any diesel boys have experiance with ALGAE-X??
Posted: March 21st, 2011, 8:06 pm
by madcoolieboy
i find the concept of the product and what it has been advertised to do very interesting. i've spoken to the sales rep from tank an fuel and he told me everything that it does. However, i'm calling on the diesel boyz to help me out here.
anybody have it installed?
it duz wok?
cuz ah doh want tuh jump out with a 1500 busy busy and den feel tuh kik mehself 2days after nah. seeing that meh van goin by dem vampire syrian

tuh 25k service this week and daiz a piece a change by itself..
thanks
Re: any diesel boys have experiance with ALGAE-X??
Posted: March 21st, 2011, 8:23 pm
by MrCuddles
chek biggy he hv it installed in he Nav
Posted: March 21st, 2011, 10:36 pm
by Team Loco
do your proper research. check biggy, he has it a while now
Posted: March 22nd, 2011, 6:13 pm
by biggy82
yea, check biggy, he have.......wait whut?
its a simple install: goes between pump and filter. it breaks up hard or congealed stuff (agglomeration) that can occur in diesel when allowed to settle. this can range from heavy ends to bioligical content. i dont have to tell you what can happen when solids get into a fuel rail that is designed for liquid.
it also disperses SOME water; nearly atomizes it thus protecting the injectors / cylinders from damage. it cannot disperse a lot of water, but it is much better that the best chemical water scavengers on the market right now
performance / economical wise, there is really no change. it doesn't affect the cetane level of the diesel, only its physical properties. its there to protect the Common Rail (CR) which, because of the extremely high pressures involved (up to 4000psi), is very expensive to repair / replace
as a result of the poor quality diesel we have here, sometimes the Algae-X can be overloaded and thus leave some of the agglomeration stuck on the internal walls. a simple manual clean is all that is required. i usually do it when doing my 10K services
Posted: March 22nd, 2011, 6:30 pm
by MrCuddles
wat about fuel injected diesels biggy, same benefits??
Posted: March 22nd, 2011, 7:04 pm
by biggy82
anything that has the potential to be clogged up by solids will benefit from this product. once it have injectors, then yes
Posted: March 22nd, 2011, 11:34 pm
by MrCuddles
wats d cost bigs??
Posted: March 23rd, 2011, 1:07 am
by biggy82
when i had it installed back in 2007, it was $1600 fitted. think the price has gone up now to $1800
Posted: March 23rd, 2011, 7:37 am
by MrCuddles
so wey dat mad Indo Trini get $1500 frm?!?
Posted: March 23rd, 2011, 8:05 am
by Sierra-117
well lucky him if he can get it cheaper

Posted: March 23rd, 2011, 8:29 am
by 4wd
I ran one on my TBW Nissan Frontier 3.0 and it did nothing at all. The filter still clogged up and not just with Peakes Gas Station water!
Sorry I can't recommend this product.
But maybe others have had success...
Posted: March 23rd, 2011, 9:56 am
by MrCuddles
4wd wrote:I ran one on my TBW Nissan Frontier 3.0 and it did nothing at all.
dats exactly wat i was gonna use it on.....tanx fuh d info 4wd, u jus saved me $1800

Posted: March 24th, 2011, 2:52 pm
by topshotta20
biggy82 wrote:yea, check biggy, he have.......wait whut?
as a result of the poor quality diesel we have here, sometimes the Algae-X can be overloaded and thus leave some of the agglomeration stuck on the internal walls. a simple manual clean is all that is required. i usually do it when doing my 10K services
How do you clean it?
with running water alone
Posted: March 24th, 2011, 5:38 pm
by biggy82
^^^and some bars injector cleaner
Posted: March 24th, 2011, 6:39 pm
by topshotta20
biggy82 wrote:^^^and some bars injector cleaner
Will WD work
Posted: March 25th, 2011, 12:32 am
by biggy82
same difference......
Posted: July 19th, 2012, 11:28 am
by MISHI
reviving: dumb question: considering the diesel can clog it quickly, does it make sense to say; run 2 or to be even more ridiculous 3 in line?
Posted: July 31st, 2012, 9:31 am
by liquimolytt
You should use an additive in the tank
Try Liqui Moly Super Diesel Additive
for info on where you can purcahse check facebook Liqui Moly Trinidad & Tobago
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Liqui-Mo ... 588?ref=hlSuper Diesel Additive
with Cetan Plus for greater engine performance, less Diesel knocking, quieter running and easier starting. Cleans the engine and injection system and prevents injector needles from seizing or resinifying. Secures the optimum utilisation and energy-conserving combustion of fuels. Reduces corrosion and wear. The plus for super-Diesel fuels. Suitable for low-sulphur Diesel fuels. Tested for compatibility with
turbochargerIntended use
Suitable for all Diesel engines in passenger and commercials vehicles, construction machinery and stationary engines. Outstandingly suitable for preserving engines, even during long periods of non-use under extreme conditions. With long-term effect for 2000 km. When the product is added, the tank must be at least 3 /4 full. 250 ml is sufficient for up to 75 litres of fuel.
Posted: July 31st, 2012, 2:38 pm
by roti102
This algaeX thing seems like a snake oil product like putting a magnet on your fuel line to magnetize the fuel and make it burn better. lol