The Official Land Rover Thread

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 7th, 2010, 8:57 pm

the 90 that they selling .. (civilian spec) has two front facing rear seats.. so it seats four..

Postby janfar » February 9th, 2010, 4:43 am

Thats good then... really prefer the short base one but now that i have seen some 110's im starting to like them as wellll... just a matter of time now.

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » February 9th, 2010, 7:05 am

Jon One...r u sure you want one of them things as a daily driver.....?..those things are loud as hell, the cab is also still cramp, ebrakes still too close to your leg....r u getting diesel or petrol?...they are very uncomfortable, the seat goes back so far....but its a great off road vehicle....all that and i would'nt sell mines for the world...
Last edited by Dada on February 9th, 2010, 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » February 9th, 2010, 7:32 am

droppa wrote:i have a top gear DVD home, they rank Defender as being sub zero in cool ratings.....

check this one
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/hU_RXUiGFeo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/hU_RXUiGFeo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Postby janfar » February 9th, 2010, 11:35 am

110 ketching me. I see it have a 2 on trinicars for sale. Allyuh check it out and tell me if allyuh think those prices fair???

venum

Postby venum » February 9th, 2010, 8:23 pm

flexing out nice

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/I4NpTMZpn28&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/I4NpTMZpn28&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/_cMQU_8lLDo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_cMQU_8lLDo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

the ones on TriniCars4Sale look good

I like the PBA model

the price lil hot, but I guess that that is teh calling price for one that age

it seems to have everything for an offroad model as well as a daily driver

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 9th, 2010, 8:59 pm

Land Rover Defender Anti-Stall in action

Last edited by Cooper on December 21st, 2011, 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » February 9th, 2010, 9:03 pm

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ReI70LW6_0Q&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ReI70LW6_0Q&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » February 10th, 2010, 2:20 am

the anti-stall feature isnt standard here, but you can request it.... plus they have a rev limiter on 2nd gear... if you dont touch the X, the engine maintains a constant rpm (dont recall what figure exactly), but its low enough to make going downhill a breeze... the vehicle doesnt accelerate beyond that point, regardless of the slope

venum

Postby venum » February 10th, 2010, 10:19 am

damieG82 wrote:the anti-stall feature isnt standard here, but you can request it.... plus they have a rev limiter on 2nd gear... if you dont touch the X, the engine maintains a constant rpm (dont recall what figure exactly), but its low enough to make going downhill a breeze... the vehicle doesnt accelerate beyond that point, regardless of the slope

the D22 (crystal light) frontiers came with that

Postby janfar » February 10th, 2010, 12:24 pm

Allyuh men just sell allyuh first LRD ah feel...

venum

Postby venum » February 10th, 2010, 1:52 pm

janfar, congrats

Postby janfar » February 10th, 2010, 3:14 pm

venum wrote:janfar, congrats

Lemme get keys fuss nah, the man did say 4 months.

venum

Postby venum » February 10th, 2010, 5:02 pm

janfar wrote:Lemme get keys fuss nah, the man did say 4 months.

de way you talk i say u in license office done transfer the PBA from trinicars

Postby janfar » February 10th, 2010, 5:51 pm

Ahaha, if ah was home that was already mine...

kinda liking the idea of the open tray in the back though!

venum

Postby venum » February 14th, 2010, 7:11 pm

stopped by a land rover scrap yard in orange field road this evening

man yuh should see LR there

SWB, LWB

some old caroni ones

real LR's

owner was not around though so I couldn't get any prices etc

what is teh maintenance on these like :?:

where\who stocks parts - engine, suspension, body :?:

Postby janfar » February 15th, 2010, 3:56 pm

AFAIK Lenny Sumahd use to stock parts, not sure if they still do.

venum

Postby venum » February 15th, 2010, 7:38 pm

Lenny Sumadh does stock parts

I was there couple months aback and saw a guy that came in and bought a wiper arm for his

Engaged him in small talk and he said that his doesn't call for much maintenance

These suppose to be robust so I figure that they won't call for much suspension parts

Do the older ones have lsd and/or locking diffs :?:

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 15th, 2010, 8:42 pm

i dont know about lsd s or locking diffs but in my dads old one he used to pull some fancy lever under the seat when he was in a stickie situation... gonna try finding out what it was now.. i was too young at the time to know..

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 15th, 2010, 8:45 pm

ok i asked him and he told me it was a diff locker.... so i guess those came with it..

his own that he had at the time was rell badd i dont know why he sell it.. it was a 90 and it had a v8.. it was a ta something

venum

Postby venum » February 15th, 2010, 11:00 pm

the ones i saw have the two levers on teh floor by the drivers left foot

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 15th, 2010, 11:19 pm

probably front and rear lockers?

and i do remember them being on the left side of the drivers seat on the floor...

let me know whenever you find out the price of them... because that might be the better project :twisted:

venum

Postby venum » February 15th, 2010, 11:28 pm

have to pas back sometime during the week when teh owner around

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 16th, 2010, 12:22 am

Dada wrote:Jon One...r u sure you want one of them things as a daily driver.....?..those things are loud as hell, the cab is also still cramp, ebrakes still too close to your leg....r u getting diesel or petrol?...they are very uncomfortable, the seat goes back so far....but its a great off road vehicle....all that and i would'nt sell mines for the world...

Actually .. i was thinking about all the discomforts and so on... but then i said .. if it was so uncomfortable. why one who has one ( two of my friends use them as daily drivers They too complain ) keeps it and wont sell it for nothing?? then i was like . probably i will get accustomed.. :) but i really do like them but now i am watching the older ones.. i like the silver 110 on trinicars .. the price is good i fine.. but when the time is right ( when i get the cash ) i will decide on what i want but for now i really want one of these .. and also i most likely will get a car later this year and i rather buy a go anywhere vehicle than a car first i love the beach and offroading... i guess i would just have to get accustomed to the discomforts .. or probably make it a little more "liveable" . but idk we will see

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 16th, 2010, 12:23 am

Dada wrote:
droppa wrote:i have a top gear DVD home, they rank Defender as being sub zero in cool ratings.....

check this one
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/hU_RXUiGFeo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/hU_RXUiGFeo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

i rell loving this one!!

venum

Postby venum » February 16th, 2010, 10:06 am

Jon One

That silver 110 Has a hell of a lot more creature comforts than the ones I saw in Orange Field Road

Those are basic, real basic

Springs for seat, no gauges, NO COMFORTS

that 110 is buy an drive bizniss

With A/C too

Postby janfar » February 16th, 2010, 11:10 am

Yeh, would need at least a working AC system before i would even consider buying. The the Maroon one looks good, im not sure if the price is good though.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 16th, 2010, 12:40 pm

I am considering the silver.. going to try to buy it.. wish me luck!! i have alot of work to do to pull this off.. but for 125k yuh cant go wrong ... and im sure its negotiable..

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 16th, 2010, 12:50 pm

teaser shots ..

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 16th, 2010, 12:52 pm

janfar wrote:Yeh, would need at least a working AC system before i would even consider buying. The the Maroon one looks good, im not sure if the price is good though.

considering one of those 110's new are well over 350k or maybe 400k ( i cant remember exact price ) i think the maroon 110 for 180k is good and it is alot newer than the silver .. tbk i think? and im sure its negotiable
Last edited by Jon_One on February 16th, 2010, 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”