Maintenance advice for the new RANGER

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Sierra-117

Maintenance advice for the new RANGER

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 6:49 pm

Ok peeps. Im new to the truck scene and im currently waiting for my new ranger to get licensed from the firm. Its the 4x4 2.5 auto. Still shopping around for a reputable and inexpensive insurance. Any takers you guys recommend? Can you guys offer some tips regarding the vehicle itself? Like the do's and don'ts, things to be mindful of etc etc. Diesel boyz help me out willya?

Haunted

Re: Maintenance advice for the new RANGER

Postby Haunted » March 31st, 2011, 7:33 pm

dont offroad

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 7:39 pm

Haunted wrote:dont offroad

may i ask y? cuz that was one of the deciding factors in purchasing the ranger. Or else i would have gone with a car or suv type vehicle.....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 31st, 2011, 8:53 pm

rangers are the worst vehicles to own - its better if you bought a navara or hilux or triton

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » March 31st, 2011, 8:55 pm

insurance i got quotes for alot of them an dey did not want to take me cuz i under 25....i went with tatil and got it for $7900 for d 4x2 fully loaded $165000 cuz i get some 25% off cuz tatil and Ansa mcal is same group......... remember it is not a car an it is very easy to lose control on wet corners ...dont drive hard it is not a race car .....if u want to drive hard buy a race car and go live germany

Postby sliderz1 » March 31st, 2011, 8:58 pm

civic minded wrote:rangers are the worst vehicles to own - its better if you bought a navara or hilux or triton

man stilll wanna b d onli 1 wit ah ranger yes............i hear datt :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 31st, 2011, 9:04 pm

heard last weekend a ranger and wingroad was involved in a head on collision - no one in the ranger survived.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » March 31st, 2011, 9:08 pm

^^^^ lol u good yes

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 31st, 2011, 9:10 pm

its true!!! - everyone who thinking of buying a ranger - dont!!

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 9:17 pm

civic minded wrote:its true!!! - everyone who thinking of buying a ranger - dont!!

ok i dont kno if to take you seriously or not. but you do hav up a pic of one as ur avatar so hmmmmm. come on bud, shed sum light on it will ya?

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 9:22 pm

nicholas7129 wrote:insurance i got quotes for alot of them an dey did not want to take me cuz i under 25....i went with tatil and got it for $7900 for d 4x2 fully loaded $165000 cuz i get some 25% off cuz tatil and Ansa mcal is same group......... remember it is not a car an it is very easy to lose control on wet corners ...dont drive hard it is not a race car .....if u want to drive hard buy a race car and go live germany

you went with financing? im thinking about going with tatil as well but they didnt tell me about any discount for buying the ranger which is as you said, ansa mcal...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 31st, 2011, 9:27 pm

^ don't worry about civic_minded - he just wants to be the only one with a Ranger.
You made a great choice, why not try surfing around on the Ranger-specific thread for some tips?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 31st, 2011, 9:28 pm

ok hear the deal - the blasted syrians want to make the most on we cupid people, so as the demand for the ranger goes up - they jackup their prices to laugh at us. If people stop buying the rangers - they will drop the prices and even when the new ones comes out - it will be reasonable not the rumored exorbitant prices

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » March 31st, 2011, 9:30 pm

i did not do any financing with them ....i jus took insurance from them i ask dem for discounts wen u gettin quotes ....my first quote was $14000 an look where it come down to

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 9:33 pm

nicholas7129 wrote:i did not do any financing with them ....i jus took insurance from them i ask dem for discounts wen u gettin quotes ....my first quote was $14000 an look where it come down to

thanks man...

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 9:34 pm

lighthammer wrote:^ don't worry about civic_minded - he just wants to be the only one with a Ranger.
You made a great choice, why not try surfing around on the Ranger-specific thread for some tips?

will do....

Postby sliderz1 » March 31st, 2011, 9:40 pm

civic minded wrote:ok hear the deal - the blasted syrians want to make the most on we cupid people, so as the demand for the ranger goes up - they jackup their prices to laugh at us. If people stop buying the rangers - they will drop the prices and even when the new ones comes out - it will be reasonable not the rumored exorbitant prices

ok fair enuff......but your resale will suck den.......

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 31st, 2011, 9:44 pm

itz ok - i am not planning to sell my ranger... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

so moral of the story? Dont buy a ranger!! they are no- good!

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 31st, 2011, 9:48 pm

civic minded wrote:itz ok - i am not planning to sell my ranger... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

so moral of the story? Dont buy a ranger!! they are no- good!

too late bud, jus waitin 2 collect now :)

Postby sliderz1 » March 31st, 2011, 10:06 pm

Sierra-117 wrote:Ok peeps. Im new to the truck scene and im currently waiting......

jus remem wen u get it............a pickup and def 4x4 is no car......it def handles, reacts and corners differently
so take som time an get used to it b4 stuntin and off roadin

badart

Postby badart » March 31st, 2011, 11:03 pm

shud hav waited for the 2012 ranger..

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 31st, 2011, 11:16 pm

if u taking a loan then most financial institutions have their preferred insurers. when i was shopping around best deal i got for a pick up was from toyota who had dey super zero ting wid republic and colfire.....

got an even better deal from colfire cause de sales man from toyota had a link wid a padnah who is a broker....who end up being a padnah of a coworker......who after some discussion gave me a superb price of less than $10,000 for de vehicle worth $270,000.

of course i transferred meh full no claim discount from my other car....and paid with meh credit card. they also give discount for stuff like having a credit union account, having defensive driving, being over 25 etc....so make sure and shop around...cause dem facking insurance does wanna charge big money and den when u make a claim den u does have to go in they head office with a piece ah pipe and threaten people...(talking from experince eh!)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 1st, 2011, 7:30 am

You shoulda go with the Hilux newblood! The Ranger is not bad tho.... The Hilux is just far Superior... ;)
Smeed My insurance is up in June and I hating having to pay $10,000+ for insurance... We gotta come together and sort out best Full Comp insurance options... (I'm with Guardian General - Full discount...)
Perhaps a specific thread relating to insurance is in order!

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 1st, 2011, 7:44 am

^ guardian is one of the better companies out there......

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 1st, 2011, 8:15 am

Guardian General is no doubt excellent... but i guess its a case of you get what you pay for... Hmmmm...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 1st, 2011, 8:18 am

i was with GGI wid de mazda 3....my premium did not drop in the 3 years i was with them and i had no claims!!

i know people were rating them up a while ago....but if they as a company had to make plenty pay outs to customers....then customers should not have to feel that in such high premiums!!

how could my car devalue every year, but my premium keeps going up and i made no claims during the past year? i was very dissatisfied with them...their customer service at the marabella and independence avenue branches also sucks!! i had to real restrain my self when i went for my no claim letter....dey were not very nice!

badart

Postby badart » April 1st, 2011, 8:37 am

insurance is a killer, i had to do defense driving to lower my insurance and it didnt lower it by much, the 1st year i paid around $18,000, 2nd yr was $16,000, 3rd yr was $14,000. Im with tatil cant wait to cross 25 :?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 1st, 2011, 8:47 am

I paid like $10,700.00 last year... 1st year... donno what its gonna be this time... but i will be shopping around.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 1st, 2011, 4:36 pm

I paid $10,600 with Sagicor, with a 3 year NCD.
Navara cost $200,000 flat.

My agent says I can get up to 20% discount with Carsearch.
Will have to install that soon.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 1st, 2011, 5:18 pm

maritime is the best thus far - they are expensive but when it comes to claims - they process the fastest. Currently i have 70% no claim discount with them with the ranger. Best of all - when the windscreen got a crack and i request for a windscreen replacement - I didnt even bother to go into the insurance, just called and went to bhola's and got it replace there same day and they just billed the insurance. I got it without paying a cent. Mind you i replace the windscreen in the Civic not the ranger. I have the ranger for over a year now and no claims yet.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”