w.t.k. K&N in VIGO

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
haseib786

w.t.k. K&N in VIGO

Postby haseib786 » September 28th, 2009, 9:39 pm

tuners im thinking of installing a K&N air filter in my 4x2 hilux but need a lil advice first, please let me know your views/ advice, thanks.......

Swiftguy

Postby Swiftguy » September 28th, 2009, 10:52 pm

call 625-tnet

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 28th, 2009, 11:15 pm

Yeah.. I thinking about installing one too... EnT Stuck!!! :twisted:

mazdaspeed6254

Postby mazdaspeed6254 » September 29th, 2009, 7:36 am

i have one installed working real good better fuel mileage, the pick speed is a lot faster.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 29th, 2009, 11:04 am

Just make sure its not over oiled or it can cause the check engine light.

toyoman

Postby toyoman » September 29th, 2009, 1:48 pm

drop-in filter or cone filter???

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 30th, 2009, 8:40 am

Drop in!!

You have a diesel engine, hence... you can drive thru floods and such. If you put a cone you'll risk water getting sucked into the intake.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 30th, 2009, 10:49 am

I recently as in yesterday, installed a K&N drop in and WOW did it wake up the vehicle

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » September 30th, 2009, 11:50 am

^^^ where u got it???

telfer

Postby telfer » October 2nd, 2009, 10:13 pm

put one in yesterday myself de thing wokin

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 2nd, 2009, 11:12 pm

Fellaz the man need to know where he getting one and whats the cost!!!

Link him somebody. :wink:

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » October 3rd, 2009, 9:25 am

^^^ tks dey fireguy, w3rd.................. :shock:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 3rd, 2009, 2:43 pm

Well hoss anytime a man with a civic looking to buy a K&N for a Hilux I know he needs help. Hopefull one of the fellaz who bought one will link yuh with the info. :twisted:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » October 3rd, 2009, 4:37 pm

Well to answer the first question.... It works great. You can feel the difference.

I bought mines online and shipped it in. Car boutique and some other places locally have them as well.

telfer

Postby telfer » October 3rd, 2009, 9:30 pm

600 call me

nicholaz53

Postby nicholaz53 » October 6th, 2009, 12:27 pm

just installed one sunday - results - WOW - van running like is ah gas engine it have in it - i have the 4x4 2.5diesel model, manual. But trust me when i say LIKE WOWZA!!!!!

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » October 6th, 2009, 8:23 pm

werd :mrgreen:

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » October 9th, 2009, 5:08 am

telfer,

I am interested in one..
where u located?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 9th, 2009, 7:39 am

K&N filters aren't recommended for offroad conditions or in dry/dusty conditions.

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » October 9th, 2009, 1:16 pm

^^^now i'm confused :? :? its more like for everyday use normal road driving, my lux gets treated like a car............ :mrgreen:

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » October 10th, 2009, 10:17 am

have one in my brother's hilux as well, made a big difference, then we put a 3" exhaust and chiptorque chip and let me tell you it moves really quickly now. According to chip torque with the 3" exhaust, k&n, and chip which increases stock boost by 2 psi, you get 18% horsepower at the wheels so that leaves the horsepower going from 132 to 158 at the wheels.

Trust me its a more than just noticable difference.

Sorry for straying off topic

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » October 10th, 2009, 3:29 pm

info appreciated thanks........

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 11th, 2009, 6:30 am

carfreak1024 wrote:have one in my brother's hilux as well, made a big difference, then we put a 3" exhaust and chiptorque chip and let me tell you it moves really quickly now. According to chip torque with the 3" exhaust, k&n, and chip which increases stock boost by 2 psi, you get 18% horsepower at the wheels so that leaves the horsepower going from 132 to 158 at the wheels.

Trust me its a more than just noticable difference.

Sorry for straying off topic

1024 care to post some Photos of that baby.... :twisted:

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » October 12th, 2009, 11:52 am

of what the exhaust. Because other than that everything else is pretty covert. Actually as i think about it, the exhaust it kinda covert too, no big set of chrome or anything.

But NE Wayz i go do that for you.

You can't be playing with your performance without knowing where you are at so you need one of these:

It eh make sense putting a chip if your engine eh breathing so you need one ah these(not just sticker, but i wasn't feeling to open the airbox and thing):

Here is a pic of the Boost Guage tap into the turbo Up-Pipe

Now for the Exhaust from the turbo go right back:

A big free flow barrel cuz this thing was rell loud(my father en know all these mods happen, he thinks that a mileage increasing air filter is all that we put in)

was trying to show the pipe going directly into the engine bay but they en have no light up in here;

Was going to get some more pics, but i en have time to get to the chip and thing. so i go leave that for a next time. I had some other pics of the Mandrel Bends but they en come out so good.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » October 12th, 2009, 12:39 pm

^^^^ the exhaust is kinda a silent killer, it definately helps in the power output, raced a stock hilux the day after installation a new TCl one and he collect a dred cut a$$ with just the exhaust. I can only imagine now what kinda damage we could do. Because that was before the 2nd K&N, CHIP. And those make big differences.

But the best thing about the hilux is now you can overtake nicely and it doesn't feel like a bedford pulling alongside a ferrari. I am really impressed at the power this thing lashes out boi, i rell impressed.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”