?