Help>Problem with Toyota Vigo.Engine light came on.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Rotated

Help>Problem with Toyota Vigo.Engine light came on.

Postby Rotated » April 5th, 2011, 10:52 pm

Hey guys I was driving and my engine light came on and the vehicle lost some power,the idle was normal and it was only when i tried to accelerate you felt the difference/lost in power.
I switched off the van and re-started and the light came off and the vehicle worked fine,but i still went ahead and changed the fuel filter (which is abt 2500km old) thinking some water had gotten into the system.The van ran great for abt one and a half hours,then overtook some cars on the creek and the light came on again followed by the loss in power.I pulled to the side and switched off the van and re-started and the light came off and the van worked great all the way home to Point.
Any ideas as to what the problem is or suggestions as to what to do next.?

Re: Help>Problem with Toyota Vigo.Engine light came on.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 5th, 2011, 11:14 pm

My 1st suggestion was going to be to check the fuel filter. When you took off the old filter, did you empty the contents and checked to see what was in it?

What other issues can cause the check light to come on? Leaking intake piping somewhere? check all the connections from the turbo to the intake manifold..

Rotated

Postby Rotated » April 5th, 2011, 11:20 pm

There was just some accumulated Grime at the base of the filter housing.Cleaned everything out before installing the new one.
Will try to see if anythings loose,but what seems to confuse me is why the light doesn't remain on even when the van is re-started and why after it is re-started it works fine for sometime then the problem occurs.
BTW:Drove from the end of the creek to Point Fortin with no problem.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 5th, 2011, 11:32 pm

Sensor failure or failing perhaps? Every time you restart the truck, you could be resetting the sensor also, which is why it works afterwards. A diagnostic scan is the only way to tell.. could be an oxygen sensor or something similar related to the engine operation, which is why you loose power..

Rotated

Postby Rotated » April 6th, 2011, 7:26 am

Will try to get it checked out.Any good mechanics in South to check this ?

pickups only

Postby pickups only » April 6th, 2011, 4:19 pm

hey dude check gary 775 4325 best in south

Postby 3stagevtec » April 6th, 2011, 6:16 pm

Kinda curious as to what caused this..

badart

Postby badart » April 6th, 2011, 10:03 pm

i knw ppl who used K&N filters in there hilux had similar problems, solution was jus to clean the MAF sensor.

Rotated

Postby Rotated » April 6th, 2011, 10:47 pm

I am running a K&N filter in my pickup...

Rotated

Postby Rotated » April 6th, 2011, 10:55 pm

Have been trying to call Sashtri whole day but got no answer...Mr Pickups Only thanx for the Info on Gary.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 7th, 2011, 8:55 am

ah feel them rims too big for that van bro.....better yuh take off them 24s and throw on some 15s muddies, and all the problems will be solved...... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

nah but seriously that could be coming from the MAF, if it was the fuel filter the light would have stayed on and you would get more problems.......

my van does not have MAF but there is and air temp sensor, i always clean and wipe it off at every filter change.....

Postby 3stagevtec » April 7th, 2011, 9:10 pm

Be careful when cleaning the MAF. Use electrical contact cleaner and spray in short bursts. Use as little as possible also.

If your ECU controls engine operation, then it may take some time to adjust itself to the clean MAF.. so it may not run properly right after the cleaning. Resetting the ECU (by disconnecting the batt) can help here.

Rotated

Postby Rotated » April 7th, 2011, 11:50 pm

Hey guys it was the Sensor at the top of the Intake box (MAF Sensor),when we did the diagnostic that problem came up,apparantly the oil from the K&N filter left a residue and hampered the workability of the sensor.Came close to buying a new one for $1300plus VAT from Toyota,luckily they didn't have any in stock...So I bought an OEM Air Filter and cleaned the sensor with "Contact Cleaner" and so far the van working great...The Mechanic did use the diagnostic computer to remove/reset the memory...

I'm so glad that it worked out this way.The mechanic said that I can still use the K&N filter if I wanted too but I would have to mentain the sensor regularly...(Frig Dat..OEM for Them Now On)

Thanx guys for all the Info and help...

Rotated

Postby Rotated » April 7th, 2011, 11:53 pm

Mr Droppa my 24's working like some 15" Mudders as is.....LoL.....
Don't underestimate the power of 2ft (24"'s)....
See U for the run bro...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 8th, 2011, 1:00 am

By chance, did you ever wash & re-oil that K&N?

That is a known flaw in the design of K&N filters but it usually occurs when people over oil them after cleaning.

($1300 + vat for a MAF is not bad at all imo..)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 8th, 2011, 7:42 am

Too much Oil on the K&N causes this problem.. Just use some Bounty napkins to dry in the extra oil on the filter before installing. Doh give up on the K&N just so dude..
Glad you got sorted out.. Imagine how much TTTL woulda charge you to get that sorted out...

droppa

Postby droppa » April 8th, 2011, 7:56 am

yeah bredren ah kno the 24s does wukk

we will see them wukkin on the 17th

badart

Postby badart » April 8th, 2011, 8:27 am

OEM filters ftw. Those who using k&n after oiling let it dry for 1-2 days before replacing it.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 8th, 2011, 8:59 am

badart wrote:OEM filters ftw. Those who using k&n after oiling let it dry for 1-2 days before replacing it.

I there with you just check the filter more regularly if you know the areas you frequent are real dusty

Rotated

Postby Rotated » April 8th, 2011, 11:14 pm

Actually I never oiled the filter since I installed it...Strange huh?.

badart

Postby badart » April 9th, 2011, 8:41 am

i noticed when i purchased a K&N filter tht it was still wet and it had oil all over the bag in which the filter was in. Didnt install it, went and talked to the service department at TTTL they said tht the K&N filter wouldn't void the warranty however the guy also said tht he doesnt recommend it cause of the oil from the filter interfering with the MAF sensor, he said tht most ppl who used K&N had this problem. Sold my filter after.

I was also told if im using it let it dry properly from some1 else. So ppl who thinking about using K&N when they buy it they should also let it dry before using it.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 9th, 2011, 9:00 am

I figure turbo engines that suck alot more air is more susceptible to this problem..

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 10th, 2011, 11:39 am

3stagevtec wrote:I figure turbo engines that suck alot more air is more susceptible to this problem..

That makes sense now for sure I will stay away from it!

azlan

Postby azlan » May 17th, 2011, 1:19 pm

Yo peeps. I had this same problem with my vigo. When we did the diagonistic it came up as the "intake manifold circuit runner" The mechanic said that the solenoid was probably bad and Toyota did not sell the solenoid separately, you have the buy the entire rack $7500 plus.....

The other option was to disconnect the solenoid so the intake flap will be open all the time which meant greater diesel consumption.... Stress.......

I eventually just tried to clean the air flow sensor with electronic cleaner and so far the engine light stopped coming on except for 2 times .... But it never did after that????

I tell allyuh , I kinda regret getting the vigo afetr hearing how many stuff that does go bad !!!

joel

Postby joel » May 17th, 2011, 11:17 pm

i had the problem....engine check light came on, van lost power. switched off then back on and it was normal. What i did notice tho was that my diesel consumption went up. the next day i went to TTTL, they told me ofter a diagnostic test the maf was fouling up because of the oil from the K&N. took an oem from them one time...them fawkers expensive tho....total come up to like 440 VI for a filter change and maf cleaning lol.

I MAY put back in the K&N cause in my opinion the van doesnt have the same grunt with the OEM. I will just have to check the maf everyso often...

dluxfan

Postby dluxfan » June 9th, 2011, 11:59 pm

Tuners I have the problem with my 3.0 auto diesel vigo. Once I reach 130km, the check light comes on and there is little acceleration power and the light remains on and this occurs until I stop and switch off the vehicle and wait for about 2 minutes then once I restart it is back to “normal” until reaching 130km when it happens every single time.

I took the vigo to my mechanics and they cleaned the MAF sensor using Electrical Contact Cleaner and still it persisted. After they took a MAF sensor from another vigo which don’t have that issue and tried on mine however nothing changed…same problem the same way.

Could it be the MAF or is there something else I need to try or know of :? as I don’t want to buy a new MAF sensor when a used working MAF sensor on another vigo failed on mine… any help/info would appreciated please

RyoTech PerFormance

Postby RyoTech PerFormance » June 10th, 2011, 2:21 am

^^^ Get a proper on board diagnosis done....
If you are interested in Advanced Diagnostic Services, feel free to contact us a Ryotech Performance. We are equipped with manufacturer level software for troubleshooting.

Regards...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 10th, 2011, 6:45 am

^^ x2. At this point, you've ruled out the MAF as being the problem, so you'll need a deeper diagnostic to be done.

dluxfan

Postby dluxfan » June 10th, 2011, 1:59 pm

Thanks for the replies, I also forgot to mention when I did a diagnostic scan before trying the other MAF, I cant rem exactly word for word how it was stated but the diagnostic showed a P code and i rem seeing as azlan stated similarly "intake manifold circuit runner" and in my result it being showed as "open" :?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”