new SsangYong Actyon Sport?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
damieG82

new SsangYong Actyon Sport?

Postby damieG82 » March 4th, 2011, 1:40 pm

courtesy the SsangYong display at this year's Geneva Auto Show, here's their 'SUT 1' concept. Can't help but think this is the new Actyon (well in a dressier 'concept car' form)

lighthammer

Re: new SsangYong Actyon Sport?

Postby lighthammer » March 4th, 2011, 2:22 pm

hey i didnt know Kia made pickup trucks??!!

LOL at least it looks better than the current generation Ssyang Young Actyong.

Postby sliderz1 » March 4th, 2011, 8:27 pm

dosent it have tiptronic??

i find d tray rel small tho :SSSSSSSSSSSSS

Postby 3stagevtec » March 4th, 2011, 10:10 pm

wow, that looks great! and if it is Mercedes powered as well, it seems like a good buy..

me like..

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 5th, 2011, 3:49 am

much better looking than the current Actyon. ditto on the tray size being too small

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 5th, 2011, 7:38 am

Looks like the lancer and the kia cerato came together and got married, and then they had a threesome with a honda accord.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 5th, 2011, 11:52 am

biggy82 wrote:much better looking than the current Actyon. ditto on the tray size being too small

to me it seems like they did their research when building this truck.. exactly how many of the luxury / pickup owners ever use their trucks for transporting / hauling stuff? and when ever they do, it usually for transporting small items to the beach etc..

in this case, smaller tray = larger interior = more leg room / comfort = better daily use truck..

Postby sliderz1 » March 5th, 2011, 6:01 pm

^^^^ it'd stil be btr to have both as in my case my pickup is d work horse as well as a family ride.......------> Nav and Lux by comparison.......

Postby 3stagevtec » March 5th, 2011, 7:01 pm

sliderz1 wrote:^^^^ it'd stil be btr to have both as in my case my pickup is d work horse as well as a family ride.......------> Nav and Lux by comparison.......

I agree in having both, but compromising some tray space for interior space is a good idea imo.. That truck can still carry bags of cement / a few bricks / tiles etc for the odd house job.. Remember 99.9% of the time, your average family will not use the tray..

Postby sliderz1 » March 5th, 2011, 9:29 pm

what you think would b d payload of dis truck???

Postby sliderz1 » March 5th, 2011, 9:39 pm

lighthammer wrote:Looks like the lancer and the kia cerato came together and got married, and then they had a threesome with a honda accord.

so a car 3 some = Sport Pick up?? :evilbat:

hahaha

venum

Postby venum » March 5th, 2011, 11:52 pm

sliderz1 wrote:what you think would b d payload of dis truck???

the last one was ~ 800kg

had rear coil springs and independant suspension too

the current model is spitefully ugly

this model looks good

i won't buy one though

if it ain't japanese . . . it ain't good in Trinidad

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 6th, 2011, 5:16 am

sliderz1 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:Looks like the lancer and the kia cerato came together and got married, and then they had a threesome with a honda accord.

so a car 3 some = Sport Pick up?? :evilbat:

hahaha

Yeah, why not?
It had quite a few car-companies that tried to make pickups out of cars...

The old Subaru Baja

Holden pickup (with a 6.2L V8 engine)

A peugeot-something-something...

An american classic - El Camino

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 6th, 2011, 11:43 am

pull up on d cross wit a fridge in d tray.....an still cuttin a$$!!! dat Holden win! :twisted:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 6th, 2011, 12:49 pm

^^ yess it does...! i love itt! nice colour tooO!

Postby sliderz1 » March 6th, 2011, 4:15 pm

dat Hoggar livin up 2 peugeut unmistakable stylin..............

if d looks on d Holden eh ketch yuh........d V8 will

venum

Postby venum » March 7th, 2011, 10:31 am

the el camino is prob the most successful of car-turned-pickups

saw some clean and well done ones in texas last year

the actyon is prob the newest line of these

they still crappy imho

between that and a wingle, well it's a hard choice,

the chinese may win

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » March 9th, 2011, 3:17 pm

And the Wingle styling is getting better...
Wingle 5

Wingle 3

Don't know about the built quality....

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » March 9th, 2011, 5:07 pm

lighthammer and venum, I think yall are mistaken about this vehicle on a number of fronts

first off, this is NOT a car-turned-pickup like the El Camino, and others as pictured above. The current Actyon is a proper utility vehicle employing a separate ladder frame as opposed to a monocoque. It also has selectable 4 wheel drive with low range for true off road performance, which you can see in many a youtube video.

What actually makes it superior to other pickups is its 4 wheel independent coil suspension, 6 speed auto tranny with tiptronic control, and passenger-centric body, ie load space is reduced to gain superior interior room becuz lets face it, 'lifestyle' vehicles like this hardly ever do any large/heavy load carrying.

Additionally, SsangYong uses Mercedes knowhow in its chassis and engine design since the two companies shared an official alliance some years back. And this brings me to build quality... it's far superior to a GWM Wingle. Heck, I'd say a 15 year old Musso has better build quality. One look at any fleet service Wingle is proof positive of this fact

Postby sliderz1 » March 9th, 2011, 7:38 pm

Rutless Tiida wrote:And the Wingle styling is getting better...
Wingle 5

Don't know about the built quality....

wingle 5 lookin aite.......front totally different frm d 1st

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » March 24th, 2011, 5:01 pm

it aint looking too bad...it reminds me of the small size 2 door Skoda we had down here a while back...

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 31st, 2011, 4:29 pm

saw d new model wingle today, it actually looks.....NICE!!

Postby sliderz1 » March 31st, 2011, 8:41 pm

^^ah on d look out..............

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 31st, 2011, 9:28 pm

Maybe i'll do a review for my blog... hmmm.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”