Best Battery for your Pick-up Truck
Posted: May 25th, 2011, 9:45 pm
by MrCuddles
What type of battery do u guys tink is best for a diesel pick-up??
Considerations to take into: price, warranty, durablity, cold cranking amps, availabilty, brand reputation, application(off-road, music) and maintenance-free vs maintenance-full
Re: Best Battery for your Pick-up Truck
Posted: May 25th, 2011, 9:50 pm
by kurpal_v2
I use a optima yellow top D34 in my rav4 and its been through hell and back with SPL compitions/ daily driving. Its been 2+ yrs now Ive had the battery and it still performs like a virgin for me.
Price: Paid $1600 in 2009 or 8 i think
Warranty: 6 months at the time
CCA- Cant say off hand
Availably- Allover

Posted: May 25th, 2011, 9:57 pm
by MrCuddles
not bad kurpal, but wat size battery is dat?? an optima large enuff to power my 3litre diesel engine wood cost a hell of alot more woodnt it??
Posted: May 25th, 2011, 10:12 pm
by nick009
i have a normal battery from laughlin cant rmeember the name of the batteries they sell nah

normal maintenance battery think is a 15 or 13 plate thou
Posted: May 25th, 2011, 10:32 pm
by kurpal_v2
MrCuddles wrote:not bad kurpal, but wat size battery is dat?? an optima large enuff to power my 3litre diesel engine wood cost a hell of alot more woodnt it??
http://www.optimabatteries.com/optima_p ... /specs.phpCold Cranking Amps @ 0F-750
Cranking Amps @ 32F-870
I have a buddy on here (nigel1977) I think he runs a dual optima setup in his truck, will try and find pics but his audio setup is crazy

IIRC its the red top optima he used.
Posted: May 25th, 2011, 10:39 pm
by kurpal_v2
nick009 wrote:i have a normal battery from laughlin cant rmeember the name of the batteries they sell nah

Track? We use those like disposables in our trucks
Posted: May 25th, 2011, 10:56 pm
by civic minded
believe it or not - but i still have the original battery in the 06 ranger. Never had problems - still topping it up to this day.
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 7:19 am
by MrCuddles
i heard dat if u were to install a regular battery in ur truck but use it for a music application den u void d warranty, if dis is tru den i wood hv to get a battery specifically designed for use in music applications
AC Delco SMF music battery has 4 poles an can be used in dis application, anyone had any experience wit dis battery??
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 7:29 am
by kurpal_v2
^^ Dunno where you heard that but the optima's are marketed towards the guys with the aftermarket add-ons and soundsystems...
*Why do I sound like an optima sales person?
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 8:19 am
by droppa
cuddles u eh change the battery yet, i move bad sunday, i shoulda lend u one of mine and take urs, my van can start with one battery.....
btw i would recommend the AC delco, i used one in my car and it lasted 2yrs then it got a small burst and stored charge for over 6mths after that, using it off and on to start an engine in a car with no alternator hooked up.....
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 8:43 am
by claries
yuh cud use ac delco 900 cca i think frm active general
its abt 1395 i believe
have mine abt 6 months and working great
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 6:35 pm
by MrCuddles
AC Delco Voyager
Marine/RV battery
12 months warranty
15 Plate
Cranking amps- 830@0˚C and 1075@30˚C
4 pole- 2 for vehicle, 2 for music installation
Maintenance Free(but not sealed, so it may eventually need water in the distant future)
Price- $1175
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 7:56 pm
by 3stagevtec
MrCuddles wrote:AC Delco Voyager
Marine/RV battery
12 months warranty
15 Plate
Cranking amps- 830@0˚C and 1075@30˚C
4 pole- 2 for vehicle, 2 for music installation
Maintenance Free(but not sealed, so it may eventually need water in the distant future)
Price- $1175
Using this right now, both in the Vitara and my pops Mazda.. that battery is a beast. When running the winch, the voltage just falls into the 11V range. My winch can draw in excess of 350A continuous while in operation!
The extra poles came in handy for my music and connecting the winch. I got 18months warranty on mine, both directly from AC Delco..
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 8:42 pm
by civic minded
that price not that bad - i think it is the same with Track battery. I am hearing good things about ACDelco
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 10:04 pm
by kurpal_v2
wats the a/h on the ac delco?
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 10:32 pm
by 3stagevtec
around 90AH on the Voyager..
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 11:08 pm
by MrCuddles
3stage u hv dis massive ting in ur GV?!? well u do hv mor electronics dan d average GV out there so i guess it wood make sense to hv somthin dis size for the additional power, especially considering u tote around dat monster in front u all d time
but correct me if am wrong, i tink d original price frm d firm is $1395
Posted: May 26th, 2011, 11:42 pm
by lighthammer
cuddles, that's not a bad deal at all.
ACDelco is a good battery.
Just make sure you getting the full 15-plate.
And buy a bigger-gauge jumper!! (at least 6-gauge, or 4-gauge)
Posted: June 6th, 2011, 7:49 pm
by termite01
I had a Track with a 12 mth warranty, I get 12 months 3 days. Also the covers to top up battery water not friendly. Talking bout friendly it was real poor service at Lange to validate warranty after purchase.
Posted: June 6th, 2011, 8:37 pm
by 3stagevtec
MrCuddles wrote:3stage u hv dis massive ting in ur GV?!? well u do hv mor electronics dan d average GV out there so i guess it wood make sense to hv somthin dis size for the additional power, especially considering u tote around dat monster in front u all d time
but correct me if am wrong, i tink d original price frm d firm is $1395
I had an XS Power Group 31 battery costing $2900 and capable of dishing out 5000A!

That together with a Group 34 Battery capable of 3300A.. All that power was used to play my audio setup at the time for a maximum of 3 seconds during competition.. lol
Posted: June 6th, 2011, 8:38 pm
by 3stagevtec
termite01 wrote:I had a Track with a 12 mth warranty, I get 12 months 3 days. Also the covers to top up battery water not friendly. Talking bout friendly it was real poor service at Lange to validate warranty after purchase.
stress!

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 9:05 pm
by nick009
kurpal_v2 wrote:nick009 wrote:i have a normal battery from laughlin cant rmeember the name of the batteries they sell nah

Track? We use those like disposables in our trucks
i dont think laughlin sells track ? its a rocket i believe
Posted: June 6th, 2011, 10:34 pm
by venum
I use Rocket religiously in All our vehicles
I get ~ 2 years from them
SMF in the cars and regular in tje truck
I prefer to add water to the big one in the truck and it lasts just as long as the SMF
Used AC Delco too, great battery, but more $ than the Rocket and it lasts about the same time
Posted: June 26th, 2011, 2:07 am
by MrCuddles
k guys i need yall opinion on dis one....
i was told dat to extend my batery's life i shood get a battery case becaus it will help shield the battery frm excessive amounts of heat generated by d engine
nw i hv no clue whether there is any truth behind it, but was told i can get these cases at Peake's in PoS......confirmation anyone??
Posted: June 26th, 2011, 8:44 am
by Team Loco
whats a battery case? enclosed fixture? wouldnt that trap heat?
i use AC delco, good battery but i get the same life out of it like a track battery.
Posted: June 26th, 2011, 9:25 am
by nick009
i think he means the heat shield enclosure that comes with most cars and some vans now.
Saw the navarra has this.
These arent totally enclosed so it doesnt trap heat and i think it does keep the battery cooler also.
Posted: June 26th, 2011, 11:41 am
by lighthammer
^^ my navarararara don't have it.
No worries about the heat man, the battery is far enough that it wont' be affected too much - plus that huge front grill lets in more than enough air to keep the battery cool, esp. since the battery is front mounted.
Just make sure it's topped up regularly, and maybe carry it in every 6 months or so to get tested at wherever you bought it so you can make warranty claims early and not have to fight up with them later on (that's what we did with meh fadda L200 in L&DG)
Posted: June 26th, 2011, 2:43 pm
by 3stagevtec
The metal sleeves for batteries are there to help stop them from swelling in the heat and extend their life..
Posted: June 29th, 2011, 6:56 pm
by nick009
lighthammer wrote:^^ my navarararara don't have it.
No worries about the heat man, the battery is far enough that it wont' be affected too much - plus that huge front grill lets in more than enough air to keep the battery cool, esp. since the battery is front mounted.
Just make sure it's topped up regularly, and maybe carry it in every 6 months or so to get tested at wherever you bought it so you can make warranty claims early and not have to fight up with them later on (that's what we did with meh fadda L200 in L&DG)
orrr coulda swear it did thou.

the shield i talking bout looks like this, not familiar with the metal sleeve any pics of that?