Where do you service your truck?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

I do my servicing at:

At the Firm/Dealer
35%
Outside company (Laughlin & Degannes/Masterserv etc.)
2%
My own mechanic
33%
I do my own servicing
31%

Total votes: 49

lighthammer

Where do you service your truck?

Postby lighthammer » July 30th, 2010, 2:25 pm

Where do you go for servicing? Oil-changes, Filters, Battery, Suspension, Transmission etc.

Re: Where do you service your truck?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 30th, 2010, 10:45 pm

I service both mine and my dad's ride.. only the really difficult stuff, like changing a clutch etc I will send it by a trusted / well reviewed mechanic..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 31st, 2010, 6:10 am

Where do you get parts?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 31st, 2010, 11:08 am

I buy small parts, like filters etc at Budget Motors on Cipero St San'do.. The difficult to get items i'll either check the firm or places in the Bamboo..

Luckily with my pops Mazda, the only major repair it ever needed was a clutch change. I did the clutch master cylinder rubbers and all fluid changes myself.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 31st, 2010, 7:10 pm

I should add that I usually do my oil-changes, alignments and tire-servicing at Laughlin & Degannes. Other major mechanical problems I take care of at the firm.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 31st, 2010, 7:14 pm

Did some work with Toyota in the past but their prices have become prohibitive. Can't pay $4000+ to have fluids and filters changed. If I had a problem that I couldn't solve then I may go back to the dealership but haven't had any problems that we couldn't sort out.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 31st, 2010, 8:25 pm

Can't pay $4000+ to have fluids and filters changed.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
:crazyeyes: :crazyeyes:
:shocked!: :shocked!:

That's almost the cost of a set of 4 brand new tyres.
W... T... F...

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 1st, 2010, 8:00 am

lighthammer wrote:I should add that I usually do my oil-changes, alignments and tire-servicing at Laughlin & Degannes. Other major mechanical problems I take care of at the firm.

Yuh does change oil by LDG? Oh lawd...

That's like $80.00 just to change oil.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2010, 10:56 am

still better than $4000...

Postby 3stagevtec » August 1st, 2010, 6:15 pm

Some places do oil change for free, once you purchase your oil by them.. Ramsirs and Federal on Cipero St are examples..

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 2nd, 2010, 4:13 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Some places do oil change for free, once you purchase your oil by them.. Ramsirs and Federal on Cipero St are examples..

Or when you under the truck with the mechanic it does cost you only a couple of beers, or some distilled water ;-)

venum

Postby venum » August 2nd, 2010, 4:16 pm

my mech

DM - haul dey mudder cupboard

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 3rd, 2010, 12:12 pm

I guess the question will apply differently to people based on the age/ warranty issues.
It seems harsh at first when servicing your new vehicle at the firm, but should anything go wrong during the warranty period, you'd kick yourself not doing it at the firm. And yes, things do happen with these second grade vehicles we get here. Esp vehicles from....
** phone rings & guards walking thru office door with handcuffs***

Postby Greypatch » August 3rd, 2010, 12:19 pm

went to the firm once and never again.

let them rob others, esp since the cost of new vehicles are way to much.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 3rd, 2010, 7:18 pm

^^boi for true eh - they does digout your eye cause they said - if you dont do the service from them - void warranty......

Postby 3stagevtec » August 3rd, 2010, 8:18 pm

I was given a quote for $1500 labour to change my valve cover gasket.. (It's 6 small screws and 2 hoses that need to be removed to get the cover off, took me about 20mins to change since it was my 1st time doing it)

One rubber boot for my velocity joint is $1200..

The injector seals (basically 8 O rings) costs $1200+.. (I found the same seal kit online for $12US) dead serious..

A fuel pump is $6000+ (A high performance Walbro pump is like $1000)

and I was quoted over $13k for a new steering rack... :shock:

and the thing that really confuses me is that I drive a Suzuki!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 3rd, 2010, 9:12 pm

^^well thats the catch when they told you free service for how much miles they do...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 4th, 2010, 6:26 am

In 2008 N&M called and said our frontier was due for a servicing (120K kms)

Took it in, they said it'll take 2-days approx.
Waited two days.

Here was the bill afterwards:
- Shocks changed: front & back = $3000
- Oil & oil filter changed = $1200
- Brake pads & drums changed = $1800
- Clutch plate changed = $9000

Total bill = $15,000

Clutch plate didn't even need changing, they were going by the service-intervals written down on their service manuals.

Stupid fakking stealership.

badart

Postby badart » August 4th, 2010, 10:17 am

neal n massy is worst place to service had some serious problems wit them

droppa

Postby droppa » August 4th, 2010, 1:30 pm

I do my service, that is basic stuff like oil, filters, brake, shocks at home, we have most the tools needed and my bro is also a good ERF mechanic, who has years in the gas and diesel fields, so if i have a major problem, he will show me what to do.

With the Jimny i went by a Jimny man and he serviced the entire front end, cus i did not know how to do it and my bro was busy......

so far with the Surf i have not had any major issues......

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » August 12th, 2010, 1:20 pm

WOW $1200 for an oil change at N&M in 2008.
I did that by my mechanic, oil (mobil delvac) all filters (2 fuel and 1 oil) and labor was about $1200 in 2010.
That is why I said $hit the warranty I could save the money and buy the parts new, although N&M wanted to sell me a door post switch (the one that turns the doom light on and off) for $550. I walked out went to the Bamboo and bought a used one for $25..
I used to get a bill from N&M for my Tiida for about $1200 to do a normal service (2010) and that has a 1.6 L gas engine. Imagine the price with my 3.2 L Diesel engine that needs 2 gallons of oil.

droppa

Postby droppa » August 13th, 2010, 7:02 am

i used to service a buddys frontier in 2006-2007, it used to be more cost effective for him to buy a bucket of oil, as he used to do 5000Ks in 3-4 weeks, and N&M bill was around $1400, jus for oil and oil filter and they lazyman how much point check up.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 13th, 2010, 7:29 am

I'm gonna start changing the oil myself, as part of the "wash/clean/maintenance" cycle on a sunday afternoon.

Where exactly is Prolube? I need to get some Amsoil and a Nissan frontier oil filter tomorrow.

droppa

Postby droppa » August 13th, 2010, 9:01 am

thas not in orange grove rd, up trincity side....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 13th, 2010, 10:07 pm

lighthammer wrote:In 2008 N&M called and said our frontier was due for a servicing (120K kms)

Took it in, they said it'll take 2-days approx.
Waited two days.

Here was the bill afterwards:
- Shocks changed: front & back = $3000
- Oil & oil filter changed = $1200
- Brake pads & drums changed = $1800
- Clutch plate changed = $9000

Total bill = $15,000

Clutch plate didn't even need changing, they were going by the service-intervals written down on their service manuals.

Stupid fakking stealership.

and you paid that??? i can get a loan???

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 13th, 2010, 11:02 pm

Had to fight it down, can't remember the final price though.
Stupid N&M stealing ppl's money.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 14th, 2010, 7:03 am

the syrians boi the syrians - the poor mechanics only getting a small potion of that - they double or triple charge you so they can pay for their club and lodge memberships.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 14th, 2010, 9:02 pm

There are good mechanics out there ... some of the more experienced ones have their private garages and do their thing.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 15th, 2010, 9:46 am

^^ Agreed. It's a bit more expensive to go by the companies like Masterserv/LDG to service, but I find the convenience of them having all the parts/fluids needed (most of the time) a bit better than running around.

Eg. My schedule only lets me do my running around on saturdays, so that's oil-change & alignment time for me. So I find it easier to just go early int he morning and have everything done one time in a 2-3 horus, then I'm back on the road.

It's still good to keep a mechanic's number on your cell handy though, in case of shutdown or emergencies.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 16th, 2010, 10:59 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ Agreed. It's a bit more expensive to go by the companies like Masterserv/LDG to service, but I find the convenience of them having all the parts/fluids needed (most of the time) a bit better than running around.

Eg. My schedule only lets me do my running around on saturdays, so that's oil-change & alignment time for me. So I find it easier to just go early int he morning and have everything done one time in a 2-3 horus, then I'm back on the road.

It's still good to keep a mechanic's number on your cell handy though, in case of shutdown or emergencies.

What running around hoss? They sell stuff at 25-50% marked up than what u would get in another reputable parts place...

Had some bad experiences with those guys a few times... Wont trust em to do mechanical work.

A good mechanic has to answer to himself and his consumers. So if he messes up he will get the direct shaft. When these little boys do sheit, they can hide behind the company.... Seen it happen already.

Having a mechanic number on ur cell phone aint gonna do nothing if he not going to answer your call. Why the hell would a mechanic come out on a Sunday night/2AM breakdown for somebody who dont even come by me to do work? Nah...

In any case, breakdowns these day usually require towing, so a good tow man, or different tow truck owners etc in different parts of the country helps.

Anyways, back to the point: how do YOU know they are doing anything on your vehicle eh? In he right manner? tightening properly? using the required fluid? etc? When you cant step into certain areas of the workshop etc? Hmm??? And if you DO discover a problem after, the company covers it up...

And finally.. how ELSE are you going to learn about ur vehicle's part numbers, how to identify parts, etc etc? And by doing this, you learn more about your pickup, etc.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”