Which should I buy ?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
pickupguy

Which should I buy ?

Postby pickupguy » January 31st, 2011, 5:17 pm

Hey guys,

Any advice on which pickup to buy....

Looking at 4X4, Automatic, Turbo, Diesel

The Ford Ranger is 220K / 2.5 engine
Sportero is 249K / 3.0 engine
Toyota Hilux is 255K / 3.0 engine
Navarra is 233K / 2.5 engine

Jeremy Mohd

Re: Which should I buy ?

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 31st, 2011, 6:44 pm

Not the Ranger... them van no good.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 31st, 2011, 6:47 pm

wdf, this topic has been beaten to d......

**looks at join date**

steups, i'll excuse you. check: viewtopic.php?f=41&t=327141

and next tiime, do a search first

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 31st, 2011, 6:55 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Not the Ranger... them van no good.

what he said - buy the navara or the hilux

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 31st, 2011, 7:07 pm

civic minded wrote:
Jeremy Mohd wrote:Not the Ranger... them van no good.

what he said - buy the navara or the hilux

yeah yeahh, 'them van bess'

Haunted

Postby Haunted » January 31st, 2011, 7:33 pm

It all depends on what you are looking for out of the truck dont listen to the two above...they drive rangers....if you wat you can wait till around august when the 2011 ford ranger becomes available in trinidad...they 2011 ranger is more of a family vehicle (bigger back seat, more comfortable ride) but come with a 3.5 litre engine i was told they runnin around 275k i maybe wrong.... i have driven all of the vehicles before and as i said it depends on what you plan to do to your vehicle...eg. you want to put chrome buy a sportero

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » January 31st, 2011, 8:17 pm

pickupguy wrote:Sportero is 249K / 3.0 engine

:? i tort d sportero only came 2.5ltr, an Tritons were 3.2 :?

Haunted

Postby Haunted » January 31st, 2011, 9:39 pm

^^^ thts good tlk :|

civic minded

Postby civic minded » January 31st, 2011, 9:43 pm

Haunted wrote: you want to put chrome buy a sportero

thats racist! so what you never see a bling out Navara or Hilux before? you can put chrome on anything - hell i see a badup bmx bike with spinners and twin subs making more noise than anything else.

Just dont buy the ranger!!! stay far from them!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » February 1st, 2011, 12:26 am

civic minded wrote:
Haunted wrote: you want to put chrome buy a sportero

thats racist! so what you never see a bling out Navara or Hilux before? you can put chrome on anything - hell i see a badup bmx bike with spinners and twin subs making more noise than anything else.

Just dont buy the ranger!!! stay far from them!

HAHAHAHHA sportero's could hold the biggest chrome easy ive seen a sportero with 26's on it easy hilux is a good everything for family wise and it looks good...navaras have toes and FORD HAVE POWER!!!

so all in end:
HILUX = Good overall family vehicle and looks good
SPORTERO = Chrome master
NAVARA = good for pace
RANGER = REL POWER AND TORQUE (which is what every 4x4 wants)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 1st, 2011, 6:10 am

so all in end:
HILUX = Good overall family vehicle and if you have money to throw away
SPORTERO = like goldilocks & babybear porridge, feels just right... unless you have big things to move in the tray, then it's too small
NAVARA = big and powerful, but a beyotch to park in tight spots
RANGER = REL POWER AND TORQUE (and REL SMALL BACKSEAT)

Fixed.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 1st, 2011, 3:02 pm

Hilux all the way... Especially because of IMV

badart

Postby badart » February 1st, 2011, 3:25 pm

the hilux is worth every cent
-has the most comfortable ride
-low maintenance compared to other brands (Check the stickies you would see what im talking about, end up paying more in the long run to maintain other brands) where i live there r alot of hilux and most of these ppl service outside of toyota, they jus change filters, oil n grease up etc n never had any problems
-highest resale value as all toyota's have
-its has the best ground clearance for off roading
-it is with out a doubt one of the best 4x4's stock trucks (my hilux keeps on amazing me with its worn Highway tires when i go off roading sometimes i think it is really invincible)
- fuel efficient i get 500/550 kms from 3/4 tank
- in terms of performance its not the worst 173HP/343NM of torque, good performance gets the job done
-reliable and virtually problem free
-has VSC (vehicle stability control) never fishtailed or lost control around a corner - comes in handy off road
-because of the height its easy to drive and park
-its is one of the best selling light truck around the world, also it is still the number 1 selling truck in trinidad. Toyota is still number one in the world after all its recalls etc http://www.worldcarfans.com/111012630548/toyota-still-number-one-in-global-sales let the facts speak for themselves

there isnt anything bad u cud say bout the hilux

the only truck i can see tht would be better than the hilux is the 2012 ranger..however im sure the next gen hilux wud be better than tht :D

Haunted

Postby Haunted » February 1st, 2011, 8:13 pm

badart wrote:the hilux is worth every cent----MY TWO CENTS
-has the most comfortable rideONLY CUZ IT HAS COILS IN FRONT
-low maintenance compared to other brands (Check the stickies you would see what im talking about, end up paying more in the long run to maintain other brands) where i live there r alot of hilux and most of these ppl service outside of toyota, they jus change filters, oil n grease up etc n never had any problems THERES A REASON WHY THEY SERVICE OUTSIDE TOYOTA...SO DAMN EXPENSIVE TO MAINTAIN
-its has the best ground clearance for off roading GROUND CLEARANCE IS DETERMINED BY THE TYRES YOU USE... :|
-it is with out a doubt one of the best 4x4's stock trucks (my hilux keeps on amazing me with its worn Highway tires when i go off roading sometimes i think it is really invincible) EVERY1 HAS THEIR OWN OPINION
- fuel efficient i get 500/550 kms from 3/4 tank CANT SAY ANYTHING MY RANGER HAS SO MUCH WEIGHT ON IT I FORGOT WHAT FUEL EFFICIENCY IS
- in terms of performance its not the worst 173HP/343NM of torque, good performance gets the job done RANGER STILL BETTER =]
-reliable and virtually problem free SO IS EVERY BRAND NEW VEHICLE....IS NOT A XBOX WE TALKIN BOUT
-has VSC (vehicle stability control) never fishtailed or lost control around a corner - comes in handy off road YET IN THE MOOSE TEST IT ALMOST FLIPPED?
-because of the height its easy to drive and park THE HILUX IS THE HIGHEST OUT OF ALL STOCK TRUCKS
-its is one of the best selling light truck around the world, also it is still the number 1 selling truck in trinidad. Toyota is still number one in the world after all its recalls etc http://www.worldcarfans.com/111012630548/toyota-still-number-one-in-global-sales let the facts speak for themselves

the only truck i can see tht would be better than the hilux is the 2012 ranger..however im sure the next gen hilux wud be better than tht :D

=]

Haunted

Postby Haunted » February 1st, 2011, 8:17 pm

hahaha light u rel made me laugh there

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 1st, 2011, 8:37 pm

brand loyalty is a hell of a thing - remind me of the fast and furious days....lol
anyways to each his own.....carry on.

badart

Postby badart » February 1st, 2011, 9:37 pm

Haunted wrote:
badart wrote:the hilux is worth every cent----MY TWO CENTS
-has the most comfortable rideONLY CUZ IT HAS COILS IN FRONT
-low maintenance compared to other brands (Check the stickies you would see what im talking about, end up paying more in the long run to maintain other brands) where i live there r alot of hilux and most of these ppl service outside of toyota, they jus change filters, oil n grease up etc n never had any problems THERES A REASON WHY THEY SERVICE OUTSIDE TOYOTA...SO DAMN EXPENSIVE TO MAINTAIN
-its has the best ground clearance for off roading GROUND CLEARANCE IS DETERMINED BY THE TYRES YOU USE... :|
-it is with out a doubt one of the best 4x4's stock trucks (my hilux keeps on amazing me with its worn Highway tires when i go off roading sometimes i think it is really invincible) EVERY1 HAS THEIR OWN OPINION
- fuel efficient i get 500/550 kms from 3/4 tank CANT SAY ANYTHING MY RANGER HAS SO MUCH WEIGHT ON IT I FORGOT WHAT FUEL EFFICIENCY IS
- in terms of performance its not the worst 173HP/343NM of torque, good performance gets the job done RANGER STILL BETTER =]
-reliable and virtually problem free SO IS EVERY BRAND NEW VEHICLE....IS NOT A XBOX WE TALKIN BOUT
-has VSC (vehicle stability control) never fishtailed or lost control around a corner - comes in handy off road YET IN THE MOOSE TEST IT ALMOST FLIPPED?
-because of the height its easy to drive and park THE HILUX IS THE HIGHEST OUT OF ALL STOCK TRUCKS

=]

btw the hilux tht failed the moose test was the older model hilux.. tht didnt hav vsc..the latest hilux has vsc, bigger rims and suspension has been modified. Also i service at toyota n i dont think its expensive, actually cheaper than some dealerships.

pickupguy

Postby pickupguy » February 2nd, 2011, 1:51 pm

Hrmmm.. Well thanks guys.... I think my mind is made up..... after I drove the......

Toyota Hilux...... Real nice......

pickupguy

Postby pickupguy » February 2nd, 2011, 2:00 pm

Might have to wait till May for a 4x4 tho....

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 2nd, 2011, 2:06 pm

And your woes with Toyota Trinidad start..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 2nd, 2011, 2:25 pm

lawd, ah have a padnah who waiting to get his hilux - they real giving him a runaround for the truck. Latest news is the hilux supposed to reach at end of may - i.e. he has to 4 whole months to get his truck.

Have a search through this forum, endless stories about TttL giving trouble just to get a damn vehicle. Plus is expensive to maintain.

BTW, I checked personally and the new hiluxes do not come with VSC - toyota discontinued this feature in the latest model hilux. Confirmed this with two other folks who were looking to buy hiluxes too.

badart

Postby badart » February 2nd, 2011, 3:54 pm

i had to wait for mines too,,it jus shows how fast it sells..worth the wait in the end

which model hilux u checked? my hilux has VSC and i hav the latest model. i guess depends on the model hilux u buy. IF u asked a salesperson then i doubt they even knw what VSC is

Good choice pickupguy lol if hav any questions bout the hilux feel free to ask

badart

Postby badart » February 2nd, 2011, 4:09 pm

and why everybody who doesnt hav a hilux saying it expensive to maintain..leave those remarks to ppl who actually hav a hilux nah lol allyuh aint easy nah - btw if servicin at TTTL the prices are well displayed on a notice board by the service department so u wud knw the price of each service before.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 2nd, 2011, 4:38 pm

i doh bash toyota at all -i think they are very good over priced vehicles ..but i need a vehicle to work hard and play hard- and to me - Ford all the way baby!! ... but the rest of alyah - doh buy no blasted ford - buy the hilux.... :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 2nd, 2011, 5:28 pm

Here's the standard piece of advice....

Don't buy based only on what other people say. Go to the dealerships, sit in the truck. Test drive it. Ask questions. Go with your gut feeling, not what others say is the best, or because one guy loves his brand more than the other.

At the end of the day, it's you who has to drive it, park it, watch it in the garage, maintain it. It's you.. not us.

I was indecisive for almost 6 months myself, and then I chose the brand of truck that was best suited to my own personal needs - not the needs of the next guy on this forum.

No short way or shortcut around it man - that is, if you want 100% satisfaction with your $200,000-plus vehicle.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 2nd, 2011, 5:58 pm

^^for true - its alot of money to put out and make sure what you buy is what you want.

Haunted

Postby Haunted » February 2nd, 2011, 7:55 pm

as i said be4...hilux has the best stock suspension ride but thats only cause it gots coils in front....but its your decision.....but i still stand behind ranger all the way...

exactly what you want a pickup for?

badart

Postby badart » February 2nd, 2011, 9:31 pm

i was not tryin to convince any1 to buy a hilux, was jus clearing up some mis-conceptions many non hilux owners have about the hilux.

everyone is different and hav different taste and wht ever ppl choose to buy doesnt make a difference to me once they r happy wit their purchase cus i knw i am.

imagine if every1 had a hilux, how boring tht wud be lol?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 2nd, 2011, 10:44 pm

Bro give me a Call i'll do what i can to ensure you get you Hilux ASAP. Perhaps Next week if you are ready... 351-9380

You will love your Hilux...
I service at TTTL too.. if reasonable in my opinion.
Customer Service and Professionalism has always be tops from the Service Dept.
;)

pickupguy

Postby pickupguy » February 3rd, 2011, 2:26 pm

lighthammer wrote:Here's the standard piece of advice....

Don't buy based only on what other people say. Go to the dealerships, sit in the truck. Test drive it. Ask questions. Go with your gut feeling, not what others say is the best, or because one guy loves his brand more than the other.

At the end of the day, it's you who has to drive it, park it, watch it in the garage, maintain it. It's you.. not us.

I was indecisive for almost 6 months myself, and then I chose the brand of truck that was best suited to my own personal needs - not the needs of the next guy on this forum.

No short way or shortcut around it man - that is, if you want 100% satisfaction with your $200,000-plus vehicle.

I hear you....

My own thoughts so far....

Nissan Navara... too low to the ground.. I prefer higher

Ford Ranger... Very rugged... But ride not very comfortable....

Sportero... I'm not to keen on the sahpe of it....

Hilux.... Real nice.... but expensive...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”