Tray Covers and Cargo Management

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tray Covers and Cargo Management

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 29th, 2020, 10:11 pm

Looking for a tray cover for a hilux...any recommendations?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2020, 8:56 am

Check fender pick-up
https://www.facebook.com/fenderpickups/

They have roll n lock, retrax, backflip, and other brands

I have the rollNlock on mine
No issues, just leaks a lil bit on each corner.

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Looking for a tray cover for a hilux...any recommendations?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 2nd, 2021, 10:56 pm

Great thanks....need some prices .....will give them a call

Postby *KRONIK* » January 2nd, 2021, 11:15 pm

Retrax and roll n lock are around 10k each
Everything else is regressively cheaper and quality will match the pricing
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Great thanks....need some prices .....will give them a call

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2023, 9:40 am

Any longterm reviews on the covers?
Looking at options now and there are many to choose from.

Retrax
Roll n Lock
Pace Edwards/Leer
Aeroklas
Mathai Noname

Postby *KRONIK* » January 19th, 2023, 10:37 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Any longterm reviews on the covers?
Looking at options now and there are many to choose from.

Retrax
Roll n Lock
Pace Edwards/Leer
Aeroklas
Mathai Noname
From a personal standpoint
I like the roll n lock
My van had one intsalled in 2012
Van beat weather for 6years
I sold it, padna has it on his van ATM
He changed the retraction spring when i took it off
And last year he changed the leather covering
But everything is still functioning proper

Personally, i would prefer an all aluminum cover vs the marine leather for our climate

But they all leak somewhere
The only cover i see that dont leak is those hard-lid ones that cover the entire tray

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 20th, 2023, 11:53 am

THanks!

I think we're on the same wavelength here.
RNL doh make the A Series (anodised alum only) for export market according to Fender Imports.
The M series (vinyl cover) is the only option.

The other brand all alum ones seem thinner gauge, have larger cannisters or just have various complaints online. My concern was the RNL vinyl cover, as I'll be the same. Weather right thru. Might just invest in a good marine protectant and apply every week or couple weeks because I real slack with washing van.

I think I'll go with the RNL.

Postby pugboy » January 20th, 2023, 5:06 pm

I have a pace edwards, the top vinyl unstick a little after 5 years, luckily it didnt tangle up like how some ppl do
if it unsticks and tangles up it will damage the framer layer and then is problems.
The heat is what hardens the glue and makes it unstick.

I kinda fixed it myself with 3m vhb tape but then it started to unstick more so I took it by Neil in Cunupia who replaced the vinyl and it still good.

The pace edwards doesnt really leak, the water runs into the side rails and down to the front where hoses carry it out.
Only at back edge it can leak a little when lip meets tailgate.

I have seen the Retrax one by Neil and it seems like a nicer one.
Best to talk to Neil, he does a lot of them as well as repairs.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 20th, 2023, 5:39 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:THanks!

I think we're on the same wavelength here.
RNL doh make the A Series (anodised alum only) for export market according to Fender Imports.
The M series (vinyl cover) is the only option.

The other brand all alum ones seem thinner gauge, have larger cannisters or just have various complaints online. My concern was the RNL vinyl cover, as I'll be the same. Weather right thru. Might just invest in a good marine protectant and apply every week or couple weeks because I real slack with washing van.

I think I'll go with the RNL.
There is the 303 protectant for the vinyl.
They used to actually include a bottle with the tray cover in the earlies
You can get it at budget marine or handyman store (iirc)

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2023, 10:23 am

Doing the Roll n lock right now. Bought from Fender Imports who is the dealer and installing by Neil who is his installer.

Excellent handiwork by Neil and I’m watching what they do because I doh like poohar wuk. This man knows his stuff and how to properly handle it.

Hoping to get some good few years of service on it.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 14th, 2023, 7:14 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Doing the Roll n lock right now. Bought from Fender Imports who is the dealer and installing by Neil who is his installer.

Excellent handiwork by Neil and I’m watching what they do because I doh like poohar wuk. This man knows his stuff and how to properly handle it.

Hoping to get some good few years of service on it.
2 good choices there

You wont be disappointed

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”