Page 1 of 2

MISTERRRRR LIGHTHAMMERRR AND THE DIESEL BOYZ

Posted: August 13th, 2011, 6:44 pm
by sablo77
thanks guys for everything and all the info you learnt and took the time to share with us ...i myself have been contemplating and waiting and finally chose to buy a Mazda bt50 4*4 fully loaded if there is any additional advice i need to know please let me know or if u can even if i read it already it wont matter ....i saw the review that Mr light hammer written and it was verrrrrrryyy informative....
please give advice on REVERSE SENSORS and TURBO TIMERS in terms of price and installation ...ohh im from south side thank you

:D :D :D :D

Re: MISTERRRRR LIGHTHAMMERRR AND THE DIESEL BOYZ

Posted: August 13th, 2011, 7:35 pm
by civic minded
good for you ! Check 4x4 trinidad for the turbo timer and reverse sensors - he have really good prices and you can get other stuff for your BT50. I think that your getting Bridgestones AT - my suggestion is that you trade them in as they have terrible traction on wet roads - read the reveiws in the Tire thread and make a decision on a new set.

Posted: August 13th, 2011, 9:31 pm
by MrCuddles
d way hw he say "MISTERRRRR LIGHTHAMMERRR" i swear LH in trouble oui....

but a cheap turbo-timer will cost about $200 with an additional $100 for installation
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=382944&hilit=timer

a more expensive brand name timer will run u bout $350-$700

as for reverse sensors
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=281405&hilit=reverse+sensor

if ur in need of an electrician in south, pm me.....am a bit picky wen it comes to ppl workin on my truck but this guy has my stamp of approval!!

Posted: August 13th, 2011, 11:49 pm
by lighthammer
*appears in a puff of smoke* - "Yes... did someone summon me?"

Lol... i tawt I was in trouble too yes, I get called out again!

Aye, sablo77 congratulations on your new purchase man, you must be real excited! I know it's a great feeling when you finally put down the hammer on a new vehicle, esp. after you've been searching and researching which one to buy after a good amount of time, ent?

I spent about 6 months researching mine too, I just wanted to make sure that all that hard earned cash (and years of bank loan!) gonna be put towards the perfect vehicle, and it had ot be fully justified - i'm sure you thought of the same thing too.

So which mazzie did you get? The WLT engine, or the WLC TDCi common rail engine? The WLC TDCi engine (newer engine, common-rail injection, look for the round-shaped airbox for the air filter) comes in automatic only, while the WLT (older, direct-injection engine - look for the square-shaped airbox for the air filter) comes only in manual.

Did you know that the Mazda BT-50 was chosen as Truck of The Year 2007 by Australian magazine - 4wd Action ? The australians took a set of trucks: Hilux, Navara, Ranger, BT50 and Dmax/holden colorado out on a 7-day test in the outback. The BT-50 came out on top, just barely edging out the Ranger on the grounds that the BT-50 had a slightly better tuned suspension than the Ranger, esp for road use. They said that the 2.5 TDCi common rail engine used by both the ranger & bt-50 was the smoothest they ever saw in a diesel, and the gearbox ratios were perfectly tuned for the engine's power-output.

So.... there ya go, you got a great truck!

Right, as far as turbo-timers go, I'd say go with the best you can afford, and don't skimp on the cheap stuff. I know that there are good deals to be had out there, but just to prove my point - the Greddy turbo timer in our 8-year old Nissan Frontier still going strong, no trouble at all. I use GReddy, and the newer model has a nice, compact & small form factor. You can literally place the timer face anywhere you want, once the wire is long enough.

This is the GReddy Turbo Timer that I was talking about.
It's available locally, I got mine for the Navara from Kazim Ali - 680-7104.

As for reverse sensors, there's a ton of them out on the market, you can choose whatever you like. Mine has a distance indicator and it clips onto the rear-view mirror like what MrCuddles had posted previously. It's definitely handy, esp when maneuvering into tight spots or if someone else is driving the truck (mom, gf/wife etc).

Anyway, congrats on your new truck man, I'm sure you'll enjoy it to the max.
And a few months down the line, when you're done admiring and loving it up, come on a "Side B" run nah, we'll show you and your truck a good time!
(*note - Side B is not affiliated with the Diesel Boyz, we're our own entity and club. The name is just a lil' inside joke, but trust me, our runs are no joke!)

Here's a little bonus for you:

Posted: August 14th, 2011, 8:13 am
by sablo77
civic minded .....thanks alot man ill look into it

MrCuddles .....lolol thanks for the info and i will be contacting you concerning the electrician,but i wonder, hmmmmm is it tall man behind T&Tec on cipero street lolol jus asking

lighthammer ......and u appeared in a puff of smoke indeed ...(reminded me of gagamel in smurfs when he saw steam coming from under ground and up the pavement and ran back to walk through it lolololol u gotta see it to understand)..but mad props to you man and the effort you put in your reviews and advice. For real you is a boss.
I was hoping that you agree with civic minded on the Tyre concept tho...
ummmm can anyone educate me on using the gears ...in my experience my former vehicle was a sr20 5fwd b14 so im good with it but this is my first time driving a 4*4 manual(oh LH its a manual fullly loaded ..black..) my clutch was hard and my gears would slip in easily ..whats are your experiences with the trucks......

Posted: August 14th, 2011, 8:24 am
by Aaron 2NR
good timer as well

[quote="SJR Imports"]SJR IMPORTS

HKS TURBO TIMERS - TYPE 0

BRAND NEW.

BLACK WITH RED LED DISPLAY.

PRICE - $550.00

CALL 762-6775
email: sjrimports@hotmail.com

Posted: August 14th, 2011, 8:51 am
by sablo77
thanks Aaron really appreciate it ill call them for more info

Posted: August 14th, 2011, 3:39 pm
by sablo77
bump.....any advice from previous or present owners

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 1:05 am
by sureshot_james
you can save some money on the turbo time by getting a decent alarmmost vipers have them built in now

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 7:50 am
by MrCuddles
naw man, my electrician's located in Current and he's a guy who works on an appointment basis, so no mor lining up to wait and wasting half yuh day fiddling ur thumbs watchin evryone else car service ceptin urs(been there an its the most frustrating ting EVER!!!)

but wat james said bout the new Vipers hvin timers built in, i relly didnt knw that, but it does make sense to combine 2 popular products in that manner.....shud they integrate som reverse sensors and a camera into it, they wud hv created the perfect product imo

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 8:56 am
by lighthammer
MrCuddles wrote:watchin evryone else car service ceptin urs

Like yuh went to Neal and Massy?

:mrgreen:

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 1:26 pm
by sablo77
viper alarm with turbo timer hmmmmmmmmm interesting
yooo fellas what should i pay attention to in this type of vehicle......

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 2:10 pm
by Aaron 2NR
^ i had one of those installed in my navara before i switched to a Greedy....it started to malfunction after a while. Even the certified viper alarm tech couldnt figure out why.....

I was pleased with the Greedy turbo timer since the voltmeter etc came in really handy....

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 6:24 pm
by lighthammer
sablo77 - just make sure you change the oil regularly, every 5000km if you using mineral oil. If you using synthetic oil, then you can stretch up to 10,000km. Also I think it's worth using original oil filters and air filters (unless you want to go with a K&N) - I get mine from ROC in bamboo.

What type of engine do u have?
Does it look like this:

Or does it look like this:

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 8:44 pm
by venum
congrats on teh purchase

real workhorse you got

reverse sensors are crap, go with the reverse camera

i got both when I bought my Sportero, courtesy previous owner, but teh sensors are really useless, even the ones with the electronic distance display

reverse camera FTW ! ! !

Posted: August 15th, 2011, 11:43 pm
by sablo77
lighthammer its the second one and what brand of oils do you use tho.....(or should i say is required for me)
also i was speaking to the sales rep today and i asked, in his experience working here what were some of the complaints previous owners had with the bt50 and he said that the head in most of them were needed to change because they voided the warranty and did there own thing at the side
1. is he trying to brainwash me to come back to SS and pay 1500 and 2500 for the service
2.if its really true how can i avoid the head not being damaged....

venom thanks man ill make the reverse cameras a priority on that matter any advice from one trucker to another

aaron 2nr thanks man you and lighthammer spoke on the greedy turbo timer and i have learn that in the multitude of counsel there is safety soooo having said that i will pursue the greedy turbo timer

Posted: August 16th, 2011, 7:04 am
by lighthammer
^^ OK, so you have the WLT engine, which is the direct-injection turbodiesel (the older model engine)... it pushes 101HP and 266NM of torque, BTW.... while ur TARE is 1720KG, so you have a pretty decent Power:weight Ratio

This engine has a history of developing cracks in the head, usually at around 120,000km or more.
THis doesn't happen in every single unit that's produced by ford/mazda, but there have been a few claims here & there about it happening. One guy on tuner recently posted about visiting a mechanic and seeing a few of the non-turbo WL engine blocks laying around in the garage with cracks in the head.

However, your salesperson may be bullsh1tting you into coming back for every single service.
Once you service the engine regularly and on time (diesel engines require very regular servicing in order to give you all those years of life), you would be in a good position. Most modern diesel engines would need:
- oil change
- oil filter change

This is to be done every 5000km, esp. if you're running mineral oil or at least semi-synthetic oil (eg. Castrol CRB or Hypuron oils)
If you're running synthetic oil (eg. Amsoil, Mobil 1, Gulf synthetic, Shell Rimula R4 & R6) then you can push the changes to 7500 - 10,000km's, but not too much more. By that time your change interval is limited by your oil-filter's capacity, not so much the oil's useable life (eg. Amsoil is actually rated to last up to 20,000km between changes - those long-haul freight trucks in the US use Amsoil often for that same purpose).
So basically change your oil on time, as well as your oil filter.
And if you can, use the highest quality filters available - I prefer to use OEM factory filters and I buy from ROC in bamboo cuz I get better prices than at the Firm (neal & massy)

Now when it comes to diesel engines, they run MUCH hotter than a gasoline engine simply because it uses a very high compression of the fuel:air mixture in the cylinder to create the spark/explosion which drives the pistons, while gasoline engines use lower compression and a spark-plug to ignite that fuel:air mixture. When you compress oxygen + fuel high enough, the heat created by all those molecules jumbling-around in the cylinder and the friction between them will eventually become enough to cause a KABOOM and thus drive down the piston. That's why you won't find a spark plug in your diesel engine.

All this heat can be detrimental to engine blocks, metals, plastics, etc - esp. over years of hard-working service. Hence it's of CRITICAL important to always take care of the cooling system in your diesel truck, both turbo and non-turbo.
Always have your radiator inspected and flushed at the appropriate mileage intervals (I dunno what's Mazda's intervals, but I do know that for my Navara N&M flushed it at 20,000km after I bought it brand new - so that's a decent guideline for you).
Hence it might be a good idea to ask your service rep (not necessarily the sales rep, they may not know the service info, just the sales/vehicle info) when will they do the radiator and cooling system services (usually at 20,000 & 50,000km).
When your truck gets older (say 60,000km and more) you can probably start doing some checks on the water pump, thermostat, etc. to make sure the cooling system stays healthy. Some WLT owners may even go as far as to change out the radiator and install a 3-core radiator to help with cooling.... but that's for later on.

Of course, if you push your truck hard on a daily basis eg. drive hard, shift at higher RPM, carry heavy loads, pull trailers, pull stuck pickups out of the mud - on a regular basis, it would be prudent to make sure you change your oil at sooner intervals. The oil is the life-juice of the engine and if it breaks down under heavy loads, your engine's internal parts will start to suffer.
Synthetic oils would last longer and break-down less under heavy load than regular mineral oil. My recommendation would be Amsoil 15W40 synthetic oil, or Gulf 15w40 synthetic (it all comes down to brand-preference, which can differ amongst everyone else). Shell Rimula R6 is also a good synthetic oil.

If you don't want to stay with Southern Sales for too long with respect to services, you can always try to look for a good mechanic/garage with similar equipment and do your services there. I don't know South trinidad so well, maybe one of the other guys here can tell you where is a good garage to go to.
Also, I posted a service manual for the WLT engines under the "Ford tech thread" which will apply to your BT-50's engine as well. I didn't look through the entire thing in great detail, but there should be a "service intervals" section which would tell you what should be done at what mileage. Or you can check your vehicle's owner's manual or service booklet.
That way you'll save a bit of money if you're concerned about the stealership being a bit too greedy.

In fact - send a PM to sureshot james about servicing your truck, I was talking to him the other day about this and he has a very good solution for you, if you decide to service outside of the firm. Or give him a call - Mosely Enterprises: 3749339.
Trust me, you might like what you hear (I certainly did!).

Oh, BTW.. it's 'GREDDY'... not 'GREEDY' for the brand of turbotimer.. heh heh heh :mrgreen:

As far as a turbotimer goes - it's meant to protect your turbo. From your previous post, you said you had a SR20 B14, but you didn't specify if it was the SR20DET or N/A SR20 engine, so I'll have to assume it was N/A.
Whenever you kill the engine, the oil-supply from the sump pan to the turbo is also stopped. This is bad news for a turbo that might still be spinning down after a hard highway run and a ton of boost, because the turbo's fans are still spinning, which continues to generate heat. Whatever oil is left in the turbo will literally "cook", and create a "coke" or a sooty sediment which will block out the piping in the turbo, hence cutting off the oil-supply and lubrication effectiveness.
This will cause the bearings in the turbo to overheat and eventually seize whenever you drive the truck later on, and destroy the turbocharger. Also, the excess heat will be indirectly transferred to the engine block, the hoses, the intake, etc. etc. and cause more problems.

Most of the time you can prevent this by waiting 30-secs or more after running the engine at high-rpm (eg. parking in the mall after driving hard on the highway). But most folks may forget to do so and switch off immediately - hence the turbo timer comes in handy to help preserve turbo life.

Dont' believe the bullsh!t that dealers will tell you - when I went to McEarney Motors to check out the Ford Ranger, the old man who was trying to sell me a Ranger said "Oh, these have newer turbo's, they both water + oil cooled, you don't need a turbo timer".
Bullsh!t.
If you run at 3000+ RPM for a few minutes on the highway (say around 110-120km/hr), then pull into Pricesmart and cut off immediately... ANY friggin turbo, whether oil or oil+water cooled will cook the oil and damage the turbo.

I don't know how often SSL and McEarney Robinson would put in Turbo Timers into the WLT-engine trucks back when they sold the older model rangers and B2500 pickups from 1998-2006, but I believe that may be one of the contributing factors for head-warpage.
At any rate, it certainly wouldn't hurt the engine to put in a turbo timer, so it's a good safety measure.

Anyway, that's enough about that.
Hope you've been enjoying driving that truck around these past few days. Sure it's not as fast/quick as your old SR20 B14, but I'm sure you're enjoying the torque and power of that diesel, not to mention the great mileage (you should be getting about 450-500km per tank, at $85 or so to fill up).

Enjoy that truck man, and keep on truckin' !

Posted: August 16th, 2011, 9:30 am
by rampy
MrCuddles is your electrician Ryan?
He supplied and installed in my BT-50 - turbo timer,remote start, reverse sensors and traded in the supplied Viper 350 to a 5002.
Would recommend him anytime.

Posted: August 16th, 2011, 10:15 am
by arnold_k69
very good information since i recently purchased a BT50 also. I am still to install a turbo timer, but i try as much as possible to wait for about a minute when i make a run with my van before cutting off. anyone can say whats the average cost of a Greddy timer?

Posted: August 16th, 2011, 10:31 am
by lighthammer
Mine cost me $1300 installed. got that from Kazim Ali.

Posted: August 16th, 2011, 12:59 pm
by pickups only
hey dude congrats on ur purchase gr8t truck gr8t buy,but 4 accessories including turbo timers and k&n filters i got mine in marabella at L V marketing they have lots of stuff 4 ur truck ,684 7170 ,658 0405

Posted: August 16th, 2011, 11:37 pm
by Havoc
yea boy rampy, is Ryan self.......d man rel particular bout hw he does do his work

d young fella he hv wokkin fuh him doesnt pay much attention to detail.....so i dont let him touch my truck unless Ryan's around to supervise him

anyone wants his no. send me a pm

Posted: August 17th, 2011, 1:36 am
by rampy
well said Havoc
he did same installation minus t/timer on wifey Tucson also glass up module and all music
living close to him so he uses my garage for my works

Posted: August 20th, 2011, 12:25 am
by sablo77
wowww my truck driving niceeeeee boi wowwwww

Posted: August 20th, 2011, 4:12 am
by lighthammer
LOL!
Drive responsibly and enjoy it man...
Keep On Truckin'.

Posted: August 20th, 2011, 8:39 am
by sablo77
you know something guys gimme some info if i climb a hill on second gear and im about to go down the hill can i neutralize n just use brakes and probably because of the speed im going go directly to 3rd or 4th gear or must i still be in a gear coming down the hill and then shift when necessary.....

Posted: August 20th, 2011, 10:47 am
by lighthammer
You can use engine braking in a gear that's appropriate to your speed when going down a hill (eg. don't use 2nd gear and you're going down to hilton on the lady young at 85km/hr.... use 4th!!)
It'll help prolong the life of your brakes, but just use an appropriate gear for your speed.

Just don't slip out the clutch i.e. ride on de clutch too much, that'll burn out de friction coupling.

And don't drive with your foot resting on the clutch pedal eh'! That go also wear out de clutch faster over time..... real people does do that, surprisingly.

Posted: August 21st, 2011, 8:00 pm
by sablo77
hey LT.. hmmm sounded like lieutenant lol in d truck and van militia hehehe..anyway i had an encounter today i was on an incline and tried to reverse to fit as close to the side as possible seeing that my rear was outside and only to realise the tyres were spinning and i was going forward ...i think i need to be breached on the concept of the Dos' and donts' when it comes to ascending or desending these hills and umm some info about the little lever on the left of the joystick in your words....thanks LT

Posted: August 21st, 2011, 8:12 pm
by lighthammer
sablo77
The answer to your problems lies >>>> *HERE* <<<<..... click on the link if you seek the truth!

Posted: August 26th, 2011, 6:06 am
by sablo77
ok guys i got my van like last week tuesday and i have been to unipet like 3 times already also noice when i came out the firm i pulled up by my friends house chilled a few and while reversing i saw lke black smoke and im like alreadyyyyyy also plse explain the metre reading cause one minute it saying 900 and counting then all of a sudden i seeing nothing i seeing like 150 plse explain and can i use kerosene in my engine ive been reading some say yes some say no LT where u at homie oh my run is like marabella to point lisas and like 3 to 4 times i go chag to pick up wifey this cant be