The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 15th, 2012, 7:16 pm

i have one of those auto thailand timers....works fine

jpec

Postby jpec » July 15th, 2012, 10:50 pm

install it if you want to but it isnt necessary...newer turbos nowadays cool very well, but to be safe what i do, when i just finished driving hard or had a long day on the road i just wait a 3 minutes then shut off

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » July 16th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Thanks dudes

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 24th, 2012, 10:26 am

ordered these for my truck

Paullct

Postby Paullct » July 24th, 2012, 11:08 am

^^^ SWEET!!!!!

badart

Postby badart » September 13th, 2012, 10:52 pm

http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and-re ... _car_sales

Interesting, thought the new ranger would have taken over by now in Australia

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 15th, 2012, 8:34 pm

^^ rangers are too damn expensive - they are not selling as much as they did before. Hopefully they will learn and start to drop price.

badart

Postby badart » September 16th, 2012, 11:35 am

^ true plus they reduced the price of the 2012 hilux. Good to see ppl in trinidad buying the new ranger. it have a good bit on the road.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 17th, 2012, 10:03 pm

the 2.2-liter ranger has a lower MWG rating, hence you don't need a heavy T to drive it - you'll see much more 2.2 than 3.5L rangers around.

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 27th, 2012, 4:29 pm

my ride.....

retrofit the headlights...such a huge difference....

changed the tail lights to leds.....
IMG-20120808-00177.jpg
IMG-20120721-00101 copy.jpg

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 27th, 2012, 11:35 pm

lighthammer wrote:the 2.2-liter ranger has a lower MWG rating, hence you don't need a heavy T to drive it - you'll see much more 2.2 than 3.5L rangers around.

I beg to differ, 'cause there are some 2.2 Rangers with the 3200kg MGW

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » September 28th, 2012, 7:01 am

Toyopet wrote:
lighthammer wrote:the 2.2-liter ranger has a lower MWG rating, hence you don't need a heavy T to drive it - you'll see much more 2.2 than 3.5L rangers around.

I beg to differ, 'cause there are some 2.2 Rangers with the 3200kg MGW

From what I've heard, the first batch came with the 3200kg MGW but the dealer has now asked the manufacturer to remove some portion of the rear spring lift so the MGW will be reduced, thus allowing persons with Class 3 permits to drive.

jpec

Postby jpec » September 29th, 2012, 12:58 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:my ride.....

retrofit the headlights...such a huge difference....

changed the tail lights to leds.....

LOVE the tail lights, where you got it and how much? if you dont mind me asking...feel free to PM me if you wish 8-)

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 29th, 2012, 4:18 am

gotta order them from thailand.....it was close to $2100

let me know if you're interested, i can order them but would need a downpayment

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 29th, 2012, 6:28 pm

Aaron - was that you I saw in gasparillo a couple weeks back, and honked/lights at me?

jpec

Postby jpec » September 29th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:gotta order them from thailand.....it was close to $2100

let me know if you're interested, i can order them but would need a downpayment

sheit lol, never mind with that price nuh lol, best i buy the 05+ lights for $1200 lol...thanks tho!
they look real good

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 29th, 2012, 7:04 pm

yeh they expensive since you have to order it from there...delivery was like 5 weeks

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 29th, 2012, 7:05 pm

lighthammer wrote:Aaron - was that you I saw in gasparillo a couple weeks back, and honked/lights at me?

yeh boy....daiz ah good while back...i think it was eid day if im not mistaken....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 29th, 2012, 7:10 pm

Oh ho... Well, woi, whaz de scene!

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 29th, 2012, 8:32 pm

normz boy.....didn't drive the truck in like a mth..had surgery on my knee....

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 30th, 2012, 12:29 am

Aaron 2NR, how are the lights during the day? I've seen some on other trucks that are really hard to see when it's bright out :x Of course, those might have been some el cheapo ones, I dunno :lol:
On another note, I saw a white hilux, styled very similar to yours the other day, that one had some angel eyes headlights though; yours looks like that one's evil twin :lol: :evilbat: Any plans to do some debadging?

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 30th, 2012, 8:00 am

i was advised by my detailer not to take the badges out. i should have done it when the truck was new...small thing doesnt bother me much.

after market headlights are available for the 2012 but its like $700US before shipping and from my experience with other vehicles, those after market headlight output is sometimes very bad compared to OEM. I would recommend to anyone to do a RETROFIT....

I dind't want the angel eyes/ ccfl rings on mine. I try to keep everything simple. Thats why i didn't order my truck with all the flashy chrome and a million accessories.

the light output in the day is pretty good as well, i attached two pics of it for you to see, one braking and one with the park light alone on.
I changed the bulbs in the reverse light to some CREE Leds. Those were the brightest leds i've ever seen. My reverse camera uses light from the reverse light to assist in the night. These aftermarket lights, because they are tinted limited the light output from stock bulbs. (see attached picture and video, I will get a better pic of it in the night when i'm back on my feet)

IMG-20120904-00980.jpg
IMG-20120904-00980.jpg (86.67 KiB) Viewed 4482 times

IMG-20120822-00233.jpg

Aftermarket Headlights

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 30th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Wha you all set for xmas dude !

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 30th, 2012, 8:02 pm

^not me and that ricey thing boy...thats why i did a retrofit...

badart

Postby badart » October 1st, 2012, 10:56 pm

^ is the spoiler cosmetic or does it serve a purpose?

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 2nd, 2012, 5:25 am

it came with the truck

badart

Postby badart » October 2nd, 2012, 8:42 pm

ok lol

jpec

Postby jpec » October 2nd, 2012, 10:37 pm

aaron 2nr, why did your detailer tell you not to debadge? i just debadged mine recently (black 09 hilux) after 3 years of use and you can't tell it had badges from before..just give it a good buff and polish and you should be good i think!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 7th, 2012, 5:53 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:i was advised by my detailer not to take the badges out. i should have done it when the truck was new...small thing doesnt bother me much.

after market headlights are available for the 2012 but its like $700US before shipping and from my experience with other vehicles, those after market headlight output is sometimes very bad compared to OEM. I would recommend to anyone to do a RETROFIT....

I dind't want the angel eyes/ ccfl rings on mine. I try to keep everything simple. Thats why i didn't order my truck with all the flashy chrome and a million accessories.

the light output in the day is pretty good as well, i attached two pics of it for you to see, one braking and one with the park light alone on.
I changed the bulbs in the reverse light to some CREE Leds. Those were the brightest leds i've ever seen. My reverse camera uses light from the reverse light to assist in the night. These aftermarket lights, because they are tinted limited the light output from stock bulbs. (see attached picture and video, I will get a better pic of it in the night when i'm back on my feet)

I agree with you on the angel eyes part, I see enough people getting harassed for OEM daytime running lights as it is, the angel eyes just seem like you'd be asking for problems :lol: Your headlights lights on the other hand, look like Toyota put them there 8-)

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 7th, 2012, 9:42 pm

^thanks man...yeh the retrofits are actually the best modification i think i ever did to a vehicle....i recommend them to anyone....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”