nissan YD25DDTi D22 frontier engine problems *help needed*

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

nissan YD25DDTi D22 frontier engine problems *help needed*

Postby black start » February 18th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Good day. A friend of mine is having a problem with her Nissan D22 Frontier. Its the 4x2 model equipped with the YD25 DDTi and gearbox (pic of model below
but the 2.5 has the scoop on the bonnet over the IC). I have driven the van and basically from my experience, the van bucks or stutters when accelerating and causes a jerking motion. She is trying to find a prominent mechanic or service station that can check out the vehicle and give her an accurate quote and not overly expensive as she is a student. Any positive remarks or referrals will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Last edited by black start on February 25th, 2012, 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Re: nissan YD25DDTi D22 frontier engine problems *help need

Postby lighthammer » February 19th, 2012, 12:22 am

374-9339.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 19th, 2012, 3:13 am

when was the last general tune-up? check air filter and fuel filter

Postby Ted_v2 » February 20th, 2012, 9:09 am

my mechanic could handle it

canada qualified and 20+ years experience in diesel repairs

Postby black start » February 20th, 2012, 11:44 am

lighthammer, thanks. I will give the person a call.

Biggy82, the history of the vehicle is unknown to me.

sound boy 64, any info on your mechanic, his location, contact info etc.

Also, any reviews on Jerry's Auto and Sookhai's diesel?

Thanks for all the help so far. It is very much appreciated.
Last edited by black start on February 25th, 2012, 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 20th, 2012, 5:30 pm

my mechanic is my dad! lol

contact me @ 303 2470 and ill put u on to him

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 21st, 2012, 1:00 am

service the diesel pump...

Postby Ted_v2 » February 21st, 2012, 6:41 am

Umm

check the pump as he said
Clean injectors
trottle body?

poor fuel? witth lots of water?

Postby black start » February 22nd, 2012, 7:18 pm

Thanks again for the help so far.....still in the process of scouting places to get this done.....

Postby sliderz1 » February 22nd, 2012, 8:31 pm

diesels dont have throttle body

i'll start with that pump strainer, then to pump/ injectors
you sure it isnt bad diesel? (water)

when was the last service?

you can call the number posted by LH or Sookhai's which is nearby

Postby black start » February 22nd, 2012, 9:09 pm

the number by LH is who by chance?did not get a chance to call as yet....

Postby sliderz1 » February 22nd, 2012, 9:16 pm

Black Start wrote:the number by LH is who by chance?did not get a chance to call as yet....

James

sureshot_james on the forum

Postby black start » February 22nd, 2012, 9:48 pm

^cool thanks. Will give him a call as soon as she is ready. On another note have you had any experience with sookhai's diesel?
Last edited by black start on February 25th, 2012, 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sliderz1 » February 23rd, 2012, 8:32 pm

^AFAIK they have good reviews. Couple ppl had raised eyebrows on their prices, but best to call and find out.

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » February 23rd, 2012, 11:55 pm

change air filter fuel filter and u can fill it up with cetane booster and in stall oil and oil filter

Postby black start » February 24th, 2012, 9:49 pm

^I planning on changing the air and fuel filters this or next weekend and see if that makes a difference. Will be checking out sookhai's next week for a quote.

Postby black start » February 24th, 2012, 9:54 pm

sliderz1 wrote:^AFAIK they have good reviews. Couple ppl had raised eyebrows on their prices, but best to call and find out.

Any idea how much a typical service costs for the yd25ddti? I could change the oil and filters for her, so just servicing the pump, injectors, etc. Just a ball park figure so that I may know if people trying to overcharge her as this is the first time she is taking it upon herself to get this stuff done.

Postby sliderz1 » February 25th, 2012, 7:31 pm

[injectors + pump]

i got a quote frm Sookhai's for 3 thousand something [cant remember exactly] about 2 years ago

surprised he isnt in this thread yet, but call Big Z, his mentioned price is $350
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=320348

Postby black start » February 25th, 2012, 8:01 pm

^thanks! I called James today, and spoke to him. Sounds very knowledgeable in the field so considering him as well.

Just called Big Z as well and he gave me some decent info/knowledge as well.

Tried to call Sookhai's this evening but no answer. Probably was too late though

Sound boy 64, will call tomorrow.

So to start with, I'll change the fuel and air filter in the van for her and I'll run a Amsoil diesel treatment through it as well. If the problem persists after that I will be checking one of the above names mentioned.

Thanks so far for the help and I welcome any additional help as well.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 25th, 2012, 8:49 pm

James seems very help fully in my opinion. ( not that the others aren't)

Postby black start » February 25th, 2012, 9:22 pm

^yes he was very helpful but so were the other guys.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 27th, 2012, 12:09 pm

Black Start wrote:^On another note have you had any experience with sookhai's diesel?

Yup, I have experience with them.
My dad serviced his L200 K34t (1996 MODEL) fuel pump and injectors by them. One of the injectors was shot so that had to be replaced (got a FU from Prabhu's in Bamboo (just after the temple on the left-side street) for about $150.
They cleaned out all the injectors incl the FU one (I believe they used both a cleaning solution similar to Liquid Moly) and they also ran it through a Sonic Machine to vibrate all the crap off the injectors inside & out.

They also serviced and recalibrated the Fuel pump. When they returned it, it was miscalibrated at first and was running very rich, so that the van bucked a bit and blew out black smoke. But we carried it back and they recalibrated it correctly and all was well.

When we got back the L200, it was running like new! Granted, the 4D56 turbo in it has about 295,000km on it (it was one of the first L200 to land in trinidad back in 1996!!) so it's not as fast as it used to be (it can cruise at 110km comfortably, reach 140km/h at effort) but the PULLING power was dead-on. It basically felt like brand new and so far my dad hasn't had ANY problems at all. The other day, he loaded up the tray with 8 bags of cement and about 150 concrete blocks for a project, and it pulled the stuff easily with hardly any black smoke out the tailpipe (less than you'd expect).
Fuel economy is good (about 450km per tank, same as stock) and my dad is completely satisfied.

So yes, this is a happy testament to their good work and I'd recommend them to anyone. Price is well worth it - they charged $3500 overall for everything and recalibrated the pump for free.

So to start with, I'll change the fuel and air filter in the van for her and I'll run a Amsoil diesel treatment through it as well.

What you should do is disconnect the fuel-filter, and run the intake/outlet hoses through a container of the Amsoil Diesel Concentrate directly. Cut open a plastic 20oz bottle and full with the Amsoil, then run the hoses, start the engine and let it run till almost down. Be careful not to let any air into the hoses or the engine might sputter.

WHen you're done, reconnect and run the engine again on pure diesel (best to do this job when you freshly fill on diesel, and better yet use UNIPET diesel with their filters on the pumps). If i were you, I'd try to compare the power and fuel-economy before and after doing this cleaning job (i.e. run a full tank down to almost empty, record your mileage on the tripmeter, then do the cleaning, then run a fresh tank down to empty and compare your mileage).

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 27th, 2012, 12:23 pm

^^^... or, if you're lazy, just wait till the tank reach just under 1/4 and pour 8oz of the amsoil diesel concentrate into the tank (about half bottle) and then run till just before the light comes on. Don't worry, your engine is safe, it's not common rail so it won't explode or anything.

Then replace all the filters (fuel, air, oil, whatever tickles your fancy) and then full on diesel then drive away happy.

But the direct-fuel line method is more thorough and makes you look like a bad-ass mechanic. 8-) 0X 0X

Postby black start » February 27th, 2012, 12:59 pm

LH thanks very much for the review on Sookhai's Diesel.

I will try the above mentioned and see if this solves or helps the problem.

Fuel econo on the k34 real good for a van of its age, and as for the pulling power, that's real impressive as well because that's approximately 1200lbs and as you said it pulled it comfortably.

Santos41

Postby Santos41 » October 23rd, 2013, 4:42 pm

Hi Black Start,
I was wondering if you ever got that problem sorted out with your friend's frontier.

I just recently (july) purchase a d22 frontier (yd25) with 95Kmiles good condition (2006).
I am getting some slight bucking while changing the gears (not sure if it my driving skills lol)
Not burning oil but i am getting streams of black smoke while driving casually with the AC on.
Changed oil, air & fuel filters.
Tried redline, amsoil
Still smoking
It is a nice van but i am embarrass by the smoke.

hoping that you can advised me as it relates to solving this problem

Postby black start » October 23rd, 2013, 10:30 pm

hmmmm, iirc we just did a real decent service on it and the problem went away....

I'd advise you to let a good diesel mechanic check out your van.....

droppa

Postby droppa » October 24th, 2013, 8:25 am

two common problems with the YD25 fronteir is the turbo and intake clogging..

try doing a full service and clean the intake, should make a difference

do the simpler steps first before spending usless money....

Jerrys in chasevillage is very reputable and does good work....

Santos41

Postby Santos41 » January 1st, 2014, 12:21 am

hi guys,
just a quick update...i got fed up with waiting for a "good mechanic"...I blank off the bloody EGR valve be meh bloody self.
so far no smoke "thank god"...some increase power at the lower end...takes a little longer to warm up...engine sounds a little louder (maybe its my mind)

now i have to tackle the clutch/pressure plate system...meh clutch hard like banger!!
I recently drove a toyota...when ah mash de clutch meh foot nearly bust through the fricking fire wall.

Santos41

Postby Santos41 » August 11th, 2014, 9:41 am

Guys,
Does anyone knows the part number for the turbo unit (yd25 ddti)???? can you share it...please

Postby black start » August 11th, 2014, 9:48 am

Don't know the part number but check motorist....also there was one for sale on the classifieds as well

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”