Thinking bout a 1KZ in a ole school Hilux

Posted: August 4th, 2010, 3:10 pm
by droppa
Fellas i real likng the 1KZ on my new ride which is a Surf, i've been longing this masheen since last year, and finally i own one, its real sweet, and a hell of alot more power than i expected.

So what i'm thinking of now is building a sorta off/on road vehicle, i was real into the zuks eh, but the 1KZ has taken me away. For around 15K i can get a 1KZ and tranny with ecu, harness, dash and shifter, and the smaller parts that is necessary......

THE PROBLEM IS........

has anyone ever done this before, when i mention ole school hilux, i mean like a TAG to TAY chassis, the ones that has the solid diff and Lift springs in the F+R.

The chassis are the same but will the transfer case line up and bolt with the Diffs?
Will the Floor well be large enough for the Tranny-Its a huge mofo tranny....??

any comments or suggestions, i already have a TAY 4X4 Hilux resting cab and tray shot, Chassis and Suspension there, but will need some work......

If this comes tru, it will be a BEAST........

Re: Thinking bout a 1KZ in a ole school Hilux

Posted: August 4th, 2010, 3:29 pm
by Team Loco
slurp slurp, lovely!!!

you will definitely have some modifications on the bolt up, nothing major but you may need a good fabricator. i think you may have some issues with connecting the 1kz tranny to the solid front axle. dont know much about it, but i sense complications. if its the electronic tranny with ecu, i can direct you to someone in munroe rd who wired up a surf with a 1kz recently. its alot of therapy and can be costly. takes some patience too. but in the end it will definitely be a nice project

Posted: August 4th, 2010, 4:29 pm
by bleedingfreak
My mechanic has a 1KZ which he he looking to sell... You may get it for far less than that $15k price tag... PM me if interested.

Posted: August 5th, 2010, 10:20 am
by droppa
That 15K is for a complete Surf front half, without suspension, so i eh have to hunt for parts and components allover.....

btw ur mech has engine alone, or engine and box/tranny......jus curious, if i get a box ill be happy like pappy.....

LOCO i plan to scrap down the unit to chassis and build from there up, it will be a long process...if i get into it, doing most the work myself along with the help of some other buddies......

Posted: August 5th, 2010, 3:25 pm
by biggy82
droppa, yuh like trouble eh :lol:

Posted: August 5th, 2010, 4:08 pm
by bleedingfreak
droppa wrote:That 15K is for a complete Surf front half, without suspension, so i eh have to hunt for parts and components allover.....

btw ur mech has engine alone, or engine and box/tranny......jus curious, if i get a box ill be happy like pappy.....

LOCO i plan to scrap down the unit to chassis and build from there up, it will be a long process...if i get into it, doing most the work myself along with the help of some other buddies......

15K for the front half aint bad.. thought it was engine/tranny/ecu alone

He has engine/auto/ecu/harness

taken out of a minibus

Posted: August 5th, 2010, 9:23 pm
by sweeks
Not recommended on that model ... too much fabricating would be required and too many issues with the lineup.

Please don't let Team Loco chain you up (he lives up to his name)

Save up and get an SR5 :)

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 7:23 am
by droppa
nah i wont let LOCO chain me up.....i can do that all on my own.....

i know that is areal headache project eh, and i see it on the newer models with the IFS, but i wanted to try it on solid diff setup......

i cant say right now how things will go....trying to get a lil newer version too, more creature comforts....