Why is MazdaBT50 1st gear so short

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

Why is MazdaBT50 1st gear so short

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 10th, 2009, 11:56 am

???

Its quite short. Sometimes easier to pull off on 2nd gear

Postby wagon r » November 10th, 2009, 1:54 pm

...it's not about speed....yuh forget what yuh driving. 1st gear esp. with 4L is where you get all the low down torque to pull and so on.

..you wouldn't want a tall gear there....

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 10th, 2009, 3:47 pm

Boy the thing is a TRUCK.

Added to Wago's points:

It made to take approximately 1000kg of cargo... thats 1 tonne...

Yuh seriously never use your truck for anything I see...

Try putting 30 bags of cement in the back. Or 800 tiles... Or a bucket of red sand.

You better delete this thread fast eh

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 10th, 2009, 4:39 pm

I was hoping to get a technical reply concerning gear ratios...etc etc. Sigh. Driving the SR20VVL is so much more fun !

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 11th, 2009, 2:14 pm

Honestly... what did you expect?

I find you get away easy!

What kind of technical answer are you looking for?

Gear ratios can be found online I am sure, or in a workshop manual.

Technical response:

The 1st gear of the Mazda BT-50, or most pickups for that matter, are quite short. Most dont get you past 30kmph at max rev!

This is because the payload of a pickup of this class is in the vicinity of 1000kgs. For the vehicle to comfortably move off from rest with this much load requires a large ratio 1st gear.

The max weight of these vehicles are about 2700-3000kgs. So the payload capacity is about 1/3 of the overall MGW of the vehicle. Unladen, a pickup carries about 65-70% of its carrying capacity.
That is a huge difference between that of a passenger car, whose max capacity is about 1700kg, with a 450-500kg carrying capacity. Meaning that a passenger car (or SUV) is only required to possibly carry 1/5 of its MGW as cargo/passengers. Meaning that is almost always operates at 80-90% capacity.

Given this information. It can be seen that a 1st gear ratio to match a passenger car would almost always show no huge difference while moving off from rest in relation to that of a pickup.

Additionally, there the fact that your talking about a diesel engine and a gasoline - where power delivery and torque are worlds apart. These factors also influence gear ratios.

But I will leave that for someone more learnt about the delivery of torque and power.. like a mechanicl engineer? :lol: :lol:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 11th, 2009, 6:53 pm

^ Excellent....thanks

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 12th, 2009, 1:35 pm

booge wrote:^ Excellent....thanks

Man I was messing with you.. I have no idea what I is talkin about

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 12th, 2009, 4:33 pm

Man I was messing with you.. I have no idea what I is talkin about

:arrow: :arrow: :shock: :shock:

kobe

Postby kobe » November 15th, 2009, 7:33 pm

WHAT YOU COULD DO IS BUY A FINGERTIP GEARBOX $3000.00 IS A GOOD PRICE,AND SWAP THE GEARS SECTION AND THE FINGERS, I DID IT IN A MY B2500 AND NOW ON 5TH GEAR 2000 RPM AND I CLOCKIN 110 KMH
LESS NOISE AND THE ENGIND DOH BE BAWLIN 4 A NEX GEAR

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 15th, 2009, 11:05 pm

BT50 and the older model MAZDA B2500 turbo WL engine 4x4.. compared to the frontier 2.5L Frontier, the ratios of gear 1 are worlds apart.

why is that? personally i find the frontier is more driver friendly, even though it bounces around the highways. but actual driving, the gearing in the frontier makes it more comfortable to drive.

did anyone else realize this? or is it just me?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 16th, 2009, 8:51 am

true

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”