Need to get this clear up

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Need to get this clear up

Postby civic minded » September 28th, 2009, 8:32 pm

I have been hearing this some time now but now i dont know if it is the truth.

My brother owns a nissan panel van - he got pulled over in couva. Police told him that he need to have a heavy T license to drive the van and proceed to charge him and impounded the van.. What the police told him - once the van crosses 2500 mgw you need to get a heavy T license. It was always law just not inforced. So this means owners of pickup trucks such as Hilux, rangers etc need to get a Heavy T license to drive???

Someone please clear this up...

thanks

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 28th, 2009, 9:22 pm

MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC REGULATIONS Chap. 48:50

PART IV: DRIVING PERMITS

Section 50: Classes of vehicles

Classes of vehicles. [14 of 1979, 8 of 1982, 6 of 1992, 25 of 1997].

Class 3 Light motor vehicles including private motor cars, taxis with a tare weight not exceeding 2270 kilograms, maxi-taxis whatever their tare weight and light goods vehicles not exceeding a maximum gross weight of 2950 kilograms.

Class 4 Heavy motor vehicles including motor vehicles whose maximum gross weight exceeds 2950 kilograms but does not exceed 15240 kilograms.

If any of the vehicles you referred to exceed 2950Kg, then the answer would be yes, the drivers would require a Class 4 (Heavy-T) Drivers Permit. But, I don't believe any of the pickups you mentioned crosses 2950Kg.

I know for a fact the Mitsubishi L300 panel van requires a Class 4 permit to operate. The L300 has a MGW of 3100Kg.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 28th, 2009, 9:48 pm

ok so the rangers and normal 4x4's should be safe - whew!...

devonramphal

Postby devonramphal » September 29th, 2009, 5:38 am

Oh ok always wandered this thanks

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 29th, 2009, 10:50 pm

But any real man ought to have heavy T endorsement...Wham to all yuh in here - go and organise

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 29th, 2009, 11:16 pm

Correcto, any vehicle crosses 2950KG/6500lbs MGW REQUIRES Heavy T/Class 4 license.

also any Vehicle crosses 15230KG/33500lbs MGW REQUIRES Extra Heavy T/Class 5

ryanm

Postby ryanm » September 30th, 2009, 7:17 am

nebody have links to get heavy T ?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 30th, 2009, 7:46 am

ryanm wrote:nebody have links to get heavy T ?

Its called: Ministry of Works and Transport - Licensing Divsion.

Look into it.

bleedingfreak

Re: Need to get this clear up

Postby bleedingfreak » September 30th, 2009, 7:49 am

civic minded wrote:I have been hearing this some time now but now i dont know if it is the truth.

My brother owns a nissan panel van - he got pulled over in couva. Police told him that he need to have a heavy T license to drive the van and proceed to charge him and impounded the van.. What the police told him - once the van crosses 2500 mgw you need to get a heavy T license. It was always law just not inforced. So this means owners of pickup trucks such as Hilux, rangers etc need to get a Heavy T license to drive???

Someone please clear this up...

thanks

What is the registered TARE and MGW of the vehicle? It shouldbe painted on the side. THIS is what Mr. Occifer has to check for first before he can impound the vehicle, etc.

and BTW, all pickup and light truck (vans, etc) drivers, please know that if you DO not have ur TARE, MGW started on the side of the vehicle, ur liable for a ticket.

davracing

Postby davracing » October 4th, 2009, 10:37 pm

God Help this country!!!!

Re: Need to get this clear up

Postby wagonrunner » October 5th, 2009, 7:54 am

bleedingfreak wrote:and BTW, all pickup and light truck (vans, etc) drivers, please know that if you DO not have ur TARE, MGW started on the side of the vehicle, ur liable for a ticket.

preach it. the amount of them that don't is sickening.

kobe

Postby kobe » November 15th, 2009, 10:07 pm

ANYTHING OVER A MGW OF 2950Kg , YOU COULD CONSIDER ASKING A ROGUE LICEN OFFICER TO UNDERWEIGHT IT FOR YOU

Postby Greypatch » November 16th, 2009, 6:27 pm

good info...

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » November 16th, 2009, 8:38 pm

norstar2k wrote:[b]
I know for a fact the Mitsubishi L300 panel van requires a Class 4 permit to operate. The L300 has a MGW of 3100Kg.

that's not true. i had 2 l300's and their mgw were 2805kg. the two panel vans on the market i know of that require heavy t are the nissan urvan having msw 3100kg and the hyundai h1 van 3300mgw.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » November 16th, 2009, 8:41 pm

ryanm wrote:nebody have links to get heavy T ?

it easy to get man. i have every endorsement on the permit including the 4 under others but i cyah get omnibus. i tryin years now but it rel difficult if yuh not working ptsc. pm me if u need to find how to get any endorsement.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”