zd30 white smoking
Posted: May 20th, 2010, 12:37 pm
by aviboy
Had a turbo failure... after replacing the turbo the van is white smoking constantly during idle and when revving..... the turbo was replaced about a month now but the smoking continues...
Please advise on possible issues.
Re: zd30 white smoking
Posted: May 20th, 2010, 5:07 pm
by biggy82
white smoke is condensation most likely. check diesel water content.
head gasket may also be an issue. do you have to top up the rad?
Posted: May 20th, 2010, 7:41 pm
by madcoolieboy
white smoke??! diesel??! *instant headache*
Posted: May 20th, 2010, 9:24 pm
by speedaholic
check yuh piston rings!
Posted: May 21st, 2010, 8:20 am
by aviboy
radiator level constant and full
Posted: May 21st, 2010, 9:52 am
by speedaholic
is your engine burning oil?
Posted: May 21st, 2010, 10:02 pm
by aviboy
oil is dropping
Posted: May 22nd, 2010, 12:37 am
by speedaholic
welll like i said b4.. check piston rings...
Posted: May 25th, 2010, 2:13 pm
by madman2961
aviboy wrote:Had a turbo failure... after replacing the turbo the van is white smoking constantly during idle and when revving..... the turbo was replaced about a month now but the smoking continues...
Please advise on possible issues.
hey did you re-adjust the Fuel pump to the new turbo?
is the new turbo the same thing that you took off? if this new turbo is pushing more air than the previous (not PSI but CFM) then you might just have to make the pump inject more fuel to burn. just a thought.
speedaholic wrote:welll like i said b4.. check piston rings...
how do you go about checking the piston rings? by doing a compression test or something?
Posted: May 25th, 2010, 2:37 pm
by speedaholic
more or less.. if the rings are worn out.. and oil gets into the cumbustion chamber.. white smoking occurss.. check out the sticky topic on diy maintainance and trobleshooting in the forum...
Posted: May 25th, 2010, 3:27 pm
by madman2961
speedaholic wrote:more or less.. if the rings are worn out.. and oil gets into the cumbustion chamber.. white smoking occurss..
where did you get this info from? cause i know white smoke is a sign of not enough fuel
when burning oil it tends to be
BLUE smoke
Posted: May 26th, 2010, 10:40 am
by speedaholic
often it is hard to distinguish white smoke from blue smoke.. since they are almost similar... but yea i kno the burning of oil is blue smoking... but its worth a try to check out.. white smokin occurs when there is a faulty injector spray pattern or defective glow plugs. shud check fuel pump calibration...
Posted: May 26th, 2010, 11:25 am
by madman2961
speedaholic wrote:white smokin occurs when there is a faulty injector spray pattern or defective glow plugs
defective glow plugs??
that is only for starting up, if the engine is cold then the glow plugs would heat the cylinder glow plugs are not for running. the air is compressed and because of the heat in the compression it becomes volatile and at the highest point of the piston travel (most compression) the diesel is injected.
speedaholic, i hope you doh think i picking on you.
Posted: May 26th, 2010, 11:38 am
by speedaholic
haha nah man! dsi! but i just quotin what i seein from the thread! so yea... check it out
viewtopic.php?f=41&t=238098
Posted: May 28th, 2010, 6:40 pm
by Stuckindmud
Check the oil lines to the turbo, see if its leaking.
Did you replace with a new unit or a used one? - you might have a bad seal in the turbo leaking oil to the exhaust side of the turbo.
What was the reason for changing the original turbo?
Posted: May 28th, 2010, 7:27 pm
by bigchief3679
you did check that the new turbo is good too right? white smoke (especially weird puffs) indicate a fuelling issue whether it be injectors, clogged pump strainer/filter or some other fuel line obstruction. i once had a disintegrated fuel supply line that clogged the fuel filter and strainer...................it was a real learning experience
Posted: May 29th, 2010, 1:47 am
by speedaholic
^^^ tell us more about this...
Posted: May 30th, 2010, 12:40 pm
by aviboy
problems over.... changed seals on turbo and everything good now
Posted: June 1st, 2010, 9:57 pm
by bigchief3679
^^ nice
Posted: June 2nd, 2010, 2:27 pm
by vickyexp
How much did it cost to replace the turbo & seals?
I've also got the same vehicle!
Posted: June 3rd, 2010, 6:50 pm
by aviboy
$800 it cost
Posted: June 5th, 2010, 5:55 pm
by Damien
^ who did the work fro you and where you got the parts?
Posted: June 6th, 2010, 8:34 pm
by aviboy
sookhai's diesel.... but idk if they would do it for any1 as they did it for us because of a link up...
Posted: June 6th, 2010, 10:48 pm
by Damien
thanks, got the parts there as well?