Intercooler in a Frontier

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
MrCuddles

Intercooler in a Frontier

Postby MrCuddles » December 3rd, 2010, 12:03 pm

am tinkin bout installin an intercooler in my 3L Frontier since it never came wit one originally, d intercooler is a top-mount frm a Subaru Forester which i wanna install as a front mount in mine, dimensions 19x8x3inches it has a recir. valve an tap for water/methanol sprayer
however, my mechanic advised against it sayin dat the pipes/hoses will be an issue to run because of the limited space available, dey may need to run under the van an so be exposed to d elements thus restrictin my off-roadin capabilities evn further
also the safety aspect of it is that because the intercooler will most likely be showin frm the front it will be very easy for som1 to sabotage ur truck since cuttin the pipes/hoses on the front will allow dust and sand to go directly into ur engine unfiltered
i kno that i will get maximum performance frm my Frontier by installin the intercooler, but i dont want the complications outlined above.....any info/advice will be greatly appreciated

Re: Intercooler in a Frontier

Postby sliderz1 » December 3rd, 2010, 6:29 pm

......d NISSAN PATROL came with ZD30ddti...daz intercooled.....an dat made 170hp.... daz @ least 20hp more dan d frontier ZD30t. with som tuning yuh could give dem NAVARA ah run 4 dey money with d extra hp
rel pickups have intercoolers infront so it eh nothin 2 b worried bout...........an pipe anywhere but below d vehicle ITS A 4X4!!!!!!! LOL
if u go thru lemme kno d result

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 4th, 2010, 9:36 am

WAW!! didnt kno d intercooler in d Patrol made such a huge difference, dats not too far off frm hw many horses a Nav puts out, not worried bout d front mount issue jus wonderin if d top-mount intercooler will work in dis front mount application
an no worries, not a single pipe or hose gonna be exposed i hv d safety of my truck to tink about
will let yall kno of my progress whether it be success/failure

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 4th, 2010, 10:10 am

^I had asked my mech about installing a FMIC on the frontier. He said it's possible but the front grill may need a litte cutting. There's a good bit of space in the front of the radiator so I don't see why a small FMIC like those in the Ranger and Sportero wouldn't work.

Not sure about the top-mount IC though - the main problem I see is space and getting it all to fit. If you gonna run pipes under the engine, it's best then to also upgrade the underbody protection and mount a couple more skid-plates.

Keep in mind other issues like loss in boost (the 3.0frontier ZD30T runs at 12psi stock, I believe). Your main gain would be the engine doesn't labour as much on a hot day. U know how the engine runs much smoother and is more responsive on a cool evening or at night? It'll run like that all the time with an IC installed.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 4th, 2010, 10:27 am

so to solve dat prob i wood therefore hv to raise d boost, rite? wood increase power, but woodnt dat affect my fuel economy??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 4th, 2010, 1:17 pm

The ZD30T frontiers can handle up to 18lbs boost, from what I've heard.
Not sure on how the fuel economy would be affected, but I doubt there would be much of a change.

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2010, 9:23 pm

have the liquid cooled intercooler from the td27, which mounts behind the engine, eeeef u interested.

Postby sliderz1 » December 5th, 2010, 2:46 pm

fuel econmomy would depend on how u use your extra power............ runnin less harder for same power output.....or same press pedal with more speed.........the latter would decrease ur F.E.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 5th, 2010, 10:21 pm

wood be relly hard to refrain frm usin all those extra horses....especially wen dem navs an dem wanna play dey coastin on yuh 8-) lol
but den agen, bouncy suspension + 170hp = DISASTER!! so maybe it relly mite increase my f.e. :roll:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 6th, 2010, 8:25 am

Installing an Intercooler that size WILL be a challenge, but it is possible. I remember seeing a big fridge installed on a frontier a few years back in San Fernando but didn't get a chance to talk to the driver to see how he made the fit. Around that same time a small batch of D22's went back to N&M for problems with the intercoolers...they started to leak, causing an obvious loss in power.

A bouncy suspension with that kinda power is definitely a disaster, but I was speaking to my nephew just yesterday about the front suspension on his D22 and he retrofitted with the torsion bars from a Mitsubishi.... it took some work to make the fit, but he's not getting the bouncing while travelling at high speeds. I know it sounds crazy, but he does crazy things with cars....currently building a V8 RX7...it's like putting a volcano in a go-cart :lol:

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » December 6th, 2010, 9:55 am

i posted a thread prior based on this same topic but i was planning to move my top mount (yd25tdi) to a front mount got a intercooler to fit the air dam in the bumper exact however there is no place in the front apron to pass the piping ......however in my research ive seen the front mount done on the zd30 an its alot easiermay jus need to sacrifice the water bottle .....do a lil reading alll the info for the front mount intercooler on the zd30 is available ..think is either frontier or navara forums!

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 6th, 2010, 10:39 am

tanx fuh all d info guys, still tryna figure out hw am gonna do dis ting, jus to get it in seems like rel headache an i dont wanna buy somting dat am not sure can work

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » December 6th, 2010, 1:13 pm

^^^^funny thing is i got the intercooler and pipin an i stop cuz is real headache ....im now considering upgrading the topmount with a VR4 ......if i were u i would go top mount with the yd25 hood !

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 6th, 2010, 6:15 pm

gr8 suggestion was tinkin bout dat self but question is, wey d arse i findin d intercooler, all pipin/hoses necessary an d bonnet with scoop?!? cheked d bamboo an found nuttin.....doh tell meh ah hv to go brand new, caus neither Neal nor Massy gettin my dineros!!

Postby sliderz1 » December 6th, 2010, 9:17 pm

amm.......bac on tuner a couple mnths abac had a guy tryna sell a right off frontier's parts.......see if u could find it--> daz fully loaded 4X2 with d bonet scoop........an if d top mount intercooler for d engine dere...u kno wat to do...........

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 3rd, 2011, 9:36 am

ok guys, here i go agen "Intercooler in a Frontier" take 2!!

well am gettin the top mount IC off a YD25 Frontier dis weeken, will hv to do som scouting for da bonnet with scoop(unless one of y'all cood point me in d rite direction) but my only concern nw is the space btwn the ZD30 engine an bonnet isnt all dat much, so am nw left wonderin if d IC wood evn fit.....

if any u guys hv seen or kno of this setup being possible plz inform me, since it wood be heartbreakin to start a project like dis only to realize it isnt possible :|

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 3rd, 2011, 12:51 pm

Can't raise the centre of the hood, cut your own scoop for the TMIC?
Would loose the integrity/strenght of the bonnet?

That is if you are sure it will work..

Postby Team Loco » March 3rd, 2011, 1:04 pm

all these issues i have been through. i,ve researchd the idea over a year now. its simple. go with a water cooled system. its just a matter of time for me to install in my hilux. looking at a similar kit to this:

there is also a company in Australia that sells a kit for your van.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/LIQUID-W ... ccessories

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 3rd, 2011, 1:43 pm

cuddles - why u hurting ur head so much for a TMIC?
The frontier have loads of space behind the front grill for a FMIC.

You could probably graft the same FMIC from the Ranger onto the frontier, it's small enough to fit there. All you need to worry about is the piping.

You might lose a bit of pressure in the system, so you can prob consider tapping in a boost controller to keep the boost up. The frontier has a large turbo, and IIRC it runs about 12PSI at stock but can safely go up to 15lbs stock.

Or you could just sell eet and buy a Navara :) :)

Postby Team Loco » March 3rd, 2011, 2:11 pm

i think he may have an issue with the piping passing through the radiator panel...........same thing with me, i was going FMIC but the rad panel needed to be cut. i aint doing that

Postby sliderz1 » March 3rd, 2011, 7:27 pm

lighthammer wrote:cuddles - why u hurting ur head so much for a TMIC?
The frontier have loads of space behind the front grill for a FMIC.

You could probably graft the same FMIC from the Ranger onto the frontier, it's small enough to fit there. All you need to worry about is the piping.

You might lose a bit of pressure in the system, so you can prob consider tapping in a boost controller to keep the boost up. The frontier has a large turbo, and IIRC it runs about 12PSI at stock but can safely go up to 15lbs stock.

^^^^^^^what he said

xcept 4 d Navara part.......no h8, jus love---------->> for myy Frontier!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :D

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 3rd, 2011, 10:54 pm

well d FMIC was my initial plan, but is not d IC location dats d problem, is to get d pipin to an frm d IC.....wey i runnin all dat pipin?!?! dats a lotta pipin to be used an definitely gonna need to adjust d boost fuh dat

daz y i tink d original top mount frm d YD25 Frontier wood be easier to do, evn doh it small an chupid, an wood probly not perform all dat well, it jus mite werk...

also, d bonnet scoop relly does appeal to me mor, dont kno y dem dohtish Japs coodnt intercool d dam ZD30 one time an dun ARGHHHH!!!
tink i need professional help....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 3rd, 2011, 11:02 pm

lighthammer wrote:

NO WAY!!! as sliderz say, is not jus sellin, is matters of d heart here, dats wat u call tru love!!

but i hv to admit if i had d dough ad probly buy a Hilux (sry to go mafia on yuh bro, blame Jeremy Clarkson!!)

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » March 4th, 2011, 9:13 am

MrCuddles wrote:
but i hv to admit if i had d dough ad probly buy a Hilux (sry to go mafia on yuh bro, blame Jeremy Clarkson!!)

:shock: :shock:

Lighthammer, Biggy, Black Scorpion I call an emergency meeting about this terrible statement that MrCuddles made and I call for a suspension with sanctions...

:ughug:

MrCuddles we will let you know of the outcome of the emergency meeting....Good day SIR.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 4th, 2011, 12:00 pm

wait!! wat?!?! i've been hacked!! hw Phoenix get my password? :?

he cooda at least put "jk jk" at d end :roll:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 4th, 2011, 2:16 pm

^ he shall be dealt with, in a suitable manner.

A giant Nissan logo shall be branded upon his chest with a hot iron, while "Nismo's b!tch" will be tattooed upon his forehead for all to see, for his treasonous crimes......

Postby sliderz1 » March 4th, 2011, 2:31 pm

MrCuddles wrote:wait!! wat?!?! i've been hacked!! hw Phoenix get my password? :?

he cooda at least put "jk jk" at d end :roll:

wel look thing :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Nismo B!tch hahahaha...............represent :D :D :D :D

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 4th, 2011, 3:58 pm

lighthammer wrote:You could probably graft the same FMIC from the Ranger onto the frontier, it's small enough to fit there...

:bad-words:

:D

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 4th, 2011, 10:54 pm

LMAO! omg this thread iss sooo funny!! ROTFL!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 5th, 2011, 1:31 am

If the Hilux is the Mafia, the Nismo scene is a bunch of Yakuza's....

Cuddles... you owe us a finger-joint now.
Where is my meat-cleaver?.....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”