Page 1 of 2

Improving ride in ranger

Posted: November 8th, 2010, 5:24 pm
by 323_guy
ok guys, after trying Nitro inflation, lower tyre pressure, and adjusting the torsion bars, I STILL find the ride in the 2010 Ranger TOO HARSH!
All im asking, is, is there ANY other suspension modification, major or minor i can make, to help to soften the ride?
Air bags...?
Lift kit...?
A hilux..? lol

But seriously guys, is there anything else i can do?
Or am I destined to suffer or sell?

Re: Improving ride in ranger

Posted: November 8th, 2010, 8:09 pm
by lighthammer
Air bags...?
Lift kit...?
A hilux..? lol

"All of the above".

LOL, but seriously, if u interested in a lift kit, Deans Wheels will most likely have one for ur ranger.

633-RIMS

Posted: November 8th, 2010, 9:48 pm
by bleedingfreak
323_guy wrote:ok guys, after trying Nitro inflation, lower tyre pressure, and adjusting the torsion bars, I STILL find the ride in the 2010 Ranger TOO HARSH!
All im asking, is, is there ANY other suspension modification, major or minor i can make, to help to soften the ride?
Air bags...?
Lift kit...?
A hilux..? lol

Buy a car??? :shock: :shock:

Posted: November 8th, 2010, 10:43 pm
by sweeks
The 07 ride isn't that bad but I've heard the 10 is worst. Not sure how true it is though. I thought it was just a face lift. Didn't realize they messed with the suspension.

Posted: November 8th, 2010, 11:04 pm
by 323_guy
bleedingfreak wrote:
323_guy wrote:ok guys, after trying Nitro inflation, lower tyre pressure, and adjusting the torsion bars, I STILL find the ride in the 2010 Ranger TOO HARSH!
Air bags...?
Lift kit...?
A hilux..? lol

um,.... thanks bleedingfreak....um.... Didnt quite think of that... But, um, since we talkin about the VAN... You got any input in relation to that?

Posted: November 8th, 2010, 11:40 pm
by civic minded
i find your question - quite puzzling - my 2010 ranger have a really smooth ride, and everyone who sat in it said the same. mind you i am used to a car suspension , actually it was a sport suspension but never the less - the ranger ride quality is pretty good. anything better then you need to move away from pickup and migrate to SUV or a luxury car

Posted: November 8th, 2010, 11:58 pm
by lighthammer
The Navara has a pretty good ride.... :) :)

Hilux too.

Posted: November 9th, 2010, 8:13 am
by 323_guy
i used to think so... Till I drove a hilux.... Than a Nav, and even the L200!!
Then i came to recognize that the Ranger has the harshest ride! This is becuz of the lack of front coils, the ranger/bt50 comes with torsion bars, which gives a much more rugged ride. Now some will argue thats a good thing, becuz of thr torsion bar, its built for loading, off roading, blah blah, blah.... But, that kinda not helpin me wen im running thru some light undulations,and ppl in de backseat jumpin around like captain kirk in the starship enterprise....

Posted: November 9th, 2010, 9:50 am
by lighthammer
^^ like I said, the navara have a REAL nice ride.... Loads of rear legroom too :) :) :) :) :)

Posted: November 9th, 2010, 11:50 am
by homeboy
lighthammer wrote:^^ like I said, the navara have a REAL nice ride.... Loads of rear legroom too :) :) :) :) :)

Somehow i think there's a new blog coming on my first Navara......lol.....Nissanerssss they does brain wash with looks.....lol....

Posted: November 9th, 2010, 4:48 pm
by 323_guy
congratulations lighthammer, You must be very proud.... lol
Still doesnt help me tho... All I wanna kno, is what can be done, if anything, to soften the ride, in any standard independent front, leaf spring rear type suspension, on a ladder-frame chassis (standard van setup).

Posted: November 9th, 2010, 6:53 pm
by lighthammer
^^ LoL, I didn't say anything as yet... hee hee hee.

BUt yeah, torsion bars are gonna be rough man.
Might be time to do a suspension upgrade.

AFAIK, the dudes in Australia regularly do 2" and 3" lifts, and there's different setups like "sport", "street", "off-road" and "rugged off-road' and even "extreme offroad".
Im guessing it's just different spring rates that they set, but still might be something to look into.

Try Deans Wheels, they have lots of kits and almost every 4x4 that rolls in there have a lift kit...
633 RIMS

Posted: November 9th, 2010, 6:58 pm
by bigchief3679
forgive my ignorance guys, but how is a lift kit going to help with the OP's problem?

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 5:54 am
by lighthammer
Suspension upgrade = ability to tweak spring rates, change hardness/softness of ride.

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 6:14 am
by civic minded
sell the ranger and buy a suv or buy a navara what LH did

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 9:24 am
by Rutless Tiida
LH you can't keep a secret boy.
323_guy you should take a ride in a Frontier and then you will see how smooth your pickup is...
I have some roads by me that I have to go over at 2km other wise I would fly out the drivers side window.

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 11:15 am
by vharripersad
323 Guy, I don't have an answer but I would like to share my thoughts. I had a Nissan Fronter 4x2 (4x4 lookalike) before. When I bought the 2010 Ranger, the ride felt 100% smoother with the Ranger. I am a Pandit, one of my duties is to bless vehicles and I would normally take a ride with the driver after blessing the vehicles. The Hilux rides rougher than the Ranger. Many I have told about this and they have disagreed saying that the Hilux gives the best ride. But from my personal experience, I know the Ranger (4x2 Hurricane) (4x4 Thunder) did give a smoother ride than the Hilux, atleast in the back roads down in Penal with my own experience.

I am probably wrong here, but that was my experience.

Also, the 2010 Ranger performs very good holding the road, especially when I run it in the forest going around bumpy corners at 50/60Kmhr- the wheels does not slip.

I must say though that I don't really make a issue with Pickup rides, because if you have a Pickup, its meant to be tough, ride tough and handle the bad roads,edges, patches, holes, bumps etc.

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 1:30 pm
by gundelero
how does installing a lift kit improve ride quality?

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 1:54 pm
by lighthammer
Rutless Tiida wrote:LH you can't keep a secret boy.
323_guy you should take a ride in a Frontier and then you will see how smooth your pickup is...
I have some roads by me that I have to go over at 2km other wise I would fly out the drivers side window.

323_guy, what Rutless Tiida said....
Comparing the frontier and the ranger, the ranger feels positively smooth while the frontier bounces like a spring. Plus it does better on bumps than the frontier.

RT, hehehe, I didn't say anything boss, I just dropped a couple hints :). Ppl free to make their speculations based on need-to-know info :p :p.

As for how installing a lift kit and how it might fix the ride - what I really meant is to upgrade the springs and shocks - you can then adjust the spring rates and use harder shocks or softer shocks according to your preference.

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 3:47 pm
by civic minded
best thing to buy is a CRV - you dont feel nothing in that

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 4:36 pm
by 323_guy
lighthammer wrote:
Rutless Tiida wrote:LH you can't keep a secret boy.

323_guy, what Rutless Tiida said....
Comparing the frontier and the ranger, the ranger feels positively smooth while the frontier bounces like a spring. Plus it does better on bumps than the frontier.

RT, hehehe, I didn't say anything boss, I just dropped a couple hints :). Ppl free to make their speculations based on need-to-know info :p :p.

As for how installing a lift kit and how it might fix the ride - what I really meant is to upgrade the springs and shocks - you can then adjust the spring rates and use harder shocks or softer shocks according to your preference.

How do i adjust the spring rates and change shox... ie. Is there sum1 recommended i can go2 to do this 4me?

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 5:13 pm
by Rooki3
4x2 ranger harsh too??

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 8:18 pm
by bleedingfreak
I dont understand... A pickup is supposed to give u a more rugged rough ride... Its made to take loads and traverse more rough terrain... Allyuh fellas does come with some weird sheit sometimes...

I dunno bout the 2010 Ranger, but our 2008 Mazdas are really soft and squishy... They can take jamming, but on tarmac, they are really decent...

The issues associated with altering your truck's suspension, ride quality and etc are limited by design by the manufacturer for its duty and purpose.

Also these modifications are usually expensive and generally affect the duty purpose of the vehicle.

But anyway, if you REALLY want to IMPROVE the ride quality of your pickup, then firstly try changing the tyres. Some trucks come with LT tyres, changing these out to Passenger tyres usually yield positive results...

Consequently, you can go old school and throw 400 lbs of sand in bags in the tray and drive around like that...

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 8:20 pm
by bleedingfreak
323_guy wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:
Air bags...?
Lift kit...?
A hilux..? lol

um,.... thanks bleedingfreak....um.... Didnt quite think of that... But, um, since we talkin about the VAN... You got any input in relation to that?

Allyuh fellas real emo in this diesel thread though... :lol: :lol:

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 8:36 pm
by venum
dunno bout allyuh, but i find the new Ranger - 09 is really a harsh ride

I have driven and rode in them and they terrible

the rear seat in the 4x4 is utterly devastating

I even drove one through some rough road where I also drove my L200 and i am sorry and disappointed to say, my 2003 L200 is smoother

they are tough trucks, make no mistake about that, but the ride quality sucks

it isn't as bouncy as a frontier, but it shakes you in a a kinda rough quick aggressive manner

my L200's suspension (also torsion bar with no springs in front) absorbed most of the roughness and shock, the Ranger transfer most of the roughness and shock to me

Posted: November 10th, 2010, 9:32 pm
by badart
well atleast ford recognized consumer needs n is producing the 2012 ranger with a new suspension that would be comfortable..a little late but better late than never

Posted: December 2nd, 2010, 12:36 am
by Haunted
go for a liftkit increases rides much better...i have one in my 07 ranger and im amazed by it.
Ironman has lift kits for sale. James is the local dealer for ironman 374-9339

Posted: December 2nd, 2010, 11:21 am
by Cooper

TOO HARSH....

Devastating....

Tough....

Bouncy....

Terrible....

STEEEUPS!!!!!

You all is a bunch of Fcukin Fairies!

...either grow a pair and accept the vehicle for it was MADE FOR or buy a friggin car

[/thread]

Posted: December 2nd, 2010, 2:51 pm
by white_lion
put on a nice heavy steel rear bumper, you'd be surprised how much of a difference some added weight behind the rear wheels could make, it settles the rear nicely, minimizes bouncing and also adds protection. it'll definitely be a lot better than that plastic sheit the rangers come with and also gives you the opportunity to incorporate some proper tow/recovery points seeing as they don't come equipped with any from the factory.

Posted: December 4th, 2010, 3:59 pm
by civic minded
Cooper wrote:

TOO HARSH....

Devastating....

Tough....

Bouncy....

Terrible....

STEEEUPS!!!!!

You all is a bunch of Fcukin Fairies!

...either grow a pair and accept the vehicle for it was MADE FOR or buy a friggin car

[/thread]

this is what i have been saying ! - not everyone can appreciate what ford have to offer thats why i keep telling people - think twice before buying the ford.