Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
neckto

Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby neckto » August 4th, 2012, 3:28 pm

isuzu 2002 model 4 X 2 TBN Series

it's a fixer upper project so i will be looking for plenty parts so if any of you can point me in the direction of parts places and or foreign used parts dealers who carry parts for isuzu or all pickups i will be very great full

hope i remember to take pics along the way to maybe show the project in it's phases
took some already

thanks all

Paullct

Re: Bought a Pickup Finally

Postby Paullct » August 4th, 2012, 3:30 pm

congrats man and best of luck with everything

neckto

Postby neckto » August 4th, 2012, 3:34 pm

Thanks Bro

gonna need it - kinda gotten more problems than I bargained that's why its now a "project" but I'm going to bring it back like new no matter how long it takes

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 4th, 2012, 4:22 pm

Throw up some pics dude!

Congrats on ur purchase.
What's ur long term goal for the truck though?
Daily driver?
Workhorse?
Show truck?

neckto

Postby neckto » August 4th, 2012, 7:13 pm

yes i will soon, only got it yest and was busy scrapping it out all morning to assess the work to be done.

what ive found so far, some ppl really "bad treat" vehicles jed

goal for this truck is daily driver/ part time work untill i decide to sell it

Postby sliderz1 » August 4th, 2012, 7:38 pm

does fixer upper = build thread? :mrgreen:

Hope you're satisfied with your buy!

as far as parts go..... contact Filterproz, seems he can source it once req'd

neckto

Postby neckto » August 4th, 2012, 7:47 pm

yea sliderz some REbuilding to do..........from the chassis come straight back.

Engine locked up, so dropping the whole drive train and will work on it outside of the body

parts list going to be very long sigh..........started liaising with filterproz already thanks for the heads up

if u looking for a SURFLUX kinda build then no lol, but its gonna be very interesting and challenging esp since this is my first pick-up n first diesel i have alot of research n learning to do

neckto

Postby neckto » August 5th, 2012, 5:15 pm

ok so here are pics from where i saw it by the person for sale

neckto

Postby neckto » August 5th, 2012, 5:17 pm

was looking like a diamond in the rough, couldnt get the mechanic or the straightner to go when i had the time so decide to take a chance.....crazy? stuipd? brave?.......we'll see!!

jblCROWN

Postby jblCROWN » August 5th, 2012, 5:22 pm

u have rell work to do hoss george down by nagar road hav rell parts for this pickup will try ti get contact no. for u d man have everything

neckto

Postby neckto » August 5th, 2012, 5:32 pm

DAY 2 Brought it home (sorry no wrecker pics i forgot lol)

clearing out the unmounted parts from the cabin n tray

clean out all the garbage and start assessing the work to be done closer

neckto

Postby neckto » August 5th, 2012, 7:10 pm

Day 3 Scrap out Sunday

Taking out engine to see why it “lock up”

And the winner is: bearing mashup in gearbox

Slider bearing mashup, damage shaft, fork and flywheel, clutch also done

We should take the rope n hang the last owner/s ent?

[img]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/5f/20120805174910-IMG00507-20120805-0913.j

Sigh…….ok time to bring the engine back to earth

Ok lets see how the bay looking……

PS it only looking clean cause I power washed engine/bay on day one

Fuel Tank out……..to be emptied, cleaned and placed back at later date

Drive shaft out and oh my………..

Carpet out

Tray off

Daddy “Geezanages These ppl is real criminal boy”

So it break and u jus weld it bk up all how……..tell me more about how you’re an automotive engineer!!!

Muffler work too?.............................ok

The Wrong Springs and one shock in the back………bess!!!!!

Well the tray might be better

Mind firetruck?

Hmmm should I be hopeful about the cab then?

Well not soo bad after all

WHAT A BUSY DAY!!!!

The crime scene

WTB – 1 muffler bearing………should be cheap ent? Plenty of those on tuner lol

Body Shots

Tool n equipment that going to come out of retirement

Final for the day, remove front bumper and assess the front

WHEW uploading pics is more work than the van!!! lol

neckto

Postby neckto » August 5th, 2012, 7:15 pm

thanks man i look forward to the info.........trust that

jblCROWN wrote:u have rell work to do hoss george down by nagar road hav rell parts for this pickup will try ti get contact no. for u d man have everything

Postby sliderz1 » August 5th, 2012, 8:40 pm

We should take the rope n hang the last owner/s ent?

X2 do eeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!! :lol: :lol:

got some work on your hands there brah
that chassis among other things is concerning :|

neckto

Postby neckto » August 5th, 2012, 8:57 pm

ent!!!

that one is beyond my DIY skillset.......have to bring in the experts for that one

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 6th, 2012, 8:35 am

makes me wonder WTF they were doing with that van

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 6th, 2012, 12:20 pm

ummm ... hoss i admire your cajones at taking on this ... but how much are you into this for? Possibly worth it to cut losses at start with another donor vehicle with a solid chassis at the least?

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » August 6th, 2012, 2:47 pm

hey buddy sent request to thailand isuzu already looks like i should add a clutch and pressure plate and seals one time...

will let you know as much info diagrams i can get to help you out.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » August 6th, 2012, 3:29 pm

oh
my
god

neckto

Postby neckto » August 6th, 2012, 5:41 pm

filter Proz

Thanks, i'm waiting patiently for your quotes.......need those asap

Flex Plate
clutch plate
Slider bearing
Gear shaft cover (that the slider bearing slides on)
Drive Shaft Centre bearing
Rear Lift Springs
Shocks (pair of front and back) quote each pair seperately
Hand Brake Cables
ALL Belts
Front Grille

ANYBODY WANNA QUOTE PLEASE FEEL FREE

on the above or anything else i listed which i will need soon enough list is just the priority right now

Go Slow...the thought crossed my mind but for various reasons im in too deep to back out so will see it through

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 6th, 2012, 6:13 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:ummm ... hoss i admire your cajones at taking on this ... but how much are you into this for? Possibly worth it to cut losses at start with another donor vehicle with a solid chassis at the least?

this :!: as is right now, this looking like a take a corner and get over taken by my tray setup :lol:
This thread should be interesting though; I look forward to your updates OP, particularly with the chassis work :)
Good luck man 8-)

neckto

Postby neckto » August 6th, 2012, 7:46 pm

trying to get the cab off right now........this week kinda screwed up work-wise, when i'm home my dad at work n vise versa, hope to get it off and start the chassis work this week tho, also want try to start the engine on the ground to see if/how it runs

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 7th, 2012, 9:18 pm

B best of luck with you and that project ,i watch them pics and felt sick.

neckto

Postby neckto » August 8th, 2012, 7:42 pm

UPDATE

opened crank case to check engine

everything looked ok cleaned, mounted back up and attempted to start on ground.

After a couple tumbles, she started and was purring beautifully, minimal smoke, good strong rev n idle, no signs of back pressuring, good compression

wouldv really preffered to do a full engine overhaul since it already out but since everything else eating up budget we decide to put her in and let her run till later on

now just to get the Gearbox Parts............FilterProz!!!!! ah waiting...........

Postby sliderz1 » August 8th, 2012, 8:20 pm

good, once less thing to put out money for

neckto

Postby neckto » August 8th, 2012, 8:21 pm

Ent boy

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 9th, 2012, 1:18 am

gotta love a good diesel engine, eh? :)

neckto

Postby neckto » August 9th, 2012, 2:52 pm

^^^^
For Realz
now to flush out the cheap NP oil i used to just start it n replace with some good stuff
was thinking to go synthetic but after reading the oil thread I think mineral or semi syn would be better for the older direct injection engines

thinking bout Shell Rimula R4 semisynth

thoughts anyone?

droppa

Postby droppa » August 9th, 2012, 3:53 pm

hoss, yuh have real work cut out for yuh, but u and daddy looks like u got some tools and cud handle it, one of the problem with trades men today are they jus look for change parts, and rather not actually repair of fix something prperly....

my advise, is look around and ask around, van looks like it was a fish van, so the salt lick up the chassis, and den he carry it by he padna bobol, and they wrap a roll on and buy a half, and wen bad head take dem then they fix van...........

yuh start good, scrap out, clean up and come back up bit by bit, dont bite off more than u can chew, any isuszu man yuh see flag dem down and nicely question them where have parts, (it worked for me, i see a man washing his patrol half nine in the night and reversed and talk to him, he link me wit a fell in south and i get what i wanted)

jus take yuh time and pace yuhself padna.......

neckto

Postby neckto » August 9th, 2012, 4:00 pm

yea droppa thanks. that's the best way to go about it and i 2nd your comment about tradesman today, they only know about charging money n not doing the work properly so i will take my time and get it done the way i want it

anyways, not too much progres today, did some pressure washing of tray and bed liner to see how much work it really needs, also began taking off the cab, this posing to be a bigger challenge than expected cause of the height needed to clear the chassis, will post more of that tomm, didnt have time for much pics today it was just pace pace pace then rush to work

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”