Page 1 of 2

wtk. mudflap material

Posted: April 10th, 2010, 11:40 pm
by madcoolieboy
i looking to make some bigger mudflaps for my van. anyone know where i could get like probably 3mm thick sheeting to do this?? i don't want to use anything too soft cuz i don't want it blowing with the breeze.. any help will be appreciated. thanks.

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 12:09 am
by speedaholic
thinkin about doing this as welll...

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 1:53 am
by oberon
Check IRP they sell rubber sheets. Varying thicknesses...

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 10:51 am
by Rutless Tiida
Need to get mud flaps my self.
Maybe we could come together an make it a mudflaps lime. :)

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 11:32 am
by madcoolieboy
ha ha ha i don't have a problem wit dat.....lol Thanks Oberon. I'll check on it.would;ve rathered uretrhane or something stiff and light but say what.....

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 11:49 am
by Rutless Tiida
^^ keep me informed. Time is kind of tight for the next 2 weeks but I might be able to meet up.
I am also looking to fix my inner fender shield and Wagon_r recommended

"go in the bamboo....buy some old rubber mats....and cut to suit.

...then go to the hardware, get some lockin nuts and bolts and fix up. " I don't know if this will work for mud flaps also.

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 1:48 pm
by Cooper
I think Wagon had some custom made for when he had the L200. Shoot him a PM....or he might just see this thread anyway.

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 2:18 pm
by Rutless Tiida
^Yeah that is what he said he did for his L200.

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 10:23 pm
by scoojoonks
IRP Bought my rubber there, they have all sizes, wukin real good

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 10:37 pm
by madcoolieboy
niceeee..... go hadda check dem out. i wonder if they have white?? hmmmm.........

Posted: April 12th, 2010, 7:33 am
by Team Loco
since my workers hate mudflaps, we got some conveyer belt material from TCL. works well, but i had to re-inforce the bracket that holds the rubber in place since the rubber is quite heavy. will check and see if i have a piece you can try

Posted: April 12th, 2010, 12:04 pm
by speedaholic
yeaa.. dat mudflaps lime sounding like a plan yes.... i checked out International Rubber products somtime ago.. they located on gaston street lange park.. they prices rell gud..

Posted: April 12th, 2010, 5:09 pm
by madcoolieboy
mudflap lime yes....i doh mind.. it sounding cool buh a pot hadda bubble an ah cooler hadda full!!!!!! :mrgreen:

Posted: April 12th, 2010, 7:11 pm
by speedaholic
well i have a cooller, somdbudy hadda full it tho!! haha

Posted: April 12th, 2010, 7:40 pm
by Rutless Tiida
Hey if you guys willing to get the material I willing to fill the cooler.
It will have to be after next week though.

Posted: April 13th, 2010, 7:28 pm
by speedaholic
okay so i went IRP today.... i got some info on there stuff.. i checked out the 3/16 thick rubber sheet.. they sellin a piece 55" x 16" for $160.00.. which i fine is rell gud.. that meassurement was an average meassurement for my van.. the guards wud be 16" long an about 10-12" wide.. if u need longer u can get it.. the 3/16 rubber i think wud be just rite cuz its not to thin but not to thick and it shud be able handle the blowing wind while drivng..

Posted: April 13th, 2010, 7:31 pm
by madcoolieboy
well look ting dey! thanks alot SPEEDAHOLIC... yuh save me a junk ah time dey...just wanted to know.....what colors do they have?

Posted: April 13th, 2010, 8:55 pm
by Rutless Tiida
Hey guys I still need one piece for my inner fender shield. Do you think that that is a good thickness or it is to thick?

Posted: April 13th, 2010, 10:14 pm
by madcoolieboy
that should be good....i mean you done buying for mudflaps, might as well use the same material right through

Posted: April 13th, 2010, 10:59 pm
by speedaholic
they have it in black and white... but Black FTW! and for ur inner fender yea i guess it wud work.. cuz there will be some remaining after u cut 4 guards out of that piece...

Posted: April 14th, 2010, 6:22 pm
by Rutless Tiida
I will measure the inner fender shield tonight and calculate the minimum I will need.

Posted: April 14th, 2010, 7:58 pm
by madcoolieboy
yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!! white!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: April 14th, 2010, 8:18 pm
by speedaholic
white mudflaps meng? u tryna stand out or wah?

Posted: April 14th, 2010, 9:11 pm
by madcoolieboy
van white.....lol trying to colour co-ordinate... psychiatrist say creative thinking good fuh me. lol

Posted: April 15th, 2010, 8:25 pm
by Rutless Tiida
madcoolieboy wrote:van white.....lol trying to colour co-ordinate... psychiatrist say creative thinking good fuh me. lol

OK!!!
I wander if we should still have a mudflap lime.

JUST KIDDING!!

So any dates in mind.
I have not gotten a chance to measure the area as yet. As soon as I do I will let you know.

Posted: April 15th, 2010, 10:22 pm
by speedaholic
haha! ummm nex weekend not this one..

Posted: April 21st, 2010, 10:29 pm
by Rutless Tiida
fellas what going on I am available from now to May 16th :). I want to have it in place for the next DB run.

Posted: April 21st, 2010, 10:37 pm
by speedaholic
this weekend is rally high speed stage i will be attending that.. how does next sunday sound??

Posted: April 29th, 2010, 4:21 pm
by madcoolieboy
AH GET MIH RUBBBBAHHH!!!! :P ... i pay 160+ vat and ah get a lil extra. hee hee. So i hear that we lookin to do dis lime by me... the spot i could organise will be big enough..however there are no toilets so fellas be prepared to pee in di bush and keep it in mind if yuh bringing a lady friend...other than that we have a large covered area, electricity and water... think thaz all we shud need.. and iff anybody walking with power tools, bring ah xtenshun....

Posted: April 29th, 2010, 4:38 pm
by madcoolieboy
speedaholic i bought the 3/16 black..... they only had white food grade conveyor material.....and dudddeeeeeee the price for the amount i wanted coulda probably do all ah we van.... was 6 something for 6'6'' X 14'' :shock: