local vs forign used pick ups

Posted: June 25th, 2011, 1:23 pm
by flex_ninja27
how do u tell d difference between a local used n foreign used sportero n hilux??in terms of d body styles n looks of d truck....as well as d engine??how much would it cost to buy a local used as opposed to a foreign???wats d advantages??

Re: local vs forign used pick ups

Posted: June 25th, 2011, 3:01 pm
by badart
no one sells foreign used pick ups, places like maska, m. rampersad etc sell brand new pick ups with a set of unnecessary accessories. There are no differences between the hilux/sportero and the vigo/triton except for the name and the accessories. In terms of cost both should be the same but some vigo/triton owner might call more money because of the additional accessories, which doesnt make sense to buy. When buying asking for a service history, it might be better to buy local used there is a possibility tht it was serviced at the firm and the truck might still be under warranty.

Posted: June 25th, 2011, 4:25 pm
by lighthammer
^^ what he said.

Those RORO places make a killing on the accessories, cuz they get them at dit cheap prices and then jack up the prices like mad.

eg. 3.0 Hilux 4x4 auto with leather from TTTL - $269,000
3.0 Hilux Vigo 4x4 auto with leather, chrome trimmings, carryboy tray cover + plastic rollbar, hid's, double barrel muffler - basically any generic-looking Vigo - $300,000

That just dont' make sense to me, esp since IMO a pickup is more of a workhorse than a status vehicle. I'd understand an SUV like a PRado or Pathfinder.... but a pickup?

Sorry to rant but this is a pet peeve of mine (and I'm sure I'm not alone here).

But they're the same truck underneath all that shiny bling - to answer your question.

Posted: June 25th, 2011, 5:13 pm
by flex_ninja27
tanx for the info..but which is d better pick up ...mechanically....reliability...i doh really care for the chrome...i hate it in fact...id rather "murder" it out dan hav sumone watch d flashy chrome n want it more dan me...already hav a honda integra wit a b16..stock...but runnin sweeeet...i doht ink i can afford to buy a new pick up from d firm cuz i aint dat rich n i doh tink i can handle a loan...interest rate is killer...i always loved d 4x4s had a suzuki samurai n ran a frikin rx7 1st gen up maracas...n gave him a hell of a run......n i still had d performance of d 4x4 to get me out the mud wen i got there...so question is....which is better sportero navara or hilux??

Posted: June 25th, 2011, 10:37 pm
by badart
read lighthammer's blog -> http://www.trinitruckblog.blogspot.com/ everything u need to knw is in there

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 6:27 am
by biggy82
lighthammer wrote: That just dont' make sense to me, esp since IMO a pickup is more of a workhorse than a status vehicle. I'd understand an SUV like a PRado or Pathfinder.... but a pickup?

it doesn't make sense to me that someone will take an ordinary pickup, slap some ATRs on it and feel it ready to go thru Grade 3 and 4 trails but you don't see me ranting about it on any fourm

ppl have their own tastes dude......

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 6:39 am
by lighthammer
^^ exactly!

Some people see a truck as a base for building a blinged out status vehicle, I see them as a workhorse for work and play.

To each his own. Even though my tastes might differ from others, I'll just keep on doing what I love to do, and they can do theirs - nobody hurtin' nobody.

Sorry for the rant :), just expressing my opinion - [/endrant]

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 1:39 pm
by badart
that's the great thing about pick ups u can make it into anything u want it to be, blinged out, workhorse, extreme off-roader etc

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 2:16 pm
by sliderz1
lighthammer wrote:^^ what he said.

Those RORO places make a killing on the accessories, cuz they get them at dit cheap prices and then jack up the prices like mad.

3.0 Hilux Vigo 4x4 auto with leather, chrome trimmings, carryboy tray cover + plastic rollbar, hid's, double barrel muffler - basically any generic-looking Vigo - $300,000

That just dont' make sense to me, esp since IMO a pickup is more of a workhorse than a status vehicle. I'd understand an SUV like a PRado or Pathfinder.... but a pickup?

Sorry to rant but this is a pet peeve of mine (and I'm sure I'm not alone here).

But they're the same truck underneath all that shiny bling - to answer your question.

the Hilux Vigo iz currently $360k and equivalent 'bling-ed' Frontier Navara $345k

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 3:17 pm
by lighthammer
^holy crap!!

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 6:40 pm
by sliderz1
^^yeh.....remem for the meet i told i'd check them.
Apparantly they dont bring them bare.........only riced

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 8:55 pm
by lighthammer
m'eh... let the ppl buy what they want, is a free country.

I go do de same :).

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 11:40 pm
by lighthammer
badart wrote:that's the great thing about pick ups u can make it into anything u want it to be, blinged out, workhorse, extreme off-roader etc

Word!

Versatile vehicle, ftw.

Posted: June 26th, 2011, 11:47 pm
by 3stagevtec
biggy82 wrote:
lighthammer wrote: That just dont' make sense to me, esp since IMO a pickup is more of a workhorse than a status vehicle. I'd understand an SUV like a PRado or Pathfinder.... but a pickup?

it doesn't make sense to me that someone will take an ordinary pickup, slap some ATRs on it and feel it ready to go thru Grade 3 and 4 trails but you don't see me ranting about it on any fourm

what exactly is an ordinary pickup?

i mean, aren't pickups designed to be work vehicles.. and 4x4 pickups designed to be taken off road.. why else would manufacturers include shift on the fly 4x4 systems that should only be used in off road situations.

you don't need lift kits and fancy suspension systems to take an 'ordinary pickup' off road imo.. ATs or MTs are usually suffice..

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 12:08 am
by lighthammer
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

A pickup truck (also pick-up truck, pickup, bakkie in South Africa, or ute—an abbreviation of "utility vehicle"—in Australia and New Zealand) is a light motor vehicle with an open-top rear cargo area (bed) which is almost always separated from the cab to allow for chassis flex when carrying or pulling heavy loads.

So an ordinary pickup truck can look like this (or something similar to it - since this is a single cab and I put pics of double-cabs) :

And then depending on the owner's tastes, upgrades can include either off-road oriented or cosmetic/appearance oriented.

Eg.

versus

Personally I have my own bias, I like off-road modifications, and I'm in the process of building my rig. I don't like chrome accessories or large chrome rims - but that's my taste. If I ranted and put harsh words in my expression of that opinion, I'm sorry if I offended anyone. But at least that's where I stand.

On the other hand there could be people out there who take major pride in keeping their ride polished and shiny, chrome fully buffed and leather conditioned. They could hate getting their truck dirty, and wouldn't dream of getting it into the mud - they probably think that ppl like me are crazy and are wasting a lot of money in abusing such an expensive vehicle. To them, I'd say - more power to ya, if that's what you like, so be it.
They have my respect cuz it takes a lot of work and money to maintain that level of vehicle care - and I feel I should get my fair share of respect as well.

That's the beauty of owning a pickup or an SUV - there's a whole world of possibilities with what you'd want to do with it. Every owner is free to make their own choice.

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 12:10 am
by Jeremy Mohd
sliderz1 wrote:

the Hilux Vigo iz currently $360k and equivalent 'bling-ed' Frontier Navara $345k

You f-in kidding? 360!?!!
And here I thought having to pay 300 for the new ranger would have be alot!! Looks alot like a bargain now!!

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 12:26 am
by lighthammer
Jeremy Mohd wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

the Hilux Vigo iz currently $360k ImageImageImage and equivalent 'bling-ed' Frontier Navara $345k ImageImage

You f-in kidding? 360!?!! Image
And here I thought having to pay 300 for the new ranger would have be alot!! Looks alot like a bargain now!!

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 2:14 am
by biggy82
3stagevtec wrote:
biggy82 wrote:

stock setup

3stagevtec wrote:i mean, aren't pickups designed to be work vehicles.. and 4x4 pickups designed to be taken off road.. why else would manufacturers include shift on the fly 4x4 systems that should only be used in off road situations.

to follow your train of thought then, if i have a Kia Pride that was designed to be an economy vehicle, i cannot go and rally / dex with it then? even if i spend MY money to set it up like I WANT IT, i still can run in them leagues cos i was designed for something else? :roll:

3stagevtec wrote:you don't need lift kits and fancy suspension systems to take an 'ordinary pickup' off road imo.. ATs or MTs are usually suffice..

"going off-road" is a relative term; if i decide to drive in the grass in a savannah or roll onto a beach, then technically i am off-road, correct?

you of all ppl should know the rigors of serious off-roading. Grade 3 /4 trails need alot more than just good tyres. there are clearence issues, hill climbs, awkward suspension angles and the tendancy to get body damage. to combat all these requires modifications that far exceed what "stock setup" pickups come with.

the bias in this thread is nothing short of amazing......

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 3:09 am
by 3stagevtec
biggy82 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:
biggy82 wrote:

stock setup

3stagevtec wrote:i mean, aren't pickups designed to be work vehicles.. and 4x4 pickups designed to be taken off road.. why else would manufacturers include shift on the fly 4x4 systems that should only be used in off road situations.

to follow your train of thought then, if i have a Kia Pride that was designed to be an economy vehicle, i cannot go and rally / dex with it then? even if i spend MY money to set it up like I WANT IT, i still can run in them leagues cos i was designed for something else? :roll:

You missed my point..

Your example if off.. I was replying to your initial post concerning stock pickups and off roading (tackling grade 3 / 4 trails). Notice the relation between the two.

A more ideal example would have been comparing a stock sports car (Suzuki Swift Sport perhaps?) to events like dex etc.. Any stock sports car can compete in dex without any modifications and still do quite well. I had competed with a near stock 1.5L Civic and came 3rd on my 1st go..

Back to the original discussion on stock pickups vs difficult trails. From my experience, your typical stock 4x4 with only MT tyres installed can tackle Grade 3+ rated trails. In my short stay with the TTORC, I was witness to how far an unmodified pickup (old model Hilux) with proper tyres and a good driver can really go..

My entire point is pickups are work vehicles and designed to handle such use. Tyres is all that is usually needed to get them across different types of terrain.

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 3:21 am
by 3stagevtec
biggy82 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:you don't need lift kits and fancy suspension systems to take an 'ordinary pickup' off road imo.. ATs or MTs are usually suffice..

"going off-road" is a relative term; if i decide to drive in the grass in a savannah or roll onto a beach, then technically i am off-road, correct?

you of all ppl should know the rigors of serious off-roading. Grade 3 /4 trails need alot more than just good tyres. there are clearence issues, hill climbs, awkward suspension angles and the tendancy to get body damage. to combat all these requires modifications that far exceed what "stock setup" pickups come with.

the bias in this thread is nothing short of amazing......

what does driving on grass have to do with this discussion?

off roading is a sport, and like any sport, you will always break stuff, it's inevitable.. how many times have you read in these same forums of modified trucks breaking differentials, drowning engines, smacking body panels etc.. no matter how much you modify, something will break eventually.

hear this story, I had seen an experienced off roader drive a stock pickup through a trail once. the guy looked like a fish out of water, making lots of mistakes! but put him back in his dedicated rig and he's a 'pro' once more..

on that same run I drove my Vitara, which was still lower than his stock pickup and experienced no problems whatsoever. I had less ground clearance, less power, less torque and smaller 215 width AT tyres (vs his 265 width)..

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 3:44 am
by biggy82
3stagevtec wrote:off roading is a sport, and like any sport, you will always break stuff, it's inevitable.. how many times have you read in these same forums of modified trucks breaking differentials, drowning engines, smacking body panels etc.. no matter how much you modify, something will break eventually.

but going into a sport without taking the necessary precautions to mitigate possible problems is tantemount to being irresponsible. you might not value your safety but i am sure your passengers and collegues making the run with you do
3stagevtec wrote:hear this story, I had seen an experienced off roader drive a stock pickup through a trail once. the guy looked like a fish out of water, making lots of mistakes! but put him back in his dedicated rig and he's a 'pro' once more..

because he has a "dedicated rig"; one that i am sure had more than just tyres. you can bang a nail in a piece of wood with a wrench cant you? but a hammer is built for that purpose and its hardly likely that you would damage it or the nail in the process
3stagevtec wrote:on that same run I drove my Vitara, which was still lower than his stock pickup and experienced no problems whatsoever. I had less ground clearance, less power, less torque and smaller 215 width AT tyres (vs his 265 width)..

yep, but your Zuki is lighter and you have experience with it. its your "dedicated rig"

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 3:50 am
by biggy82
i think you missed my point to lighthammer's post:

when you like something; have a PASSION for something, then it is easy to go all the way with it. for some guys in here, its off-roading; for others its bling. whatever is your passion, you do it completely. its easy to knock something you dont understand cos in your mind, it makes no sense.

i love off-roading and eventually, my Nav will be completely set up for that; no half-assed mods.....full monty business. but make no mistake, another vehicle will first be bought to take its place as the daily driver and trust me, it will be blinged out :lol:

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 4:10 am
by 3stagevtec
biggy82 wrote:i think you missed my point to lighthammer's post:

when you like something; have a PASSION for something, then it is easy to go all the way with it. for some guys in here, its off-roading; for others its bling. whatever is your passion, you do it completely. its easy to knock something you dont understand cos in your mind, it makes no sense.

i love off-roading and eventually, my Nav will be completely set up for that; no half-assed mods.....full monty business. but make no mistake, another vehicle will first be bought to take its place as the daily driver and trust me, it will be blinged out :lol:

steups... :lol:

Posted: June 27th, 2011, 12:56 pm
by sliderz1
lighthammer wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

the Hilux Vigo iz currently $360k ImageImageImage and equivalent 'bling-ed' Frontier Navara $345k ImageImage

You f-in kidding? 360!?!! Image

Wildtrak iz $245k............

i dunno why dey cyah bring a basic pickup, d guy say daz not d market they aim for, but any ways...........