Tray Covers and Cargo Management

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

Tray Covers and Cargo Management

Postby *Phoenix* » July 18th, 2010, 3:11 pm

So many different products out there like "Roll N Lock & JackRabbit Etc" but we dont know enough... What are the Pros and Cons with them....

"To many of us have been victims of a shattered window because some bandit likes what he saw on the back seat or on the floor." :evil:

"Too many times we have to pack the groceries on the back seat because its gonna rain."

So I propose we use this thread to discuss and analyse the different products available and perhaps help others make an informed decision when buying a Tray cover or getting some sort of cargo management system for their Pick-up.

:wink:

INFO on all products and Systems are welcomed...
Last edited by *Phoenix* on July 18th, 2010, 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

civic minded

Re: Tray Covers and Cargo Management

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2010, 3:24 pm

dont forget fiberglass alternative - the Jackrabbit have a drainage system builtin to prevent water from entering the main tray area - you might still get water seepage along the edges of it. The Fiberglass one supposed to be completely sealed - nice thing about these two options is that when it is locked - the tray is locked too.

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » July 18th, 2010, 3:35 pm

we've been in this business for the last 3 years, the jackrabbit is the best tray cover on the market in terms of security, durability and style .
see the following link : http://www.pace-edwards.com/images/PE_P ... 1_Only.pdf

the fiberglass covers looks great, but alot of problems and your limited to cargo space .

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 18th, 2010, 3:49 pm

4x4 good info.
Whats the difference with the JackRabbit and the Roll*N*Lock.
What the cost.....
How does the install process work..
Is it compatible with a Drop-in Liner / spray Liner / No liner?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2010, 12:33 am

Good thread *phoenix

I've been to 4x4trinidad's showroom to check out the Jackrabbit cover by Pace Edwards. It looks pretty sturdy and rugged, and comes with a 3-year warranty. It supposedly can hold up to 90lbs weight on top of it (eg. a small child crawling on it) while closed too.

The advantage the Jackrabbit has over the Roll N'Lock is the Jackrabbit comes with an actuator that also closed & locks the tailgate along with the cover. The roll n' lock only locks the rolling cover - your tailgate remains unlocked. So the Jackrabbit has a bit of an edge in security.

Once I get my truck I'll probably get the Jackrabbit installed. It works with Rollbars installed, as well as with bedliners - both plastic and spray-on types. There aren't any holes to drill and there's no body modification. Looks like a pretty good buy, though it's a bit pricey it's still worth the money.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 19th, 2010, 3:58 am

Good info there...
I never know that the Roll N Lock doesn't lock the tailgate. Yikes...

Can someone lay down some expected prices on either one..

Also 3 years warranty with the JackRabbit huh... Biggy told me that the Roll N Lock is covered by a lifetime warranty. Perhaps someone can offer some more info.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 19th, 2010, 6:49 am

The Jack rabbit is the better alternative - i want to install one on my truck since yesterday! Soon soon- I will be able too

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2010, 7:49 am

4x4trinidad sells the Jackrabbit for $9000 installed, w/3yr warranty.

Takes about 2 hours total to install.

They also do the Scorpion bedlining, can't remember how much.
Shaw's does the rough-surface Durabak liner for $3200.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » July 19th, 2010, 9:13 am

On the Roll-n-lock Site they have a one year Warranty - http://www.rollnlock.com/LinkClick.aspx ... &tabid=133
This Might be interesting - http://www.rollnlock.com/Portals/rollnl ... ies_EN.pdf
Here is the Installation Guide for the Roll-n-Lock -http://www.rollnlock.com/TechSupport/MSeries/MSeriesInstallationGuides/tabid/126/Default.aspx

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 19th, 2010, 10:22 am

4x4 Trinidad for JackRabbit!
Who sells the Roll N Lock?

So its $9000 for the JackRabbit vs ? for the Roll N Lock?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 19th, 2010, 10:26 am

civic minded wrote:The Jack rabbit is the better alternative - i want to install one on my truck since yesterday! Soon soon- I will be able too

Cool...

NIce VS link...

So please tell us what in your opinion makes the JackRabbit the better alterenative...

I saw one installed on another Hilux when i went to collect mine and i was very impressed. The sales man did tell me that it cant work with the drop-in liner tho...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2010, 10:52 am

There's a guy in Morvant who sells Roll N' Lock - asked a dude in long circular with a ranger equipped with a R&L and he said he got it from Morvant.

No other info unfortunately :(

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » July 19th, 2010, 1:25 pm

there is only one offical RNL dealer and one official Jack Rabbit dealer(that;s us)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 19th, 2010, 2:41 pm

Thats good news 4x4trinidad.
So we can be certain that you have first hand information on the two systems...
So what would your reviews on either one be?

Can you give us the current cost on both also?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 19th, 2010, 4:17 pm

lighthammer wrote:The advantage the Jackrabbit has over the Roll N'Lock is the Jackrabbit comes with an actuator that also closed & locks the tailgate along with the cover. The roll n' lock only locks the rolling cover - your tailgate remains unlocked. So the Jackrabbit has a bit of an edge in security.

O RLY? :?

the RNL locks INTO the tailgate in not 1 but 2 places. therefore, even if you unlatch your tailgate via the handle, you CANNOT lower the tailgate cos it is STILL ATTACHED TO THE RNL

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 19th, 2010, 9:10 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:Who sells the Roll N Lock?

Jason 683-1101 and it's approx $12 000. I tried bringing in one from the USA but wasn't allowed to buy direct, had to buy it through the local dealer (Jason).

Couldn't afford that (nor justify the cost) .... ended up pay $1400 (Jamal - Cipero St.) and putting on one of those regular button down leatherette cover. Jamal did a pretty good job.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 19th, 2010, 9:14 pm

lighthammer wrote:There's a guy in Morvant who sells Roll N' Lock - asked a dude in long circular with a ranger equipped with a R&L and he said he got it from Morvant.

No other info unfortunately :(

That's Roller Up (cheaper version of Roll N Lock) - Kazim sells this, he works N&M and has a place on Fernandes Compound if I remembered correctly.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 20th, 2010, 4:04 am

Good info there Sweeks.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 20th, 2010, 7:08 am

Yes but remember the Jackrabbit come with an actuator to lock both the Cover + the tray tailgate.

Worth the $$, IMO.

badart

Postby badart » July 20th, 2010, 8:06 am

lookin for a flat hard top tray cover tht can be easily removed...any suggestions?

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » July 20th, 2010, 9:15 am

it's available , problem is the surface finish isn;t all that great . email us for details.

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » July 20th, 2010, 9:21 am

Rutless Tiida wrote:On the Roll-n-lock Site they have a one year Warranty - http://www.rollnlock.com/LinkClick.aspx ... &tabid=133
This Might be interesting - http://www.rollnlock.com/Portals/rollnl ... ies_EN.pdf
Here is the Installation Guide for the Roll-n-Lock -http://www.rollnlock.com/TechSupport/MSeries/MSeriesInstallationGuides/tabid/126/Default.aspx

this comparision is based on a old design of the jackrabbit, the cover is now improved .

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 20th, 2010, 9:29 am

Good thread. However to avoid info being lost I suggest that Mr. Phoenix compilate the information at the end and summarize.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 20th, 2010, 3:25 pm

Yeah .... I see the point..
I sure Gerry taking note... He got the power... LOL

Swiftguy

Postby Swiftguy » July 20th, 2010, 8:08 pm

does any have the # for Kazim Ali . he works N&M and has a place on Fernandes Compound

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 21st, 2010, 1:16 am

Hey guys don't forget that the tray has a slot where you can fit a 2x4 plank and thus section off your tray.
Our frontier has the slot located close to the tail-gate, and a 2x4 plank would section it off 3:1 with the short-section close to the tailgate.

This would be handy if I had a tonneau cover and just had to open the tail-gate only to put groceries into the tray. The 2x4 plank would leave me with a nice small area just big enough for groceries.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 21st, 2010, 5:41 am

lighthammer wrote:Yes but remember the Jackrabbit come with an actuator to lock both the Cover + the tray tailgate.

Worth the $$, IMO.

well if you lock the RNL to the tailgate, how you gonna open the tailgate?

ent the tailgate locked then by default? :roll:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 21st, 2010, 10:04 am

^^ Right, so then can you open the tailgate when the RNL cover is extended & locked? How will you load stuff like groceries, cargo, dead-bodies, etc. into the tray then? :) :) You'd have to unlock the RNL, roll it up half-way and then you'd have access to the tailgate, right?

The Jackrabbit does have a lock for both the cover & tailgate, but I'm pretty sure it lets you open the tailgate even when the cover is extended & locked. If the RNL does this too and I was mistaken in my proclamation, then whoops to me :( :roll: :roll:

Perhaps 4x4trinidad can clarify this?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 21st, 2010, 4:08 pm

Swiftguy wrote:does any have the # for Kazim Ali . he works N&M and has a place on Fernandes Compound

You can call 674-4200 Extension 1620, I can’t remember his cell number.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 23rd, 2010, 6:36 pm

YOu know i have been thinking .. What about the Tool Box option.... Instead of a tray cover...?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”