Quick Diesel Ques?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
medalist

Quick Diesel Ques?

Postby medalist » July 15th, 2012, 3:33 pm

I would like to know:

1) Is it safe to full diesel while vehicle is idling (Common Rail Diesel engine)?

2) How to prevent the diesel from frothing/foaming up when fulling?

Thanks

roti102

Re: Quick Diesel Ques?

Postby roti102 » July 15th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Ammmmmm I think it is safe to fill your tank while idling. I have a turbo timer and am filling while it counts down all the time.

There is nothing to prevent diesel from frothing really. Jsut slow the flow when it is getting close to the top.

kual

Postby kual » July 16th, 2012, 10:11 am

roti102 wrote:Ammmmmm I think it is safe to fill your tank while idling. I have a turbo timer and am filling while it counts down all the time.

There is nothing to prevent diesel from frothing really. Jsut slow the flow when it is getting close to the top.

x2...........

medalist

Postby medalist » July 17th, 2012, 10:44 am

ok thanks

droppa

Postby droppa » July 17th, 2012, 8:41 pm

some say that wen the pump clicks off is where u shud stop filling fuel, so that there is space in the tank for expansion....

i find dat is utter crap

i does let it click off, slow it down wen comin to full and then rock the daylight out of it to fit the most diesel i can into there.....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 17th, 2012, 9:28 pm

I like to fullup in rahamats in south( cross crossing) - you take the outside pump and park at a almost 30 degree angle , so when you fillup it gives me an additional $10 worth of space. Someone told me that shaking the van to get more space in the tank isnt a good idea

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2012, 10:48 am

heard that so much times its not funny.....that rocking damages the linkages on the float blah blah blah
@least the Navara's tank and spout is made better than the Frontier's

rock the hell out of it...once you're not holding back patrons :|

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 18th, 2012, 12:40 pm

sliderz1 wrote:heard that so much times its not funny.....that rocking damages the linkages on the float blah blah blah
@least the Navara's tank and spout is made better than the Frontier's

rock the hell out of it...once you're not holding back patrons :|

^^^ guilty as well

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 23rd, 2012, 3:43 am

U should still switch off, there's other vehicles filling up around u, wouldn't want stray fumes hitting a live, hot manifold or exhaust pipe.

I don't believe in rocking a vehicle to get the foam to die down. I prefer to take a fine straw into my kouth, place my face very close to the fuel spout and gently blow on the foam to get it to die down faster. Hey it works for diet coke, it should work for diesel too, am-i-right-or-what-lol-ent???

The foam dissipation isn't affected by mechanical agitation. The only result I got from rocking my truck is annoying my wife sitting inside it. She opened the front passenger door, stuck her head out and yelled at me to "stop that stupidness one time eh, yuh making me sick"..... Yeah :(.

So fellas, don't rock the boat. Think of your women and children!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 23rd, 2012, 8:09 am

when i rock the van - somehow the fuel get less in the tank, when you think about it rocking the van cannot damage anything cause while in operation the van move about much more so that statement cannot be justified.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 23rd, 2012, 11:50 am

^^ exactly! i does rock the daylight outta my van and does get 2 squeeze een a extra $5 in diesel! goes a long way!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 24th, 2012, 12:31 am

*drives into piarco gas station, sees dude humping pickup and yelling "ah getting more to squeeze in dey bai!!"....*....

*drives the fack out!*

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » July 27th, 2012, 7:28 am

it is safer to switch off

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 27th, 2012, 11:49 pm

yeah switch off - your hot exhaust system could potentially catch some gas fumes and cause a fire (not to mention hot soot from teh tailpipe).

Not saying this will defintely happen, there's a very low chance of it ever happening... but i'm not one who wants to try my luck.

venum

Postby venum » July 28th, 2012, 9:44 am

ppl switch off at teh pumps for safety

that is teh station's rules

forget about the foam and damage to your sensor etc

safety first and only

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 30th, 2012, 11:25 am

i sometimes find it difficult to fill the diesel while I'm physically on fire due to ignition of gasoline fumes - that's why i decided to start switching off my vehicle while filling. It just makes more sense and is more efficient to fill up while you're not actually on fire, sometimes the burning sensation on my skin hampers my ability to adequately press the pump handle.

Postby sliderz1 » July 30th, 2012, 1:26 pm

sounds depressing

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”