Quick Diesel Ques?
Posted: July 15th, 2012, 3:33 pm
by medalist
I would like to know:
1) Is it safe to full diesel while vehicle is idling (Common Rail Diesel engine)?
2) How to prevent the diesel from frothing/foaming up when fulling?
Thanks
Re: Quick Diesel Ques?
Posted: July 15th, 2012, 10:03 pm
by roti102
Ammmmmm I think it is safe to fill your tank while idling. I have a turbo timer and am filling while it counts down all the time.
There is nothing to prevent diesel from frothing really. Jsut slow the flow when it is getting close to the top.
Posted: July 16th, 2012, 10:11 am
by kual
roti102 wrote:Ammmmmm I think it is safe to fill your tank while idling. I have a turbo timer and am filling while it counts down all the time.
There is nothing to prevent diesel from frothing really. Jsut slow the flow when it is getting close to the top.
x2...........
Posted: July 17th, 2012, 10:44 am
by medalist
ok thanks
Posted: July 17th, 2012, 8:41 pm
by droppa
some say that wen the pump clicks off is where u shud stop filling fuel, so that there is space in the tank for expansion....
i find dat is utter crap
i does let it click off, slow it down wen comin to full and then rock the daylight out of it to fit the most diesel i can into there.....
Posted: July 17th, 2012, 9:28 pm
by civic minded
I like to fullup in rahamats in south( cross crossing) - you take the outside pump and park at a almost 30 degree angle , so when you fillup it gives me an additional $10 worth of space. Someone told me that shaking the van to get more space in the tank isnt a good idea
Posted: July 18th, 2012, 10:48 am
by sliderz1
heard that so much times its not funny.....that rocking damages the linkages on the float blah blah blah
@least the Navara's tank and spout is made better than the Frontier's
rock the hell out of it...once you're not holding back patrons

Posted: July 18th, 2012, 12:40 pm
by trinibajan34
sliderz1 wrote:heard that so much times its not funny.....that rocking damages the linkages on the float blah blah blah
@least the Navara's tank and spout is made better than the Frontier's
rock the hell out of it...once you're not holding back patrons

^^^ guilty as well
Posted: July 23rd, 2012, 3:43 am
by lighthammer
U should still switch off, there's other vehicles filling up around u, wouldn't want stray fumes hitting a live, hot manifold or exhaust pipe.
I don't believe in rocking a vehicle to get the foam to die down. I prefer to take a fine straw into my kouth, place my face very close to the fuel spout and gently blow on the foam to get it to die down faster. Hey it works for diet coke, it should work for diesel too, am-i-right-or-what-lol-ent???
The foam dissipation isn't affected by mechanical agitation. The only result I got from rocking my truck is annoying my wife sitting inside it. She opened the front passenger door, stuck her head out and yelled at me to "stop that stupidness one time eh, yuh making me sick"..... Yeah

So fellas, don't rock the boat. Think of your women and children!
Posted: July 23rd, 2012, 8:09 am
by civic minded
when i rock the van - somehow the fuel get less in the tank, when you think about it rocking the van cannot damage anything cause while in operation the van move about much more so that statement cannot be justified.
Posted: July 23rd, 2012, 11:50 am
by speedaholic
^^ exactly! i does rock the daylight outta my van and does get 2 squeeze een a extra $5 in diesel! goes a long way!
Posted: July 24th, 2012, 12:31 am
by lighthammer
*drives into piarco gas station, sees dude humping pickup and yelling "ah getting more to squeeze in dey bai!!"....*....
*drives the fack out!*
Posted: July 27th, 2012, 7:28 am
by liquimolytt
it is safer to switch off
Posted: July 27th, 2012, 11:49 pm
by lighthammer
yeah switch off - your hot exhaust system could potentially catch some gas fumes and cause a fire (not to mention hot soot from teh tailpipe).
Not saying this will defintely happen, there's a very low chance of it ever happening... but i'm not one who wants to try my luck.
Posted: July 28th, 2012, 9:44 am
by venum
ppl switch off at teh pumps for safety
that is teh station's rules
forget about the foam and damage to your sensor etc
safety first and only
Posted: July 30th, 2012, 11:25 am
by lighthammer
i sometimes find it difficult to fill the diesel while I'm physically on fire due to ignition of gasoline fumes - that's why i decided to start switching off my vehicle while filling. It just makes more sense and is more efficient to fill up while you're not actually on fire, sometimes the burning sensation on my skin hampers my ability to adequately press the pump handle.
Posted: July 30th, 2012, 1:26 pm
by sliderz1
sounds depressing