Page 1 of 9
droppa's SWB Rambo Patrol "EOI/FS"
Posted: August 9th, 2012, 3:39 pm
by droppa
time for a new project, well with an old van, allyuh know me eh no fan of the paper fender era, i like ole iron, thing where yuh must buy panadol by the case!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
right, so i recently bought a short wheel base (SWB) Nissan Patrol, now i like mih toyota bad ehh, but i like to try different menus to, cant eat the same thing everyday....
its a 1983 Nissan Patrol with a SD33 inline 6-cylinder diesel engine, has a 4-fwd 4wd gearbox and is solid axled and leaf sprung front and back.....which is one of my main reasons for buying this van, and its legally registered for 8 including the driver, cud wukk taxi in paramin boi!!!!
when i got her, it was starting and driving, but had a severe pull to the right, upon inspection i realised the right side rotor disc was cracked and the bearings were bad, so this was the first task at hand.........
i journeyed down to san francique by a guy called electric where i got a used rotor in good condition, then went up by roach in puna and got both bearings and the seal, then i changed out the rotor disc, races and bearings, with mounted back up with new disc pads, bled brakes and was time to try the 4wd........how yuh mean, yuh go buy van and eh know how it wukkin!!!!!!!!!!!
pics time...
what it looks like

what i wish it looked like

the culprits, bearings, seal and rotor disc...........

the replacements...

the front end jacked up to work on the brakes......

clean shaft!!!!!!!!

and as i said we had to go try the 4wd, make sure it working properly.......

Re: droppa's SWB Patrol
Posted: August 10th, 2012, 12:00 am
by droppa
i am going to turn this into one fun ride eh, lots of plans inside already......
Posted: August 10th, 2012, 9:19 am
by lighthammer
Surfpatrol!!
Welcome to the Nissan brotherhood!
The Nissan yakuza welcome u....
Looking good dey, lots of potential for a monster to emerge!!
Posted: August 10th, 2012, 12:27 pm
by droppa
my aim is to be fully functional and running with 35s by the 26th!!!!!!!
Posted: August 10th, 2012, 1:11 pm
by lighthammer
So if we have Godzilla.... What we calling this one? King Kong??
Posted: August 10th, 2012, 4:55 pm
by droppa
Sasquatch!!!!!!!!
"true bush master"
Posted: August 10th, 2012, 9:40 pm
by sweeks
Sweet ....
"paper fender era" lol
Posted: August 11th, 2012, 11:52 am
by sliderz1
inside
droppa wrote:solid axled and leaf sprung front and back.....

i tell yuh TD42 with a straight pipe exhaust inna timin eh
Posted: August 11th, 2012, 5:50 pm
by droppa
@ sliderz, for sure man, if the patrol stays, it will get TD42TDi, dat is a powerhouse!!!!!!
so stage 1 on my lift series has started, i sent the springs to retension and got them back looking very curvy, clean and painted them too, will post those pics, tomoro im going to help the machinist make the bushings, still looking for the correct king bolts!!!!
Posted: August 11th, 2012, 6:39 pm
by biggy82
droppa, you have real free time on your hands boy.....de wife must be very understanding....
GL with project brother
Posted: August 12th, 2012, 12:43 am
by droppa
lol, yeah boi, i do have to much free time, well for now eh.........
when i got back the springs i gave them a good clean down and wire brushed them out....

they look more nice and curvy now, before they looked kinda flatish, hope the end result is favorable.....

after cleaning them i applied some red oxide primer......

then was time for paint, so i mixed up some red and white chinese laquer i had sitting there......

end up with this rel bad panty pink colour......

i said nah boi, dat cant work, even my nephew was laffin his ass of, he say nice color for the mud man...

so i end up just using the straight red on it.....

still wanted a brighter red colour, but thats gonna have to work for now.....
have to clean the U-bolts, plates, hackles, and free up the grease-able pins, and then paint them too....
Posted: August 12th, 2012, 6:20 pm
by Mr. Go Slow
subscribed
Posted: August 12th, 2012, 9:21 pm
by lighthammer
dhal and rice looking good....
Posted: August 12th, 2012, 10:31 pm
by rx80
Beast in the making!!!
Posted: August 12th, 2012, 10:47 pm
by lighthammer
de bulldog being built!
Posted: August 12th, 2012, 11:37 pm
by neckto
what type of spring are those?
how did your go about re tensioning and increasing curvature?
Posted: August 13th, 2012, 8:53 am
by rottedv
D man building another beast....Side B will B full of them just now...
He had them pressed....
Posted: August 13th, 2012, 10:14 am
by ronsin1
biggy82 wrote:droppa, you have real free time on your hands boy.....de wife must be very understanding....
GL with project brother
ENT I really wish I had the time to invest in a project like this
Posted: August 13th, 2012, 11:21 am
by droppa
@ neckto, i wasnt there when they were being done, but as much as i was told they were cold pressed on hydraulic bender, they took a good shape and over tensioning them cud lead to them breaking or making the ride even harsher........
right now were working on the bushings, the fron ones are done, will post pics of them soon, if tanty kamla didnt call a holiday today i wudve gone and get my king bolts, tomoro for dat now, i have to finish up this soon, van park up tooo long!!!!!!
Posted: August 13th, 2012, 11:59 am
by speedaholic
subscribed!

Posted: August 13th, 2012, 4:26 pm
by venum
subscribed
Posted: August 13th, 2012, 5:23 pm
by Paullct
subscribed
Posted: August 14th, 2012, 12:42 am
by droppa
btw any of u guy driving around and thing and see any troll park up and they selling stuff, link up a brother eh......
Posted: August 16th, 2012, 4:13 pm
by droppa
so made a couple of to and fros, getting measurements and what not and laising with the machinist to see what best works.....i bought some king bolts. but 3/8s were too small and 1/2" was too big and i cudnt get 7/16 which was the correct size of the bore in the spring centre, so i bought some 7/16s bolts and had my boy turn off the heads so they would fit into the diffs......

also i bought some 5/8s bolts for the rear shackles, as the current ones are a bit rusty, and odd sized, so these bolts with the uhm bushings and we good to go!!!

here is one of the front bundle done assembled and ready to mount up, both bushings done inside...

uhmakateflonakaplastic in the rear of the spring

full steel bushing in front of spring, thats how it is original, it also has greasables in front

these are the tyres im hoping to run....

not the rims tho, those are zuki rims, 15X10s...

unfortunately its not the same four, its a pair of bfg AT and a pair of cooper STT, but that will work for now, most important they all the same size....
also have these for sale....$2000,nego.....

then was problems again, the rear springs are thicker, and i bought all the king bolts the same size, so i will have to buy two more and get them turned...

ah lil bit again and that would have been perfect, stupes................
so the front went up. but didnt finishe up, U-bolts to go up still.......

while we down, i changed out a static, so it starting better now....

also throw in a new 17plate diesel power battery.....

mih lil helper, he hadda learn the work from young!!!!!

Posted: August 16th, 2012, 5:27 pm
by Ted_v2
Love these type of projects
Posted: August 16th, 2012, 11:29 pm
by sliderz1
manual running hubs or auto?
Posted: August 17th, 2012, 12:16 am
by droppa
its has auto hubs now, i saw some manual on a van but they guy didnt want to sell them, no sweat with that, that will get dealt with in ah timing!!!
Posted: August 17th, 2012, 8:07 am
by neckto
so increasing the curvature wouldn't decrease the mounting distance of the spring to the chassis? did you have to move the mounting point on the chassis to accommodate?
Posted: August 17th, 2012, 12:51 pm
by droppa
well it did make it a bit harder to mount cause the springs are a bit shorter now, hopefully that wont cause the shackles to invert.......did not move the mounting points, still the stock, but i have a mod for that coming up soon.....
Posted: August 17th, 2012, 1:27 pm
by neckto
OK cause if u looking at for the increased curvature to allow higher ride height as well, remounting in the stock positions might want to force the springs to flatten back out a bit.
cant wait to see that mod bro