Hilux instrument cluster - Help
Posted: February 3rd, 2010, 9:01 pm
by nightwolf
Where can I get the plastic lens for the cluster. Mine has some scratches that are just bothering me.

Posted: February 3rd, 2010, 10:42 pm
by venum
how deep are the scratches
mothers plastic polish does wonders\miracles with that kinda plastic
Posted: February 3rd, 2010, 11:41 pm
by badart
those plastic lens scratch easily.
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 7:34 am
by Cooper
Try the Mother's Plastic Polish first and make sure and take it out to polish it, don't try a shortcut and polish it while it's in the dash.
If you go to toyota to get that lens, you'll pay an arm and a leg for it. Alternatively, check in the Bamboo.... but you might have to end up buying a whole instrument cluster just to get the lens, they don't normally sell it separately.
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 9:22 am
by venum
Cooper, actually I got rid of a few scratches while polishing when in was in place - I didn't remove
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 9:54 am
by nightwolf
Cool,
How do I remove the lens, I see one screw on the front guard. Is that all to remove and just pull the front guard off ?
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 11:10 am
by Cooper
venum wrote:Cooper, actually I got rid of a few scratches while polishing when in was in place - I didn't remove
I'm looking at the layout of the cluster, it's similar to the Ranger. Not easy to wipe the inside edges because of the depth...only if you have small hands or are using a special tool you could clean it
properly. Also, he way want to avoid getting some of the polishing residue on the inside of the gauge cluster 'tubes.' less stuff to clean up in the long run, that's why I suggested removing it.
nightwolf, most gauge cluster covers are held in place by two or three screws from the bottom and clips at the top, is just to unscrew and pull off. I'm not totally familiar with the HiLux layout, so DON'T take my word for it. Maybe
Team Loco or
323 wagon dude can advise you better on the removal.
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 11:41 am
by Team Loco
never had the reason to remove mines, but a screwdriver and a little patience would work.
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 11:47 am
by 323_wagon_dude
I'll go remove my one in a bit and let you know how.

Posted: February 4th, 2010, 11:55 am
by nightwolf
Thanks Gents
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 1:01 pm
by 323_wagon_dude
Ok, so here's what to do to remove the plastic lens:
get a short phillips head screw driver.
turn the 'screw' at the top of the center pod 90 degrees. the screw will drop down. carefully pry the clip down.
Once the clip is off, insert a very small tipped flat screwdriver into the lower sides of the instrument panel and pry it out.
pull the pods forward and be very careful as there is a plastic tab to the bad of it at the top center.
Once the pods are removed you can see the entire instrument panel. there are 5 clips holding the lens in place, however you should have enough room to polish the lens in place.
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 1:26 pm
by Cooper
Hoss, I thought you was joking earlier

Posted: February 4th, 2010, 1:36 pm
by nightwolf
323_wagon_dude,
Thanks a lot man.
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 3:32 pm
by Stuckindmud

good one 323 .. lol
Posted: February 4th, 2010, 4:11 pm
by venum
323_wagon_dude not feeling suicidal anymore
and all this time all you needed was a DIY
Posted: February 5th, 2010, 4:47 am
by 323_wagon_dude
venum wrote:323_wagon_dude not feeling suicidal anymore

and all this time all you needed was a DIY
Dude like i said earlier... it wasn't suicidal... it was a
Found
Off
Road
Dead moment
Coops, the van right outside the office and the office cold like hell so I got to thaw out a lil bit. Only took about five mins to figure out how to get the pods off.