Murphy temperature unit, a must for a diesel owner!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Murphy temperature unit, a must for a diesel owner!

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2012, 3:44 pm

anyone ever realise that some of the main causes of overheating is a simple blown rad hose, low oil pressure, simple rubber stoppers dry rotting etc.

at my workplace, we have had some weird reasons for engine frying. the last engine, a WL was totally toast. the driver saw the temp right up in the red, but decided he was 5 mins away from base, so he drove on. engine was toast.

since we cant even depend on the human factor, we have since installed something called murphy temperature gauges. its a simple aftermarket unit that monitors engine temperature, just like the stock unit, but the user can dial in the max temp you want you engine to ever reach. once the engine reaches that max temp, the engine shuts off and the vehicle will not start till it has cooled down. simple principle. the cost of the item is $500TT and is available at Lenny Sumadh.

since installed 2 mths ago, it has saved me another engine. a poor rad hose clip was the main culprit this time, work crew called in and said van stalled and lost all ignition. they had no idea the temp was rising. van started as usual after 10mins saved over $15,000 on another engine. its not exactly a pretty gauge, but its worth it

just thought i'd let you guys know. spending $500 can save you over $15,000 in repairs

Re: Murphy temperature unit, a must for a diesel owner!

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2012, 3:45 pm

i have set my max temp in the hilux at 95 degrees

Postby tr1ad » October 8th, 2012, 4:05 pm

hmmmmm

venum

Postby venum » October 8th, 2012, 4:14 pm

how does it prevent the restarting?

wired to what?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 8th, 2012, 4:55 pm

Do you have to remove the OEM temperature sensor

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2012, 5:51 pm

Guys. Its hooked up to the ignition. When vehicle temp is high the two needles in tje gauge make contack therefore killing the ignition. I believe the gauge itself takes about ten mins to back off.
As for the efeect on tje stock unit, both are independent of each other. What i did was make a simple T off the heater unit hose. Easiest way. Will post pics.

Funny enough abt half hr ago i inadvertantly tested the unit. I sent my van to remove an old cellphone system. Apparantly the electrician busted the wire to the secondary fan. On my way home i just lost power, realised mr murphy had kicked in. Had to wait an entire 10 minsbefore i gpt ignition again.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 8th, 2012, 5:53 pm

Have had these installed on ALL of our Maxis for the past 8 years or so and have saved DOZENS of engines in so doing! There are also Oil pressure and Oil level versions as well available. Good product.

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Nice to see its been tried and tested

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 8th, 2012, 11:51 pm

Defiantly added to my *need to get* list, personally I love the anolog look :)

Postby 3stagevtec » October 9th, 2012, 12:05 am

We use the industrial Murphy gauges at work in severe operating conditions and they hold out fine. I never even knew they build for domestic / automotive use also..

This would be a very simple and effective way to save engines!

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 9th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Yup.....the only thing it lacks is Illumination [unless it's been improved since].
Where the probe is mounted proves just as important as once the water level drops there is no accurate reading :idea:
Ours are wired to 5-pin relays which de-activate the pump solenoid and activate the buzzer or a light on the dash :wink:

Postby Team Loco » October 9th, 2012, 4:13 pm

never thought of hooking it up to the buzzer. makes sense. they have not improved it. still lacks illumination. but that can be easily fixed

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 9th, 2012, 5:11 pm

spending $500 can save you over $15,000 in repairs

Postby Team Loco » October 10th, 2012, 6:58 am

I know eh lol

Postby wagon r » October 10th, 2012, 9:05 am

nice info.

Postby black start » October 10th, 2012, 11:26 am

real cool device....

droppa

Postby droppa » October 11th, 2012, 8:48 am

very good device here, i would get one if i didnt already have and external temperature gauge, which has a variable fan controller setup with a warning parameter......

almost every diesel owner i meet i tell them get an aftermarket external gauge,

this Murphy gauge is killing two birds..

downside is not being able to restart, never know when yuh could be in a wrong place....

scenario:
"midday hot sun on cipero st in ur 2.5 auto nav, it over heats and stalls in the middle of the busy bumper to bumper traffic laden street"

fix:
hook it up to a 3-way switch, so there can still be manual override........

Postby Team Loco » October 11th, 2012, 8:52 am

two days ago when it shut me down, i was contemplating just breaking the glass and shifting the needle to break the contact

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 11th, 2012, 11:49 am

no no no.....you know the needle is adjustable right?
Just keep the key handy for emergencies :idea:

Postby Team Loco » October 11th, 2012, 1:39 pm

bigchief3679 wrote:no no no.....you know the needle is adjustable right?
Just keep the key handy for emergencies :idea:

i know this, but didnt have the key :(

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » October 12th, 2012, 10:12 am

droppa wrote:very good device here, i would get one if i didnt already have and external temperature gauge, which has a variable fan controller setup with a warning parameter......

almost every diesel owner i meet i tell them get an aftermarket external gauge,

this Murphy gauge is killing two birds..

downside is not being able to restart, never know when yuh could be in a wrong place....

scenario:
"midday hot sun on cipero st in ur 2.5 auto nav, it over heats and stalls in the middle of the busy bumper to bumper traffic laden street"

fix:
hook it up to a 3-way switch, so there can still be manual override........

what external temperature gauge do you have installed?

droppa

Postby droppa » October 12th, 2012, 11:59 am

this....

its a has water temp, oil temp, voltmeter and variable fan controller.....

i had a small aux fan fitted infront the condenser and was set to 80degC, the thermo starts to open at 76degC and is fully open at 82degC, so by the time its open extra air was coming tru, mostly used to work when i run down the highway and come in town in the traffic.........

anyone who has an external temp gauge may be able to attest to this....from my findings,

i noted that the engine temps may change and there are no significant variations in the dash board temp reading, if any maybe too late......

this is a problem with the surf, but i also found it to be true on other diesel pick ups.....

neckto

Postby neckto » October 13th, 2012, 9:53 pm

noice!!!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 29th, 2013, 11:07 am

This is a really good device. Bringing back this old thread just to give some prices:

$525 for the 4ft length chord
$560 for the 5ft length chord

@Lenny Sumadh

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 29th, 2013, 4:46 pm

^^ did you hook it up in ur van? can you provide a sketch of how it is wired?

Postby 3stagevtec » March 29th, 2013, 4:56 pm

He didn't buy it as yet, will post details when he does..

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » June 12th, 2013, 12:06 am

trinibajan34 wrote:^^ did you hook it up in ur van? can you provide a sketch of how it is wired?

Sorry for the late reply. Here is a diagram on how to wire up the Murphy gauge to turn off the vehicle if it is overheating.

What you will need:
-Some thin wire.
-A simply switch.
-Murphy gauge (of course).
-5 pin relay.
-Light (optional).

The Murphy gauge works just like a normal switch. Nothing fancy. When the temperature needle move up as the temperature rises, it eventually reaches the second pin (which you can set to whatever temperature you want), thus closing the switch.

How the circuit works:
The "Murphy Gauge Kill Switch" should always be set in the open position (i.e. off position). On normal engine operating conditions, the current from the "Ignition Wire" will flow through the normally closed section of the relay to the "Ignition/Starter".
However, if the vehicle should overheat and reach the set temperature on the Murphy Gauge, current from the battery will flow through the gauge into the relay activating it. This will cause the relay to stop sending current to the "Ignition/Starter" thus turning off the engine. If desired, a small LED can be added to turn on to indicate the engine is overheating.
The reason for the "Murphy Gauge Kill Switch" is in case of an emergency and you desperately need the engine to start even though it is overheating, the switch can be turned on allowing the engine to start.

If you just want a light to turn on when the engine reaches a certain temperature, simply run a wire from the battery positive to the wire coming out of the Murphy Gauge. Then, a next wire from the body of the gauge (negative) to the positive lead on the LED. Then a 3rd wire from the negative lead on the LED to ground.

At the moment, I just have it wired up to an LED light. Sometime weekend I will wire it up to my ignition. Will post a picture when I am done.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » June 12th, 2013, 7:23 am

This is why I want you to install mine....Great job and write up.....Compliment with pics of your install or when you install it on mine....This should be a sticky......

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » June 12th, 2013, 7:33 am

Part of the diagram is a bit incorrect, well at least for my Murphy Switchgauge.
The body as well as the probe when bolted to the engine actually grounds the entire thing including the needle, only one wire exits the rear of the gauge and is a switched ground(connected to the needle stopper) for the 5-pin relay.
The polarity of the lower part of the diagram needs to be switched around :idea:

Postby Team Loco » June 12th, 2013, 8:09 am

really wish they made these with a background light.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”