Posted: March 1st, 2010, 8:29 pm
by gready123456
save water use a bucket ?
mothers rule
Posted: March 1st, 2010, 11:06 pm
by biggy82
if its the paint from the firm, then it will swirl no matter what you do
the factory paint sucks a$$
there is a nice washing glove that L&DG sell...very soft.
make sure and wet the van LIBERALLY. it has to be soaking wet so as not to abraise the paint
use Mothers car wash and keep the glove or sponge wet as well
rinse down as normal
use Mothers showtime after for that real gloss black finish
once a month, use Mothers Clay Bar and Polish
Posted: March 1st, 2010, 11:19 pm
by jhonnieblue
thanks biggy...yeah nav from the firm...and it black...saw it has swirls on it already and i only washed it once today..so im guessing its from n&m when they washed it
ill go get that glove asap...i used to wash with the turtle wax car wah on my xtrail
so ill give the mothers a try
Posted: March 2nd, 2010, 6:55 am
by civic minded
thats a common thing with black - really hard to maintained - even a little dirt or dust shows up -
One trick is never use sponge - or use mechanical buffing machines - these things tends to damage your clear coat - get a good carnuba and use cotton towels... I always think the best person to wash your ride is you.
Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 1:10 am
by equipped2ripp
DO NOT USE A BUCKET.... use a hose!

Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 9:20 am
by Karim Khan
Call me i can give your van a very good detail - 784-9290
Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 9:40 am
by 323_wagon_dude
equipped2ripp wrote:DO NOT USE A BUCKET.... use a hose!

Agreed.... just doh get ketch.... LOL
Use a hose and cotton towels. Start from the top of the vehicle and work your way down.
Don't use the chamois to dry the vehicle, use a normal size cotton towel for this.
Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 9:54 am
by 323_wagon_dude
Also you should have separate towels for the tires
Posted: March 3rd, 2010, 10:04 am
by jhonnieblue
323_wagon_dude wrote:equipped2ripp wrote:DO NOT USE A BUCKET.... use a hose!

Use a hose and cotton towels. Start from the top of the vehicle and work your way down.
Don't use the chamois to dry the vehicle, use a normal size cotton towel for this.
good advice there....heading to get some of those today as i always used to dry previous cars with chamois
Posted: March 4th, 2010, 1:34 pm
by Stello

Hahahah, the man who don't wash his hilux at all giving advice on keeping it clean. lol
323 better u give him that bucket u have with all the wash stuff cuz u dont use it. lol
Posted: March 4th, 2010, 4:33 pm
by 323_wagon_dude
^^ Hear who talking... the man who abandon he van for......
Because I know how to clean it i could keep it dirty

Posted: March 4th, 2010, 5:14 pm
by Stello
^^ lol actually after our discussion on tuesday I went home and wash my van. I coulda swear u had a goldish colour hilux. Didn't realize ur van was black. Lol
I

Posted: March 4th, 2010, 6:53 pm
by 4X4 Trinidad
check ziebart for Diamond Gloss
Posted: March 5th, 2010, 3:40 am
by JD......
i had a soft brush thing on a handle, i think from peakes, and that worked like a dream and cut washing time by over 10 mins, but now the ebds are hard and have to get a new one.
i still use my hose, think about it, if you have a ball valve on the end and regulate your use of water you use less water then if u were to use a bucket...hands down
Posted: March 5th, 2010, 7:36 am
by Strugglerzinc

Cotton is harsh on paint. Microfibre is what you need. The washing glove at L&DG would work fine.
Use 2 buckets (one with detergent of choice and one with plain water) to wash and hose or another bucket to rinse.
Always rinse/shake out/wash cloth in the plain water bucket before dipping in detergent then apply to vehicle.
If you usually use one bucket, you will see the difference with the 2 bucket method.
When rinsing the vehicle, allow water to flow rather than spray and dry with microfibre. Doh let WASA popo see you though...