Southern Van People

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

Southern Van People

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 19th, 2010, 11:15 am

Never ever going back...service stinks....the worse ive ever experienced. Spending money to have your van serviced - fellas working how they want, when they want, the service supervisor - worse facking thing, no customer service...

It just stinks....back to my mechanic for servicing now yes....

Jah
Last edited by V2NR 3.0 on February 19th, 2010, 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » February 19th, 2010, 11:29 am

this not a business complaint right?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 19th, 2010, 11:32 am

wagonrunner, corrected (name removed)

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » February 19th, 2010, 12:09 pm

umm do u care to elaborate please ,rant kinda vague :roll:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 19th, 2010, 12:42 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:umm do u care to elaborate please ,rant kinda vague :roll:

Okay...lets see...

1. Customer Service - Absolutely discorteous. When you call in advance to book your appointment, its best you speak to a pig. No manners, no Good Morning nothing. When you arrive at the service centre - its old, run down, ratty looking. The attitude of the CSR's is less to be desired. You get the impression or the feeling that you are begging them to service your van.

2. Supervisor - Middle aged guy with a long baird. His attitude is like you can take what we have or fack it. Absolutely no willingness to go the mile extra. Poor man looks frustrated.

3. Technicians - Operate on your vehicle "any how". The complete service which is being offered supposed to include a car wash (is better they leave it dirty). Told them of a noise emanating from the back of the vehicle - the attitude is "doh study that nah man - is a van"

I have always been one to champion servicing vehicles @ the firm. Ive dealth with Toyota before and there service although not up to par is at least better than these southern van people by far.

If i have to pay this kinda money and be faced with the attitudes and technical and mechanical incompetence its best i resort to my mechanic for servicing which includes for now - basic items - liquids etc etc.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 19th, 2010, 4:18 pm

I know you ent talking about TTTL :shock:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 19th, 2010, 4:30 pm

V2NR 3.0, which branch was this?
(North, Central or South)

venum

Postby venum » February 19th, 2010, 6:09 pm

That is absolutely horrible

When yuh paying yuh hard earned $$$ for their "keep-your-warranty" service and they feel u obligated to just open up your wallet and hand them whatever they demand and ent do nutten to deserve it

Sigh . . .

these kinda things just support my stance - if you know your vehicle and brand well enough u can maintain it better than ANY dealership

firetruck their "dealership warranty" service it by your trusted mechanic

Sorry to hear that bout these dealers . . .

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » February 19th, 2010, 6:24 pm

wait which dealer is this exactly pm me the dealer i realy want to know i am in the market for buying a van but i dont want no dealer who;s service is poor like that

Postby Greypatch » February 19th, 2010, 6:37 pm

what type of vehicle u have ?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 19th, 2010, 7:21 pm

which is why i have been to ford and their service is second to none.. have had experiences with tttl as well as ssl .

ansa calls in advance of the service dates and does not keep u waiting 2-3 months .. u can get it in as little as 3 days ..

anyone with experiences liek this care to elaborate?

Postby equipped2ripp » February 20th, 2010, 2:29 am

never gotten any problems with SSS... and yes, I deal with the man with the long beard :lol:

I'll admit, the ladies at the front desk move kinda hoggish and what not...

V2NR 3.0, you should write a letter to the Director/s of the company stating the issue... PM me if you want the name.

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » February 20th, 2010, 8:42 am

MonsterPower wrote:which is why i have been to ford and their service is second to none.. have had experiences with tttl as well as ssl .

ansa calls in advance of the service dates and does not keep u waiting 2-3 months .. u can get it in as little as 3 days ..

FORD:
Sorry, but having good customer service on the front doesn't hide the back end. Had a problem with my power mirrors, on four different occasions brought it to their attn, did not even look at it, when the i finally got it looked at they didnt even get the part even though the VAN was under warranty. Also they charged for filter changes which never occured!!!during normal service.

NISSAN:

Had a problem with a frontier, turbocharger leaking oil, brought it in on three occasions, kept it for between 3 - 5 days, kept telling me it was the cart, need to replace. Then after I threaten them, itg was the turbo return line which was replaced and good as new.

Madza,

We have lots of Mazda Vans, Never take them back after 1st service, usually do it in our yard.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 20th, 2010, 8:58 pm

gready123456 & Greypatch, he drives a BT-50... you can figure it out from there.

MonsterPower wrote:which is why i have been to ford and their service is second to none.. have had experiences with tttl as well as ssl .

I agree, they called me when it was close to my 10,000 service. I guess they figured my average mileage, from my initial purchase to my 5,000 service which is a good thing....but I postponed my 10k service and told them I'd call back. On both occasions I called to have my van serviced the next day and they worked quick and were very professional from the initial drop off to when I picked it up....greeted me with a smile and even put those 'temporary paper mat thingys' in the van when I drop it off to help keep the interior clean. The invoice detailed everything that was done on the van (which I obviously verified) even included concerns I mentioned when I dropped off the vehicle....Even called me a couple days after to ensure I was satisfied with the service.

....but anyway, Booge I think you should call them back and ask to speak to someone in their Marketing Team....those people are usually the ones responsible for the public image of their company. If they care at all about their public image, I'm sure your concerns will be addressed.

The same thing is now happening in N&M. They have a new Managing Director and the man is very much aware of the public's perception of their after sales service, he's making a lot of changes in the company and not letting staff slack off...particularly in areas where the public interacts with the company.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 21st, 2010, 9:20 pm

Just got back from Drag Invasion in St. Lucia....WOW WOW WOW...Now to ans some of these comments...

Cooper, > Believe me, Brother i have tried. The marketing team hung up the phone. I was in utter shock. The thing is both my partner from work and i bought two vehicles at the same time...we have back to back numbers and are both disgusted at the service.

equipped2ripp, > Would this really do any good ? - PM me the man's name and id write him.

Greypatch, > Mazda BT50 FULLY LOADED 4x4 - not the low end version bro

gready123456, > You should figure it out by now.

venum, > You telling me man....its back to my mechanic now yes.

Cooper, > South branch

Fire_Fighter786, > Nah, bought a brand new corolla NZE from them a couple years ago and good stuff man

Postby Team Loco » February 22nd, 2010, 12:09 am

web_phantom wrote:

FORD:
Sorry, but having good customer service on the front doesn't hide the back end. Had a problem with my power mirrors, on four different occasions brought it to their attn, did not even look at it, when the i finally got it looked at they didnt even get the part even though the VAN was under warranty. Also they charged for filter changes which never occured!!!during normal service.

NISSAN:

Had a problem with a frontier, turbocharger leaking oil, brought it in on three occasions, kept it for between 3 - 5 days, kept telling me it was the cart, need to replace. Then after I threaten them, itg was the turbo return line which was replaced and good as new.

Madza,

We have lots of Mazda Vans, Never take them back after 1st service, usually do it in our yard.

yuh lie bout the first one. yuh watch the mirror hard and it break.....and you want them to fix it?

and doh complain bout the frontier, 2010 actually made it to 2010!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 22nd, 2010, 8:09 am

I have some horror stories to share about those guys from ford - but they have cleaned up their act - i have noticed since latter part of 2009 -their customer service have improved quite a bit. I think there is a perenial problem that firm mechanics have - many of them have their private garage to suppliment their income and there have been cases where parts were stolen- issues where customers suffer from improper service and parts stolen from their vehicles. You as the consumer need to check everything they supposed to do even more than you would a normal mechanic. A good practice is take down the serial numbers for anything they need to change and compare it to the new one they put in

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 22nd, 2010, 11:29 am

Good tip there civic minded :!: Judging from the comments I've heard over the past few years compared to the comments over the past six months, I can safely say that they have improved..... although they could be treating me good because I'm just a few buildings away from their offices :mrgreen:

Booge, if you called their Marketing Team and got that response all I can say is SSL=FTL :!:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 22nd, 2010, 11:32 am

See the thing is - if this was an isolated experience, i would have concluded the people are having a bad day and hence - i got bad service.

But it has been consistent with e and my co-worker

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 22nd, 2010, 11:37 am

I understand, I'm going to contact our marketing people to see if they know anyone there. I just want to see if I can get an acceptable response.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 22nd, 2010, 11:39 am

thx man - i went to the media all kinda thing

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 22nd, 2010, 2:18 pm

Booge, just spoke to a few people who had 'dealings' with SSL ....to make a long story short, it doesn't look like they actually care about the quality of their after sales service AT ALL :!:

Some of the individuals I spoke to (who happen to know senior staff in SSL) basically said their after sales service is a waste of time, even when they have issues with service, they have to go directly their 'friends' in the company to get problems sorted out.

Hoss if it was me, fire bun the warranty... service outside :!:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 22nd, 2010, 2:21 pm

Cooper, Thank you very much for the update. Its a band new van i purchased so should be trouble free for at least 5 years. All i may have to do in the interim is change of liquids, minor parts (rubbers, suspension) etc. Im gonna do those items myself or resort to my mechanic for these services.

Im telling you, the service really really stinks.

BTW - i am yet to receive my inspection sticker - would you believe ?

Postby Team Loco » February 22nd, 2010, 2:43 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Cooper, Thank you very much for the update. Its a band new van i purchased so should be trouble free for at least 5 years. All i may have to do in the interim is change of liquids, minor parts (rubbers, suspension) etc. Im gonna do those items myself or resort to my mechanic for these services.

Im telling you, the service really really stinks.

BTW - i am yet to receive my inspection sticker - would you believe ?

licence office is actually to blame for the sticker. our vehicles sometimes get the sticker after a yr, when the other inspection is due. and i'm not joking, i'm seriuos

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 22nd, 2010, 2:45 pm

Once you keep the inspection certificate in the van, you should be good to go.

Postby Greypatch » March 3rd, 2010, 2:59 pm

report them to MAZDA in japan...

dem could come like amar you know

termite01

Postby termite01 » March 6th, 2010, 8:17 pm

Pay your $500 and get the sticker and certificate at your doorstep

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 7th, 2010, 7:37 am