Air Condition Issue ( magnetic clutch assembly worn )

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Premera

Air Condition Issue ( magnetic clutch assembly worn )

Postby Premera » December 9th, 2011, 9:36 am

Regarding the air condition, i noticed when i am driving, sometimes the air condition blows warm and gets back cold again. Then when i am parked it goes hot and when i start driving again, it will begin to cold.
Sometimes, i turn it off for a few minutes and it gets cold as soon as i turn it on again.

Any ideas why this is happening ?

08-Jun-2012 - Was informed that the Magnetic Clutch Assembly was worn badly hence the hot and cold effect sometimes.

Part costs like 4k in toyota and technician could not say what causes it to wear down or even give an approximate lifespan of the new part.

I was told other guys re-wrapped the coils but the ohmage changed and caused the wires to burn all the way to the harness and damaged the a/c sensor inside the van.

I am thinking if i can get someone to re-wrap the coil and test the ohmage before installing same, it might work as i see no sense i paying 4k plus labour without an average of durability of the new part......

Any ideas / suggestions welcome :)
Last edited by Premera on June 8th, 2012, 8:28 am, edited 2 times in total.

bt50

Re: Injector issue

Postby bt50 » December 9th, 2011, 9:49 am

Van Model?

How big is the said hole?

Premera

Re: Injector issue

Postby Premera » December 10th, 2011, 9:29 am

2006 3.0 Automatic 4 x 4

Hole is not too big but you feel the loss of power sometimes

Premera

Re: Air Condition Issue ( magnetic clutch assembly worn )

Postby Premera » June 8th, 2012, 8:30 am

magnetic clutch assembly worn out.......any ideas other than replacement of same that costing 4-5k TT ?????

Thanks

Premera

Postby Premera » October 19th, 2012, 7:25 pm

talk to meh

pickups only

Postby pickups only » October 19th, 2012, 10:22 pm

hey dude a magnetic AC clutch don't just get worn so easy unless it had been repaired for some unknown reason and badly reassembled , i have friends who have their vehicles for over 5 years and run their AC 24/7 and no clutch problem maybe regass [maybe] any who ! you can try LV marketing in marabella a friend got one for way less he she had a front hit . 684 7170. 658 0405

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » October 19th, 2012, 10:53 pm

Send me your chassis i can get this part genuine toyota way less than most ppl ...just check the forum..lol..

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » October 22nd, 2012, 3:33 pm

The front clutch assembly is what you need. It is a common problem with the hilux. Replace the entire front clutch assembly...no other way.

Premera

Postby Premera » November 4th, 2012, 8:24 am

PARTS2go wrote:The front clutch assembly is what you need. It is a common problem with the hilux. Replace the entire front clutch assembly...no other way.

Actually, i had the coil replaced a week now and so far, it wukkin bosssssssss.........

Chris from Marabella definitely knows his sheit.......thanks bro

thanks to Vijai from LV marketing also for the referral

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » November 27th, 2012, 1:18 pm

Ok well then the coil was your problem...but look out cuz the front assy problem is coming.

carter2

Postby carter2 » November 29th, 2012, 2:13 am

When the electromagnet turns on, it produces a powerful magnetic field through the rotor. Since the fan belt rotor and the air conditioner rotor are both made out of iron, the magnetic field magnetizes both of them, pulling them towards each other. This causes the friction plates to push tightly in to each other. Initially, the rotor friction plate is turning and the compressor friction plate is not. Once they are touching, however, friction between the two plates makes the air conditioner rotor spin. When the electromagnet is turned off, the friction plates spring apart and the compressor stops moving.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”